? 12/5 Zhoom Boy - Need some help

CRL

Member Since 2019
I am not sure how to make sense of Zhoom's numbers - Although I ordered new strips awhile ago for the Alpha Trak meter that I use, the weather has caused a delay in their delivery and I am now out of strips! So I am using my recently purchased back up meter - Relion Prime - feline blood vs human blood - and the numbers are very very different.

Zhoom's PMPS on the alpha trak was 432 - fortunately I also took a PMPS with the Relion - it was 298 - now at +3 with the Relion he is at 123.

I have been thinking of switching to the Relion because the strips are so much more affordable than the Alpha Trak - and if I switched, it seems like I would be happier with his numbers too ;) But how confusing. What is actually real?

And what do I do right now? I have never used a human meter before. Please advise. I think that on the human meter, 50 is the take action number as opposed to 68 on the Alpha? It seems like with this sort of drop I should feed him a little LC food and keep checking?
 
Down to 66 at +4.5 with the Relion meter. Feeding some Hc food now. Will check in 20 minutes.
 
You are right, 50 is the take action number on the Relion. Take action means time to feed high carb to get him above 50. Since you are following SLGS, Zhoom Boy has earned a reduction down to 1.25 units.

At this point it’s OK to wait 30 minutes to test again. Carbs take 20-30 minutes from the plate to the blood stream. And high carb can take a couple hours to wear off. You will need to keep testing for a couple hours, to make sure he is still in safe numbers when the carbs wear off.

I am too exhausted by the day to stay with you. Could you take down the 911 prefix and replace it with the ? Prefix. We save the 911 for medical emergencies.
 
Thanks for the help. I wasn't sure with this meter if I was in an emergency mode or not. Not yet, thank goodness! Hope you get some rest.
 
I think that on the human meter, 50 is the take action number as opposed to 68 on the Alpha? It seems like with this sort of drop I should feed him a little LC food and keep checking?
just on my way to bed and absolutely cannot stay up with you. 2 a.m. and bed beds on board.
switching to an unfamiliar number set is scary but zhoom boy is still in safe numbers (above 50).
you can probably keep him surfing green with LC, but you know your cat best.

since you are doing SLGS, on a human meter Zhoom Boy has earned a reduction 1.25 units tomorrow since he has had a reading of under 90.

@Sandra And Buddy
is online and for
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
it is her afternoon in Australia so she may check in.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CRL
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bought-a-human-meter-seems-way-off.220163/#post-2480089

I feel like we had a conversation the other day about glucometers and the difference in numbers. It helped me a little bit, so I figured I'd try and repost.
His SS looks like he's been in the greens around this time, a little earlier, on the 22cd and you navigated that well.
You've got this. No worries
Thanks for the words of encouragement. And for the post on the difference in meters. It does help a little.
 
Hi Charity
I will be around for a few hours.
How long til your next test?
Hi Bron. Nice to have you around. We are doing okay over here. I just tested and he is at 80. I will test again in half and hour and then probably again an hour after that. I think the food is keeping him from dipping too low. And it makes him so happy to get to eat more. He loves his food :)
 
I have been thinking of switching to the Relion because the strips are so much more affordable than the Alpha Trak - and if I switched, it seems like I would be happier with his numbers too ;) But how confusing. What is actually real?

Hey! sorry I did not see your tag until this morning. There will always be a (pretty big) difference between a pet meter and human meter, and there is no conversion from one to another. You will drive yourself nuts trying to decipher the numbers. I would pick one and stick with it and use the other as a back up if absolutely needed. The majority around here use a human meter because as you stated, cost. Also the protocols and advice are all based on a human meter, as well as the spreadsheet.

But it really don't matter which you use as long as you are consistent. It is also a bit nicer to see the lower number and the colors on the SS (at least for me it is :) )
 
Back
Top