12/6 Dusty AMPS 264, +6 89, PMPS 269

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Dusty

Member Since 2012
Well if yesterday was kittens and sunshine in testing and dosing then today was rainclouds and grumbles. Actually, the testing went fairly fine but Dusty did not want to be dosed. Kept sitting down and then, when I'd sit down next to her with the needle, would get up and start to walk away. She's not a lap cat and is unhappy being confined, so I tried to avoid it but eventually had to do a little cat wranglin' to get her still enough to get the insulin in her. I'm not sure whether it's the pain of the needle or just the fact that she doesn't like me trying to corner her and get her to do something. (She's at a 29 gauge needle. I've got this contraption here: http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.co ... s_2279.htm )

Question: how late is too late for dosing? I'm going to a birthday celebration for a good friend tonight and am sure I'll be gone later than 8 pm. I pushed back Dusty's dose this morning to 8:15 so that, if I get back by 8:30, it'll still be in that happy half hour window. But I think getting back at 8:30 is thinking quite optimistically. If I dose Dusty at, say, 9:30, that's still ok, right? I'll just have to reduce the dose a smidge to compensate?

I hope you all are well this lovely December day!
--Michelle
 
Re: 12/6 Dusty AMPS 264, +6 89

Holy Cow. I was not expecting to see a number so low at the +6 mark! I'm really glad I got home in enough time to test. Makes me wish I had been at home for the +4ish stage, to see how she was acting.

Right before testing, Dusty tried throwing up. Nothing had come out (it had been several hours since she ate anything) and she seemed quite fine afterwords. She's currently eating, so she's not nauseous. No signs of hypo (and, at 89, I take it that she wouldn't be having a crash). I'm not going to read too much into it since I suppose it could be anything. Just wait and see whether she does it again.

Very curious to see her PMPS numbers, though I doubt I should read much into them since it'll be a bit off my current schedule.
 
Re: 12/6 Dusty AMPS 264, +6 89

Shooting late isn't a problem. The complication is tomorrow morning -- how far off schedule can you afford to be? If you were to shoot 90 min. late, your AM shot could be at either +11.5 or +11.75. You can move a shot by either 15 min. at each shot time or 30 min. once a day in most circumstances. (There are times when you can shoot much earlier but it all depends on the numbers and you don't have much data yet.) Where shooting late has an effect is that it acts like a dose reduction and it has an impact on the insulin depot. You cycle count at this dose would start over.

If you can't afford to be that far off schedule in the morning, your other option may be to skip the shot or shoot a reduced dose. However, the effect of shooting a reduced dose may not be felt this cycle since the depot may be in play. Instead, the reduced dose may have an effect on Dusty's numbers tomorrow.
 
Re: 12/6 Dusty AMPS 264, +6 89

Thanks so much for the reply! Fortunately, hell froze over (and/or we had the most freakishly competent table and kitchen staff *ever* at a restaurant not known for either) and I just got home in enough time to test and dose Dusty. I'm going to copy this advice, though, for the next time that I'll have to worry about such things.

I hope you and kitties are well!
Michelle
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top