12/6 China PMPS 57,+1 55,+2 49,+3.5 49,+5 50,+6.5 52,+9 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Question in my last comment

Yesterday's condo

Happy Friday LL!

China's still not eating normally, but she ate a little more than yesterday(so far). Sure don't have any ideas on what's going on with her. I have to wonder if she's got a toothache though. She doesn't like any foods that have to be chewed...only very soft pates. I was told back in August that she needed a dental and at least 1 extraction, but between finances and then my mother's health issues, it just didn't get done.

I finally felt that mom was stable enough for me to consider it again (although I've worried about it for much longer) and swallowed my pride and did a fundraiser, but I'm once again dealing with mom's health issues. It really seems like the hurrier I go, the behinder I get.

As soon as possible though, I'm going to be making an appointment for China to have the dental done. I'm not really thrilled with the idea of driving an hour to get her there (especially since she gets carsick) but I'm really happy with what I learned about this vet in Jefferson City. She seems to really know her stuff (although not so much feline diabetes but that's nothing new)

Hope everyone is having a nice Friday..We're in the deep freeze with a little snow, but it could be a lot worse!

Sending healing vines for anyone who needs them
 
Re: 12/6 China AMPS 109,+2 217,+4.5 176

I hope China's appy gets better. If her tooth is bothering her, that could be affecting her appy. I hope you can get the dental scheduled soon. I hope your mom is doing okay today.
 
Re: 12/6 China AMPS 109,+2 217,+4.5 176,+7.5 149

Thanks for the visit Carla! Hopefully once I get DM back out of the hospital and China to the vet, things will settle down around here

Question--China gets carsick and getting her to the vet for the dental concerns me since it's about an hour ride. Any ideas on what I could do to make her more comfortable?
 
Re: 12/6 China PMPS 57,+1 55 (reduced a bit due to poor appe

With China not eating as well, I did reduce her back to a fat 1 unit. With her numbers last night and tonight, I'm glad I did

Recap

AMPS 109
+2 217
+4.5 176
+7.5 149

PMPS 57
+1 55
 
Re: 12/6 China PMPS 57,+1 55

poor little girl. if her mouth is hurting, that would explain why she's not wanting to eat.

sometimes it just pours, doesn't it? always seemed to me like you can deal with things if they just don't ALL hit at once, but sometimes they do. taking care of an aging or ill parent is about the hardest thing ever - at least it was for me.

Rescue Remedy is a natural herbal solution that you can get at pet stores. i used it to calm my cats when i had to travel with them. not sure if it would help with carsickness, but it might.
 
Re: 12/6 China PMPS 57,+1 55,+2 49

Hi Chris. China is probably appreciating the reducie right now! Sorry her teeth are being trouble. She will definately feel better once the dental is done. When I was transporting kitties all the time, I did find they rode much better if their cages were facing forward and also if the sides of the cages were covered. For carsick kitties I cover the whole cage. The motion is definately a problem, but the sights do not seem to help them at all. All that world whipping by at record speed...some cat's don't dig that.

I'm wondering if watering her pate down a bit would be more pleasing for her?
 
Re: 12/6 China PMPS 57,+1 55,+2 49

Chris, sorry to hear that China isn't eating :sad: and that your DM is back in the hospital :sad:
Sending feel better vines to all of you ♥
 
Re: 12/6 China PMPS 57,+1 55,+2 49

Kim's got a good idea about the carsick issue. i get very carsick - if my eyes are open. it's not the motion, it's what i'm seeing. i like the idea of covering up the carrier. definitely worth trying.
 
Re: 12/6 China PMPS 57,+1 55,+2 49,+3.5 49,+5 50,+6.5 52

Thanks for the suggestions everyone!!

I think it's probably worth the phone call to ask the vet that will be doing the dental if she has any words of wisdom.

I do usually have the carrier covered, but I like to leave the front open and pointed toward me so I can see her and talk to her (she hates it when I sing though). I know that they say the reason cats have so much trouble is that their inner ear is telling them they aren't moving, but their eyes are telling them they are, so I'll try covering the whole thing so her eyes don't see any movement at all and see if it helps.

I do put a little water in her food to make it more soupy...she likes it better that way. Even with the gravy foods, she licks up the gravy and doesn't touch the little bits of food.

Think I'm going to set my alarm tonight though. Not looking forward to getting up in the wee hours, but I want to make sure she's past her nadir. I'll also try to get up at 5am and get a +11...she has a habit of double dipping so I'll want to know for sure she's going up at AMPS time since I have to be over at the hospital again tomorrow for however long it takes.

Goodnight (for now) Lantus Land!!

recap so far

AMPS 109
+2 217
+4.5 176
+7.5 149

PMPS 57
+1 55
+2 49
+2.5 50
+3 52
+3.5 49
+4 49
+4.5 49
+5 50
+5.8 50
+6.5 52
 
Re: 12/6 China PMPS 57,+1 55,+2 49,+3.5 49,+5 50,+6.5 52

Pretty amazing surf tonight China, but a little higher would be even better. Sending tons of appy vines and feeling better vines for China and :YMHUG: for you Chris.

I had a cat that got car sick in her kennel and had to get up on the back window to see outside. ECID. She couldn't handle twisty roads though. You can also get feliway spray which I sprayed in Neko's kennel when we went to Colorado. She preferred traveling with the kennel door open, even though she spent most of the time in it.
 
Re: 12/6 China PMPS 57,+1 55,+2 49,+3.5 49,+5 50,+6.5 52

I keep telling her that a nice 70'something surf is just as good as a 49/50's surf but I guess she's an overachiever...LOL
 
Re: 12/6 China PMPS 57,+1 55,+2 49,+3.5 49,+5 50,+6.5 52,+9

Rescue Remedy may help to calm China down. It's an herbal concoction that has a calming effect. The other option is Cerenia. It was developed for motion sickness in dogs and is an anti-nausea med. The big question I would have is whether it's OK to give in advance of anesthesia.
 
Re: 12/6 China PMPS 57,+1 55,+2 49,+3.5 49,+5 50,+6.5 52,+9

Wow, that was quite the surf China, maybe a little higher next time?

As for the travel, my cats always got very sick and stressed out by car rides. My civie still prefers the carrier, but with it facing forward and the front covered, but Mocha MUCH prefers traveling outside the carrier. He curls up on the floor of the passenger side (on towels of course, in case he has an accident). ECID but it has made a tremendous difference for him. I bring the carrier and a extra towel along. The carrier in case there are a lot of dogs in the vets office, but otherwise I carry him in the towel.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top