12/6/20 - Squeaky! Green all afternoon. PMPS 76. Shot 1 u.

Glad Squeaky is feeling good. I hope he comes down soon.

Wow Carla, I think your good wishes are working!

So we have never been down to 56 before. He ate a little bit (not much) after +6 and ate well after +7. It has already been 1/2 hour since our +7 test. I trust I can just test him at +8 to make sure he is okay?

UPDATE: 73 at +8. Did I do the right thing or should I have tested at 7.5?
 
Last edited:
Usually when you get a number in the 50s it's a good idea to feed a teaspoon at a time so they don't get too full and test every 30 minutes to make sure they are coming up. Then we ask people to get two tests after the last time feeding that stay in safe numbers to make sure the cat is not going back down after the food wears off. I hope that makes sense. I'm glad Squeaky came up.
 
Usually when you get a number in the 50s it's a good idea to feed a teaspoon at a time so they don't get too full and test every 30 minutes to make sure they are coming up. Then we ask people to get two tests after the last time feeding that stay in safe numbers to make sure the cat is not going back down after the food wears off. I hope that makes sense. I'm glad Squeaky came up.

Thanks Carla, usually you are hoping Squeaky goes down, now glad he came up!!!!

I kind of wondered that I maybe needed to test in 30 minutes but I was not sure. I like to minimize his tests when possible.

So now that he has come up to the 70s when do I need to test again, in an hour?
 
You want two tests after the last time you fed where he stays in safe numbers. If you don't need to feed before the next test, don't feed. If he's still in safe numbers after the next test, you can find like you normally do.
 
You want two tests after the last time you fed where he stays in safe numbers. If you don't need to feed before the next test, don't feed. If he's still in safe numbers after the next test, you can find like you normally do.

Oh, I think I got it. After feeding, then two tests after that going up. Then I can feed again. I think I got the concept.

Time to test again! I've had to wake him from deep sleep to take the tests today. He doesn't seem to appreciate that very much..... but wow I am so happy to see green again!!!! Did I tell you he chased a squirrel this morning? :joyful::D:):smuggrin::bighug: Thanks for your help!!!

You are one of the most social people I know! I should learn from you..... but I'd probably get overwhelmed..... :rolleyes:

Cheers, Jan and Squeaky
 
You want two tests after the last time you fed where he stays in safe numbers. If you don't need to feed before the next test, don't feed. If he's still in safe numbers after the next test, you can find like you normally do.

Hi Carla so he was 68, I should feed again or not? It was lower.....

Actually I'm wondering if I should feed a little high carb food, to get his numbers a little bit high for the pre-shot test and the shot...... If he is too low then I cannot shoot.
 
Just wondering if anyone will be around in about a half hour in case we have a pre-shot question? It's 8:39 mountain time. Pm. Thanks.
 
Well...

you are still following TR, I think. Anything above 50 is considered a shootable number, but I know you haven’t shot that low before. Do you have supplies, honey/HC and ability to stay up and monitor, if needed?

I cannot stay to help, but @Bandit's Mom should be up soon and may be able to help.
 
Well...

you are still following TR, I think. Anything above 50 is considered a shootable number, but I know you haven’t shot that low before. Do you have supplies, honey/HC and ability to stay up and monitor, if needed?

I cannot stay to help, but @Bandit's Mom should be up soon and may be able to help.

Yes to all of the above, except I'm a bit tired from testing all day long and other things. I might have trouble waking up every hour. What about shooting 2 units?

EDIT: His shot time should have been 9:15, it is now 9:55.
 
A bounce seems possible after that pretty green surf, but you need to feel comfortable with the decision. The 3.75 depot will still be in play tonight, so testing is likely regardless.

If you feel safer with a token, it is up to you. :bighug: I can’t stay, so I can’t advise.
 
A bounce seems possible after that pretty green surf, but you need to feel comfortable with the decision. The 3.75 depot will still be in play tonight, so testing is likely regardless.

If you feel safer with a token, it is up to you. :bighug: I can’t stay, so I can’t advise.

So you are saying if I shoot 3.75 he will still likely bounce anyway?

Oh I am so tired and having trouble making any kind of decision. Because I don't understand everything.

I guess I will just shoot 1 unit.

What would go wrong if I gave him 2 units?
 
If you're too tired to stay up tonight (if necessary) than it's perfectly acceptable to give a token dose but that won't necessarily mean you won't have to test tonight. The 3.75 unit dose will still be in play.

I expect him to bounce at some point but he's pretty low for shooting the full dose without a lot more experience and data.

If you're really tired, you could skip. Hate to do that since you're seeing such good numbers, but you also have to take care of yourself
 
If you're too tired to stay up tonight (if necessary) than it's perfectly acceptable to give a token dose but that won't necessarily mean you won't have to test tonight. The 3.75 unit dose will still be in play.

I expect him to bounce at some point but he's pretty low for shooting the full dose without a lot more experience and data.

If you're really tired, you could skip. Hate to do that since you're seeing such good numbers, but you also have to take care of yourself

Okay I'm thinking token dose to keep him from bouncing so high.

Nobody has told me what would happen if I give him 2 units instead of 1.
 
Our crystal ball is broken ;)

If he were my cat, I'd probably go with the 2U, get a +1 and +2 and be prepared to set alarms if necessary (but I don't know how tired you are either)

Too late. I didn't understand that 2u would even be a possibility.

What makes me tired is the stress of not knowing what to do, for an hour while trying to get some help. The more I understand, the less stressful this gets, but I'm not there yet!

So one unit happened.

I hope that at some point when I'm at this junction, someone will be able to be around! I know everyone is doing a fantastic job. I am just a slow learner with complex things like this.

THANK YOU EVERYONE FOR YOUR INPUT!!!!! AND HELP!!!!! AND SUPPORT!!!!! AND ENCOURAGEMENT!!!!! AND WISDOM!!!!! AND PATIENCE!!!!! AND CARING!!!!! AND LOVE!!!!
 
That's perfectly fine! There is no "right or wrong" answer right now!

Shooting 1U will give you some useful information on what happens when you reduce the dose by that much

ALL data is good data!
 
That’s a good question...I’m not sure. Potentially less of a depot drain?

Sorry to hear the stress is tiring :bighug:

Yah I'm a baby when I don't know what to do...... I'm a slow processor...... hard to make decisions. :confused:

Couldn't have gone this far without all of you helping, that is for sure. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

It was AMAZING how green Squeaky was all afternoon and I didn't panic once. :)
 
Last edited:
It's help you for the next time you see low preshots, to get a +1 and a +2 tonight. First, to make sure he's coming up, and second, data for what happens when you shoot low.
 
It's help you for the next time you see low preshots, to get a +1 and a +2 tonight. First, to make sure he's coming up, and second, data for what happens when you shoot low.

Thanks Wendy. And a question from your comment earlier. You said, 73 and 68 are basically the same number with meter variance.

What is the range, then, to know if there is movement up or down?

And now that we had a green streak, 10 cycles to see if we get another one, right?

I appreciate your coaching! Thanks for popping in. I learn through repetition, and appreciate all the help.
 
Meters can be 15-20% out (depending on country), so that gives you the variance.
And now that we had a green streak, 10 cycles to see if we get another one, right?
No. But since you reduced the dose, it could take six cycles to build up the depot again to see what this dose can do.
 
I hope Squeaky surfed safely last night. I'm glad you had some help.

Well in general, Carla, this board is magnificent and wonderful and I get so much help. I did not get the help I needed last night, though to do a low pre-shot number. Seems there are not enough people available to coach for this. I will have to try to figure it out.

I hope you are having a great day and Furball is doing well. Weren't you going to try to increase or decrease this last weekend?
 
I hope you are having a great day and Furball is doing well. Weren't you going to try to increase or decrease this last weekend?
I did increase, but some homeopathic medicine I was giving her for her polyp ear had sugar in it and made her numbers wonky.

When you get a low PS you have to decide if you are able to monitor as long as you need to and you have plenty of supplies. If you can't monitor for whatever reason you can skip or shoot a reduced dose like you did.
 
Back
Top