12/6 Gracie PMPS 96 +1 148 +2 163 +3 202 +4 242

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31404

Recap:
AMPS: 225 12th cycle 1u
+1: 227
+2: 137
+2.5: 132
+3: 93
+3.5: 83
+4: 69
+4.5 50
+5: 59
+5.5: 74
+6: 95
+8: 352
PMPS: 395 13th cycle 1u
+2: 318
+4: 306


Good Monday!!! I saw we had alot of green kitties last night...especially Tess who was diving!! Hope Ann got some rest. DH came home and had the night shift so
I actually got uninterrupted sleep....well, as uninterrupted as one can get in this house (unless one is a cat) :lol: :lol:

WCR: 4Ps in place....of course, I should always say 3.5 because as lovable as Gracie is, she's never been a big purrbox like the others. She's doing fine considering that bounce and mama overcarbing her. This change from her being so carb sensitive right off the bat to now sort of "storing the carbs" and not doing anything and then they take quick effect is not a fun one for managing her curve. I was hoping a little more difference in her AMPS from her +4 last night but at least it is slightly yellow.

Off to TBP. DH is going to attempt to put up the artificial tree while I am at work....Tobey's first Christmas!! We figured he would put it up today and we'd see how Tobey does with it and then we'll decorate Tuesday night after he's had a couple days to acclimate and if he does try to climb it, at least nothing will be on it :lol: :lol: Have a superb day!! I hope to check in your condos later.

eta: Gracie is one who always likes chicken dust on her food....I think I got a little carried away with my chicken dusting this morning because after breffis when she put her head up, all of her whiskers and her little nose had a fine coating of chicken dust on them :lol: :lol: Aaahh..a snack for later! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 12/6 Grace AMPS 293

Morning Marjorie, and cabana bean! Not too bad for Miss Gracie this AM - I have no doubt she'll leave the yellow floor soon in search of greener pastures. What a great morning she had yesterday :-D - it's so great to watch cycles like that unfold... Have a good one today.

Hey Gracie! What's up today? you wanna get together? I see you tree is going up - maybe be could teach Tobey the art of tree climbing. uhhhh - don't let your beans read this... see you soon? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/6 Grace AMPS 293

Hooray for this thing you call uninterrupted sleep...not sure what that means, but yay for YOU! :mrgreen:
Yellow is good today Gracie....that was quite a day you had yesterday! :thumbup
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie AMPS 293 +2 277

DH here - Looks like it might be a flat day for Gracie. She and her brother are having a great time "helping" me with the Xmas tree.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie AMPS 293 +2 277

It looks like Gracie is coming down nice and slow. I hope Tess continues to hang out with her.

Hey Gracie we're right together, I'm sooooo tired after last night. Wanna hang? Rusty invited "Mannie and the gang" over to sit by the fore and have tunaritas. That's us right? I hope Mannie remembers to stop by for the sleepy heads. -- Tess
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie AMPS 293 +2 277

Gracie is coming down nicely so far.

Chicken dust on the face...Just another kodak moment, right?

And you have to get some pics of little Tobey and his first Christmas.

Have a good one.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie AMPS 293 +2 277 +4 262

Flat yellows, uh huh! She was very considerate last night, now it's her turn!
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie AMPS 293 +2 277 +4 262

eta: Gracie is one who always likes chicken dust on her food....I think I got a little carried away with my chicken dusting this morning because after breffis when she put her head up, all of her whiskers and her little nose had a fine coating of chicken dust on them Aaahh..a snack for later!
:lol: :lol: I often see the chickie dust on Blackie too and lately he won't eat without a little on his food. :lol:

That yellow surf looks like Gracie is coming down from that bounce. Maybe you'll see some better numbers later today. :-D
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie AMPS 293 +2 277 +4 262

What a nice day for Gracie! You could be right - tonight it is your turn! :lol: :lol:

hey you sleepy heads ready yet? Rusty is ready for us! we can build snow kitties, take a quick trip south to help Spot's bean in the kitchen (she's baking - YUM!), and the hang by the fire place at Rusty's. We got tunaritas waiting too. I'm on my way - so out of bed, and let's roll! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie AMPS 293 +2 277 +4 262

I gather you're learned what the "flat yellow" cycle can portend!

Photos of Tobey in the tree, please!
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie AMPS 293 +2 277 +4 262

Ah the Flat Yellow Trick!! Ok so you know that Gracie is gonna try to surprise you maybe tonite!
Be prepared FD Girl Scouts!! Out trusty meters, strips, fuds & kits---We are gonna give these cats a run for their money :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Right Beans???? :lol: :lol:
Have a good rest of the day & Gracie, No Dives!!
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie AMPS 293 +2 277 +4 262

Marjorie here from TBP.

Michelle: I don't think she's going to leave the yellows on the a.m. cycle...Mike is going to do a +8 and see if she's sliding down to PMPS or not like she did last Thursday when I was up with her all night.

Ann: Tess had a great cycle last night so I'm sure you are both in for some rest today!!

Pat: Uninterrupted means I was asleep for more than two hours at a time :lol: :lol: Actually, once Mike came to bed at midnight, I slept until 5:30!! WOW!!
Yes, quite a day but Mike gets her to surf so much better than I do.

Tena and Sienne: Many kodak moments these days even with the older civvies. Mike had to resort to squirting Tobey on the butt with water to keep him from chewing on the tree limbs. I saw the cutest little cat "elf" costume at PetCo the other day but....well, I woudn't insult Tobey's dignity. :lol:

Ele, Sienne, and Roni: Oh yes....flat yellows!! We are prepared...I just ordered EIGHT boxes of test strips from ebay and they came on Sat. But when it comes to Gracie...well...like I said the other day..every day with Gracie is different (EDWGID) so who knows what she'll do. We're just along for the '"ride" :twisted:

Hope you all are having a great day...going to get to a few condos real quick.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie AMPS 293 +2 277 +4 262

OK you peaked my curiousity. Did you see this one
images


or this one
cat.jpg


Bur Tobey would be thinking this one!
images
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie AMPS 293 +2 277 +4 262 +8 252

oh boy - another FLAT yellow kitty - and who has Gracie duty tonight? Looks like it will be an interesting evening for alot of our kitties.

Hey guys!! Snowboarding at Attie's tonight. He's got Lights and everything! Rusty - bring the leftover Tuna Toddy's! Gracie - did we eat all the appetizers and stuff? Guys - grab your boards and stuff we are off to Attie's... Anybody need a ride? This is so COOL! Night snowboarding! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie AMPS 293 +2 277 +4 262 +8 252 +12 51 STALLIN

Here are her numbers for today:
AMPS 293 +2 277 +4 262 +8 252

She dropped from 252 to 51...we're stalling and will recheck in 15...no food. When she did this the other day, Jill said to either shoot a reduced dose at +12 but the best option would be to stall and shoot full dose. So we're stalling...have some flexibility on time and will both be home to monitor. As soon as we shoot, we'll give her MC food.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 STALLING!

Gracie sure proves a lot can happen in a short time and what a surprise :o . Hope she comes up a little so you can shoot. Yellow numbers means beware, got it :smile: Good luck with tonight.

OH WOW BUMP
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 STILL STALLING!

Plan to recheck at 45 after the hour. If she is still dropping, will feed small amt of LC and retest in 15; will wait for numbers to get above 50 before shooting.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 HELP PLS STILL STALLING!

sounds like a plan - retest at 15, - i'd sure wait til she gets above 50. this is so similar to the other night - will you shoot a reduced dose? maybe high carb from the get go?
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 HELP PLS STILL STALLING!

She's down to 44 now; feeding LC...will try to get her up above 50 and then talk about dose :)
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 HELP PLS !!

Michelle...thanks...I don't know why she keeps dropping instead of going up. Will retest on the hour (8 pm here) and see if she's going up.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 HELP PLS !!

Gracie.... what they Hey Diddle Diddle do you think you're doing?!? :o

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 HELP PLS !!

i dunno - Tess used to do this to Ann too - sometimes it would take along time to get her up to a shootable number. You may have to go to a much higher carb food. I know you are reluctant to do that, but wow...

Up Gracie, up!
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 HELP PLS STILL STALLING!

Yup. It's a stall. (Did that help? Just kidding!!) You need to wait until you see a rising number before you shoot. Remember to take a look at Libby's post on low pre-shots.

You're handling this just great, Marjorie.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 HELP PLS STILL STALLING!

Oh man, Majorie. Looks like you and Mike might be needing this tonight.
 

Attachments

  • Coffee truck.jpg
    Coffee truck.jpg
    85.9 KB · Views: 1,670
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 HELP PLS !!

If she isn't up on the hour, we're going to give her higher carb food to get her up. When she's up, will most likely shoot no more than .75 but will play it by ear...may have to shoot less than that or skip.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 HELP PLS !!

Sienne...thank you!! I already read Libby's dealing with low PSs again tonight...twice :lol: :lol: Just can't figure out why she keeps DROPPING instead of coming up!! Retesting now.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 HELP PLS !!

You're doing good Marjorie, keep stalling a bit longer, don't feed too much and make sure she's rising before you shoot, ok? You don't want to be fighting to get out of the forties at +1 like the other day. I wouldn't feed HC to boost her up so you can shoot....look at the post that Sienne linked, ok? You want her to be rising naturally...not food induced.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 HELP PLS !!

you don't need higher carb food to get her up, unless she drops more. Using higher carb food just makes it too easy to get confused about whether you're seeing a real rise (end of cycle, insulin wearing off) or food spike. You NEVER want to shoot a HC induced number. Why? Because what happens when the HC wears off? Number drops, then insulin kicks in, then things can get out of control. You want to shoot a number that is rising *without* carbs. Yes, you already have some carbs in the picture because of the LC. That's ok, but now you want to wait a little longer before shooting. You're not looking to shoot above 50, you're waiting until you see a couple of consecutive rising numbers after you stop feeding. Basicall you have to wait to see if the number appears to be holding after the immediate effects of the food have waned.

Feeding HC *after* the shot, well, it's not ideal but I think a lot of us have done it. I have.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 HELP PLS !!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Just can't figure out why she keeps DROPPING instead of coming up!! Retesting now.

That is the million dollar question.

That was a huge drop from 252 to 51 in 4 hours. What is Gracie pretending to be Gabby......sorry Gabby but you are dramatic.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 HELP PLS !!

I guess what I don't know is what to shoot. We just retested at 12.5 and she's basically the same..43; fed 5% w/1/2 tsp 9% gravy because this is what Jill had me do the other night. I know once I get her up to above 50 I need to wait a bit to make sure that isn't a carb induced number. What I don't know is what to shoot....I don't think it is a good idea to shoot 1u because the other night, she bottomed out on me when I shot her regular dose so Jill felt we either need to do a longer stall or shoot reduced dose.

Sorry, Libby and Sienne that you are ill and having to help us....just wondering what you think I should shoot when she rises?

eta: I got your post Libby after we fed her the 5% w/ a little 9% gravy...sorry. I will be sure we get two consecutive rising numbers but still don't know about dose.
Thanks!
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 + 12.5 43

when Jill had you do the carb thing before, it was AFTER you shot, right?

I don't remember exactly what she said, but normally you either shoot a reduced dose on time, or the regular dose late. So since you're stalling, you would go with the regular dose. By stalling, you are emptying the shed somewhat, so that should help keep her from bottoming out. Of course, this is Gracie, so *should* might not apply. :lol: Go with your gut, and what feels right based on your ability to monitor. You have good instincts about what Gracie will do, and no matter what happens, it is data that will help with next time.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 + 12.5 43

Libby...no, because Gracie was so low, she had me put just a little bit of the 9% gravy (which is still LC) in with her food BEFORE we shot but then she started falling (alot) after we shot so I had to start giving her HC to bring her up. I also don't like doing that...seems defeating the purpose..I mean she is a diabetic :lol: so I'm giving her candy bars with HC.

Jill said stall and shoot regular dose or don't stall and shoot reduced dose but I'm not sure if she was figuring in Gracie dropping from +11.75 to +12.5. And she's unpredictable on the food spikes at +1.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 + 12.5 43

I'm better than I was yesterday!

And no, Gabby is not quite ready to pass along the Drama Queen tiara that Lucy gave her!

If you're going to give a BCS dose, it's likely that you're going to have to wait and see how long you've stalled and what the numbers are doing. BCS dosing is often more a matter of comfort level plus amount of time stalled, how large the usual dose is, etc. In other words, what feels right and what you've seen in the past. That said, the goal is to shoot your regular dose. Also, am I confusing days but didn't Gracie's numbers drop after you gave HC before you shot?

As for why this is happening. Gracie's a cat. You've clearly been too complacent and she's letting you know you need more excitement in your life. (I hope you didn't spit out all of that coffee Tena sent over.)

Told you it was a flat yellow cycle and to be prepared!
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 + 12.5 43

here's your 12/2 condo (since I went and found it anyway I thought I would link it here so I can find it again!): viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31183&start=50

Stalling is meant for cases like these (dropping for a while at shot time). No worries, this happens a lot!
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 +12.5 43 +12.75 4

When human diabetics go low, they eat candy bars, drink pop or orange juice to bring their numbers up.
This is the same thing and is the correct thing to do.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 +12.5 43 +12.75 4

Gingers Mommy (Lori) said:
When human diabetics go low, they eat candy bars, drink pop or orange juice to bring their numbers up.
This is the same thing and is the correct thing to do.

AFTER the shot. She is not dropping anymore, we're just waiting for the insulin to wear off. If she drops more, then more carbs.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 + 12.5 43

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Libby...no, because Gracie was so low, she had me put just a little bit of the 9% gravy (which is still LC) in with her food BEFORE we shot but then she started falling (alot) after we shot so I had to start giving her HC to bring her up. I also don't like doing that...seems defeating the purpose..I mean she is a diabetic :lol: so I'm giving her candy bars with HC.

Jill said stall and shoot regular dose or don't stall and shoot reduced dose but I'm not sure if she was figuring in Gracie dropping from +11.75 to +12.5. And she's unpredictable on the food spikes at +1.
no, marjorie. i think you're getting a little confused. i had you add gravy the other night when there was no food spike at +1. libby mentioned all the reasons for not bumpng up preshot numbers with hc.

tonight you'll want to see a nice upwards trend before shooting. there should be absolutely no problem shooting by +14 at the very latest.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 +12.5 43 +12.75 4

Sorry Lori but with all due respect, this situation is different. You're talking about hypoglycemic symptoms. That's when we give HC. Right now, HC would mask where the PMPS is and potentially put Gracie at risk because Marjorie wouldn't know what number she was actually shooting. She wants to bring the numbers up enough so Gracie is surfing in a safe range but not inflate the numbers artificially.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 +12.5 43 +12.75 4

Libby...in a PM to me after that 12/2 condo, Jill wrote:

generally speaking, when a kitty slides into pmps it's simply a sign their bounce has broken. i believe that's exactly what happened with gracie yesterday. there's already a downward momentum, so if a caregiver shoots on a drop it's important to monitor carefully to be able to pull the numbers up if needed.

*normally* experienced caregivers would go ahead and shoot the dropping number (unless it's below 50). this can be a good thing because *normally* a kitty's numbers will rise after shooting and feeding. it *should* leave the kitty a nice place for the insulin to take over.

however, in gracie's case... controlling her curve with little bits of hc/karo take too darn long to affect the numbers. seems like it's nothing, nothing, nothing, and then BAM! we see the effect of the hc/karo in a big way.

soooooooooo, it's necessary to go back to the drawing board with gracie. stalling is probably the best way to handle a dropping ps number with gracie. the down side is it plays havoc with your schedule. the next best thing is to reduce the dose (and monitor). obviously, neither of the choices is best protocol wise, but they are best for gracie. it's the old ECID thing. number one priority with each and every kitty is safety.

Sienne...glad you are doing better. The other night, I didn't give her HC before I shot....I gave her 4% with 9% gravy..isn't that gravy LC (anything below 10%)?? I gave her HC after she dropped to 40 at +.5.

Libby...so still not sure if you're saying I should shoot full dose after stalling or reduced dose. I'm thick headed :lol:
Jill...just saw your post....so are you thinking if she's up by +14 that we should shoot 1u?

She came up a little to 48...we didn't feed. Should I retest at 15 mins or 30?
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 +12.5 43 +12.75 4

I was referring to the 9% gravy (which is still LC) advise she was given.
I thought that seemed fine since her number was low.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 +12.5 43 +12.75 4

Jill...my apologies...it wasn't the other night and it wasn't you; you are totally correct. It was 11/20 when she was at 30 at +12 and Libby wrote:

more gravy would be good. Probably the low carb hasn't kicked in yet. A little more gravy wouldn't hurt. I wouldn't add karo, it's probably not necessary this late in the cycle. The important thing was to make sure she had stopped dropping, though we do want to get her out of the 30s.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 +12.5 43 +12.75 4

i'm thinking that it would be a good idea to continue testing gracie. you're looking for two things:

a). the rate of the rise
b). a decent sized upwards trend

how much you shoot depends on what you see. if she shoots up real soon, you'll know shooting the full dose should be fine.
if she takes her sweet time trending upwards, you may want to shoot a reduced dose... that dose depending on what you're seeing.
 
Re: 12/6 Gracie +11.75 51 +12 46 +12.25 44 +12.5 43 +12.75 4

Jill...got it!! Again, my apologies. Gracie has been doing this lately and I got my nights mixed up. I didn't have to bring her up on 12/2 when you were helping me. I did have to bring her up on 11/20 when Libby was helping me. So sorry...nothing worse than something being attributed to you that you didn't say.

Will retest at 45 after the hour (3 mins) and post. Will see what she's doing and we can do it a step at a time on what to shoot and when. Thanks to you, Libby, and Sienne for hanging in there with me when you're all sick!! Healing vines!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top