12/6 Duncan: PMPS 152, 182, shot, +2 154,

Status
Not open for further replies.

SaraM2261

Member Since 2011
Skip to bottom - need eyes opinions on shooting now. I am here to monitor and I have honey on hand for a dive.

Had dry food with the other cats overnight. Going to look on the list and see if there are *any* dry foods at all. My cats just bolt the soft and then cry for more. They need something to crunch and something that will get left for later, so they can eat all night freely.

Duncan had some good numbers yesterday, so we'll see what we get today. I did almost a full curve yesterday, so today I am going to go easy on the poor guy and just see where he's at where he peaks, which is happening to be quite early in the cycle. So just a check a +4 today and pre-shots.I've yet to see my first blue, holding out hope for today! :)
 
Re: 12/6 Duncan: AMPS 395,

We used timed feeders until the cats learned that the wet food was the norm. After a while they learned to eat only when they were hungry and ate a lot less and slimmed down into healthier weights. The timed feeders made it so only a portion of the food was available at a time. They couldn't eat the whole night's food in the first half hour. We now free feed wet food with Innova dry out because one of the young ones oesn't eat enough wet. The older cats don't even bother with the dry anymore.

Innova (EVO) Cat and Kitten is one of the lowest dry food. Wellness Core is also low enough to be acceptable for a diabetic. There is one other on the dry food charts that I can't think of right now that is low carb. Some cats still through higher numbers on dry food, regardless of the carb content. Once you are able to reduce the dry, you may see the numbers come down.

Good luck. Some cats transition slowly, some go quickly. We started out mixing the prescription dry with our old nasty dry, but after reading up on it, I just took it away and ony ave her a few bits as treats now and then and they all transitioned just fine. We had an initial weight gain because they were getting "treat" food all the time **YAY**, but they adapted pretty quickly.
 
Re: 12/6 Duncan: AMPS 395,

Muffin was a hard-core kibble addict and didn't recognize canned as being food. So after she was dx, my first effort was to switch to a lower-carb dry food. I tried them all, and while none of them worked for her (she's a one-brand, one-flavor kitty and extremely stubborn) the wellness core held the most promise. She would actually nose it around, which tells me it was her favorite option, even tho she wouldn't eat it. :lol: Come on down Duncan - can we get a blue?
 
Re: 12/6 Duncan: AMPS 395, +3 238, +6 119!!!! WOW

BLUE!!! Just did a test at +6 and got a 119, tested again right after to see if it was a fluke and got a 123!! Yippy!!! I'm so happy! Now I just want to test again at maybe +7 and make sure he's not coming down too fast. :)
 
Re: 12/6 Duncan: Help - PMPS 152 should I wait?

Hey guys,
Duncan is having his first truly low/normal day and now it's time to shoot again.
1u / I tested twice back to back to check the meter and I got 152 and 162. So maybe wait and see what direction that is headed before I shoot him for the night???????????????
 
Re: 12/6 Duncan: Help - PMPS 152 should I wait?

I still use some dry for Do Lou as well but I use the royal canin diabetic dry he does not get much but some and very nice pmps for Duncan as for shooting are you home to monitor and do you have mc and hc on hand in case he were to drop?
 
Re: 12/6 Duncan: Help - PMPS 152 should I wait?

I wanted to look at Duncan's SS.

How about leaving canned food out overnight? Alternatively, if you mix water with canned food so it's soupy, you can freeze it and leave the frozen pucks out at night. Looking at Duncan's SS, the more he's eating canned and not getting dry, the better his numbers look.
 
Re: 12/6 Duncan: Help - PMPS 152 should I wait?

I can monitor tonight and I do have honey on hand for a dive.
 
Re: 12/6 Duncan: Help - PMPS 152 should I wait?

As long as the next test is in the same range or heading up, you should be OK to shoot.
 
Re: 12/6 Duncan: Help - PMPS 152 should I wait?

Thank you thank you thank you! :)
I took another reading and it was 182, so gave the normal 1u, and I'm going to check in 2 hours and see what's going on.

It was kind of scary kind of awesome to see that low number pre-shot. All I could think once the shed filled up was, awesome! He won't die of diabetic shock, now as long as I don't kill him with insulin he'll be great!

So, now I feel like I'm on the other side of the coin so to speak. Thanks for jumping in. He hasn't even been dx a week yet, so I do NOT feel confident in anything I am doing.

Good night! :) (or not, but at least I am waking up for happy reasons.) :-D
 
Re: 12/6 Duncan: Help - PMPS 152 should I wait?

We usually recommend getting a +1 and a +2 when you're shooting lower than you've previously shot.

Great job tonight.
 
Re: 12/6 Duncan: Help - PMPS 152 should I wait?

you'll do fine if he goes low. people are always nervous the first time, but it's not really rocket science and once you've done it, it kinda gets to be nothing. it's only 7pm here, so i'll keep on eye on the board and see if you need anything later. others will no doubt be on too.

keep posting your numbers this evening. a +2 that is significantly lower than the preshot number tells us that the cat may go lower than usual during that cycle. usually we expect that +2 to be about the same number. so at +2 you'll probably have a little bit of a heads-up on what's next.
 
Re: 12/6 Duncan: Help - PMPS 152, 182, shot, +2 154,

Ok, so the numbers were going up so I shot and took a +2 test and it was 152, same as my first reading pre-shoot. So that's good right!? Looks like I just get some carry over from Lantus at the end of the cycle. I read that you can get a dip at the end of the cycle with Lantus and looks like that is exactly what's happening. So I am not going to worry and just get up and do a check at +6 and see where he is.

He sleeps with me so I will be right with him that whole time too. :) He's telling me it's time to go to bed right now in fact. :)

Thank you so much for being here, Julie and Punkin and everyone else. :) Looks like we're going to have a pretty chart for the doc on Friday!!
 
sounds great, sara! you're adding all kinds of good information and it all helps to tell us how duncan's body works with the insulin.

sleep tight! cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top