12/6, Binie, AMPS 417, all day high after another fur shot

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-5-binie-amps-384-3-342-6-292.296326/

Good evening,

I am quite devastated I did the second fur shot in one week. You all gave me this great advice but it seems Binie and me can't make another technique happen so far and this one has a high risk of failiure. Tonight my hand was trembling which didn't help but this time we have been lucky. Thank god ketones are still o.k.

This is day eight on 2.5 IU with two fur shots inbetween. Does this mean I should hold the dose to see what it can do if the depot is fully build? Or should I go up? @Wendy&Neko

I have to say that I am unsure how I can monitor her after the current libre expires on Sunday. I shaved the next location today and it seems her skin is reacting either on the adhesive of the sensor or the skint tec I use to apply it. Her skin is red and looks like she has a rash. I used coconut oil on it and hope it will regenerate over night.

Safe surf to everyone! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh I’m sorry, I suspect now that you are so focused on how you are shooting, it makes you self-conscious. :bighug:.

With SLGS the 7 days offer enough time to see how the dose is working, even with a furshot or two. You’ve had only two cycles with nadirs under 150 over that time, so my vote would be for an increase.
 
Oh I’m sorry, I suspect now that you are so focused on how you are shooting, it makes you self-conscious. :bighug:.

With SLGS the 7 days offer enough time to see how the dose is working, even with a furshot or two. You’ve had only two cycles with nadirs under 150 over that time, so my vote would be for an increase.

I think I need a bit do digest that and to trust myself again. I was lucky it worked tonight because I was so tense and my hand was really shaking.

Yes, I also feel that it is time for an increase. Thank you so much for your advice! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-5-binie-amps-384-3-342-6-292.296326/

Good evening,

I am quite devastated I did the second fur shot in one week. You all gave me this great advice but it seems Binie and me can't make another technique happen so far and this one has a high risk of failiure. Tonight my hand was trembling which didn't help but this time we have been lucky. Thank god ketones are still o.k.

This is day eight on 2.5 IU with two fur shots inbetween. Does this mean I should hold the dose to see what it can do if the depot is fully build? Or should I go up? @Wendy&Neko

I have to say that I am unsure how I can monitor her after the current libre expires on Sunday. I shaved the next location today and it seems her skin is reacting either on the adhesive of the sensor or the skint tec I use to apply it. Her skin is red and looks like she has a rash. I used coconut oil on it and hope it will regenerate over night.

Safe surf to everyone! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, can you shave another spot which has not been used? A little further up or down from the location which is red?
Could your shaver have a dull blade?? Are you shaving the skin so as not to excoriate the skin?
Is it worth getting another shaver tomorrow to try a fresh shaver?
(Just ideas)
Maybe re-read all the skin prep stuff on the Facebook page again for a refresh.

I’m sure you were nervous tonight. It’s normal after a few fur shots. You will regain your confidence again.

I know you can do all of this. You’re just nervous. Please try to remember you are very capable and are doing an incredible job with Binie.

I’m sending you both big hugs. I wish I could come there to help you. I would do it in a minute. You just live so darned far :(
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, can you shave another spot which has not been used? A little further up or down from the location which is red?
Could your shaver have a dull blade?? Are you shaving the skin so as not to excoriate the skin?
Is it worth getting another shaver tomorrow to try a fresh shaver?
(Just ideas)
Maybe re-read all the skin prep stuff on the Facebook page again for a refresh.

I’m sure you were nervous tonight. It’s normal after a few fur shots. You will regain your confidence again.

I know you can do all of this. You’re just nervous. Please try to remember you are very capable and are doing an incredible job with Binie.

I’m sending you both big hugs. I wish I could come there to help you. I would do it in a minute. You just live so darned far :(
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Staci,

thank you so much! I also wondered if it has to do with the shave. I bought the trimmer for Binie (pet trimmer) so it is quite new and the blades should not be dull yet. And I hold the shaver like shown in the manuals of the fb site, with the flat peace on the skin. But usually I have a problem to shave it clean in one go, so I shave with several strokes. So there might be an irritation because of that, but I think that is not all because I feel the skin was not smooth before. When Binie wore the last sensor, I saw that the area with the skin tac got flakey. I thought that was because the product changed over time but maybe she had a rash already? When I stroked her it felt like bums under the fur and I was not sure if it was the product which I didn't manage to remove with the brava spray or a rash on her skin. :(

I think I will see how it develops with some rest and coconut oil. It was my plan to put on the new sensor tomorrow but it expires Sunday at lunch time so I can do it Sunday afternoon also. Shaving a spot higher would be an option but not one I like, because she might lick the sensor off. Today I looked a bit around and there are people having allergic reactions to the skin tac. I hope this is not what happened to Binie, because the skin tac was a game changer. I am happy I shaved today so I can see how it develops.

Yes, I lost my confidence completely. :( I was so scared to shoot in the evening. I am so grateful the libre reads at least numbers again.

Looks like Ivy cooperates so you can great her little niece. I am sure you told her, that she will always be your favourite baby! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Hi Staci,

thank you so much! I also wondered if it has to do with the shave. I bought the trimmer for Binie (pet trimmer) so it is quite new and the blades should not be dull yet. And I hold the shaver like shown in the manuals of the fb site, with the flat peace on the skin. But usually I have a problem to shave it clean in one go, so I shave with several strokes. So there might be an irritation because of that, but I think that is not all because I feel the skin was not smooth before. When Binie wore the last sensor, I saw that the area with the skin tac got flakey. I thought that was because the product changed over time but maybe she had a rash already? When I stroked her it felt like bums under the fur and I was not sure if it was the product which I didn't manage to remove with the brava spray or a rash on her skin. :(

I think I will see how it develops with some rest and coconut oil. It was my plan to put on the new sensor tomorrow but it expires Sunday at lunch time so I can do it Sunday afternoon also. Shaving a spot higher would be an option but not one I like, because she might lick the sensor off. Today I looked a bit around and there are people having allergic reactions to the skin tac. I hope this is not what happened to Binie, because the skin tac was a game changer. I am happy I shaved today so I can see how it develops.

Yes, I lost my confidence completely. :( I was so scared to shoot in the evening. I am so grateful the libre reads at least numbers again.

Looks like Ivy cooperates so you can great her little niece. I am sure you told her, that she will always be your favourite baby! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Well let’s hope the spot heals with the help of coconut oil. That would be the best case.

I’m glad you got through the shot tonight. I think it will get better. Please think positive thoughts, Heike. You can do it.
I have confidence in you ❤️❤️

Have a good rest tonight. Tomorrow will be better. Sending you lots of good vibes :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Heike you’ve got this. Look at everything you do that I certainly can’t, and you probably thought at one time you couldn’t do. You’re putting her Libres on, trouble shooting them, you’ve managed her FD so wonderfully, YOU GET HER TO PEE IN A CUP!!! You’re managing her uti’s and more meds and homeopathic treatments—it amazing. You’re amazing. You’ve got this.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
My fur shots typically came in multiples too. :bighug: Don't worry, she will get back on track again.

I agree with what Christie said on the increase. Luckily you have a lot of data due to the Libre so you aren't missing anything.
 
Yes, about that, probably a little older than 50 but not by much, her son is 18 :-) I was selling stuff at a Christmas market this morning, fun but tiring (I don't enjoy crowds!). Bella is doing great.
 
Back
Top