? 12/6 Bandit AMPS 324 +2 320 +5 378 PMPS 452 - DO I INCREASE DOSAGE???

Bandit's Mom

Member Since 2019
Bandit has been at over 300 for the last 3 days. I know that it can take up to 3 days for a bounce to clear.

She has eaten only kibble in the last 2 days or so. We've also started introducing some grain-free kibble (Farmina N&D) in the last couple of days and I'm wondering if that's what's spiking her sugar.

The new kibble is lower in carbs (19% vs 26% in existing kibble) and claims to have a low glycemic index. BUT it has potatoes/sweet potatoes instead of grain. Could that be the culprit? She has had maybe a 80:20 mix of old vs new kibble. That could cause her to be stay so high?

I've attached an analysis of the two kibbles done by me based on the formulae given by Dr. Lisa Pierson in her website (www.catinfo.org)

Old Kibble:
Contains corn gluten, pea fiber, whole oats, whole spelt
3122 kcals/kg
Carbohydrate% - 25.67%*
Calories from Carbydrates - 27%*
https://www.farmina.com/in/cat-food/farmina-vet-life-feline/83-obesity-feline.html


New Kibble:
Contains: sweet potatoes/potatoes, pea fibre, dried carrot
4204 kcals/kg
Carbohydrate% - 19.24%*
Calories from Carbydrates - 16%*
Claims to have a low Glycemic Index!
https://www.farmina.com/in/cat-food...rain-free-feline/148-fish-&-orange-adult.html
https://www.farmina.com/us/cat-food/n&d-prime-feline/145-chicken-&-pomegranate-adult.html

* Figures calculated from Guaranteed Analysis on DMB basis as per method shown in catinfo.org.

(I know 20% is still too high, but I live in India and there are very few options in cat food. I've just discovered that even our canned food is high enough in carbs (thanks to starch and gelling agents!). Bandit is extremely picky and I am still fighting the uphill battle of diet modification.)

Need help in figuring out whether the high numbers are just the bounce in Bandit's system or the effect of the new food.


P.S. I have ordered 1/2 unit syringes from the US and expect to get them next Sunday (Dec 15th). Bandit is still on a 1 unit dose of Lantus.
 
Last edited:
Have you thought about a home made diet?
I don't know the situation with meat and the price of it in India or if it would be safe to use a raw diet, but if it was not advisable, you could cook the meat and add supplements.
Do you think Bandit would eat that?
 
Have you thought about a home made diet?
I don't know the situation with meat and the price of it in India or if it would be safe to use a raw diet, but if it was not advisable, you could cook the meat and add supplements.
Do you think Bandit would eat that?

Sorry, I should have linked my previous threads. Have been vegetarian all my life. Don't know the first thing about buying and cooking meat. Also worried about bad meat and food going bad in this weather (hot and humid). Doesn't help that Bandit is a grazer. That's our challenge with wet food too. And she is picky!
 
Sorry, I should have linked my previous threads. Have been vegetarian all my life. Don't know the first thing about buying and cooking meat. Also worried about bad meat and food going bad in this weather (hot and humid). Doesn't help that Bandit is a grazer. That's our challenge with wet food too. And she is picky!

are the canned food that this web page you were using as high in carbs or more Medium carb foods ? I know you said she doesn't like canned right now, but it might be good for you to have some and to continue to offer it/ mix it in.
https://www.dogspot.in/natural-delicious-prime-chicken-pomegranate-adult-80-gm/

can you get items shipped from amazon or is that a hassle ?
https://borderoo.com/pages/how-to-get-amazon-shipped-to-india/
 
are the canned food that this web page you were using as high in carbs or more Medium carb foods ? I know you said she doesn't like canned right now, but it might be good for you to have some and to continue to offer it/ mix it in.
https://www.dogspot.in/natural-delicious-prime-chicken-pomegranate-adult-80-gm/

can you get items shipped from amazon or is that a hassle ?
https://borderoo.com/pages/how-to-get-amazon-shipped-to-india/

Regularly available cat food is unsuitable for diabetics. Getting food shipped from Amazon US etc is prohibitively expensive (shipping plus import duties). Very very much so.
 
are the canned food that this web page you were using as high in carbs or more Medium carb foods ? I know you said she doesn't like canned right now, but it might be good for you to have some and to continue to offer it/ mix it in.
https://www.dogspot.in/natural-delicious-prime-chicken-pomegranate-adult-80-gm/

can you get items shipped from amazon or is that a hassle ?
https://borderoo.com/pages/how-to-get-amazon-shipped-to-india/

@Si am cat mom , this farmina wet food contains 22% carbohydrates. (using Dr. Lisa's method of calculating approx calories based on guaranteed analysis %)
 
It’s possible Bandit is still working on a bounce, not sure what happened the PM of the 4th. Plus you are following SLGS due to the dry food. Nadirs are in the range you want, hold the dose.
 
It’s possible Bandit is still working on a bounce, not sure what happened the PM of the 4th. Plus you are following SLGS due to the dry food. Nadirs are in the range you want, hold the dose.

@Wendy&Neko Thanks. Her PMPS +10 is 346. She has been over 300 for 4 days now. Can bounces go on that long? Didn't understand what you mean about the PM of the 4th?
 
Ere was no testing the night of the 4th. If she went lower that night, she could have started another bounce.
 
Ere was no testing the night of the 4th. If she went lower that night, she could have started another bounce.

@Wendy&Neko do you mean the night of the 3rd when she went to 146 at PMPS +3? She ate kibble normally between shot and +3 and I'm reasonably confident she wouldn't have gone much lower - if at all. But, who knows?

AMPS today was 308.

It's alarming if she bounces for 3 days even if her BG falls below 200! She seems to be spending more time on bounces than on lower BGs! :(

Anyway, patience I guess. This too shall pass.
It just breaks my heart to see her drink water and pee buckets!!!
 
do you mean the night of the 3rd when she went to 146 at PMPS +3?
No, the night of December 4th where she tested 348 at PMPS and there were no tests afterwards. We have no idea what she did that night. Getting a before bed test every night is a good practice.
 
No, the night of December 4th where she tested 348 at PMPS and there were no tests afterwards. We have no idea what she did that night. Getting a before bed test every night is a good practice.

@Wendy&Neko Oh! I just assumed she would stay high (due to the bounce) and wanted to spare her an ear-poke!
So one should test AMPS, AMPS +6, PMPS and PMPS+3 every day?

She is at 377 today at AMPS +3
This bounce seems never ending!
 
Last edited:
So one should test AMPS, AMPS +6, PMPS and PMPS+3 every day?
AMPS and PMPS for sure, plus whatever you can in the other cycles. A PMPS +2 or +3 will give you an indication if the cycle will be an active one, if the +2 or +3 is quite a bit lower than the preshot. If not, like today, it's a bounce cycle and you don't need to test much. As for +6, that is only the typical Lantus nadir. There is variability between cats, and even between cycles. Somewhere in the middle, where you can, is a good idea.
 
AMPS and PMPS for sure, plus whatever you can in the other cycles. A PMPS +2 or +3 will give you an indication if the cycle will be an active one, if the +2 or +3 is quite a bit lower than the preshot. If not, like today, it's a bounce cycle and you don't need to test much. As for +6, that is only the typical Lantus nadir. There is variability between cats, and even between cycles. Somewhere in the middle, where you can, is a good idea.

How does one tell that it's a bounce and not a higher dose needed? Bandit seems to have spent the better part of the last 10 days over 300. Rarely falling below and that too only during the day when she doesn't want to eat because she'd rather sleep!

Of course, I've never done a full BG curve at night, but the only times she has been low then has been when she started the PM cycle low on account of not eating during the day.

Her AMPS +7 today is 321, lower than +3 but higher than pre-shot. That too, with just a little kibble having gone in.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top