12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 +4.5 76- Back from vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Hit the snooze bar one too many times and snooze through +2. Whoops.

She's looking much better on 2.75. I should probably nudge her up to 3.0, but I'm trying to decide if I should wait for her BW to come back (either tomorrow or Wed.), or do the nudge sooner. Either way...only one little yellow blip in 3 days - woohoo!

Happy Monday, everyone!

Amy
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie AMPS 178 +2.5 146

I just cannot get over the fact that Trixie is on a higher dose than Champ!! Her numbers are looking much better, though, so maybe an extra drop would be just what she needs!!

Hope you have a great day, Amy!!
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie AMPS 178 +2.5 146

Hi guys .. yay on all these blues trixie! Thats our girl .. I hope the blood work results come in and help explain why she's been so high lately .. if not, maybe she just needed the extra juice .. she's looking much better .. I won't be around much this week as peter has it off, so have a great week!
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 - Back from vet

Trix is doing some nice surfing today...I'm not sure if I should increase her in the morning, or hold out for a few more cycles. Any thoughts on that?

So I took Mario and Trix in for routine maintenance tonight. No huge surprises for either of them (which is a huge surprise for me!) Trix has chubbed up to 11lbs ohmygod_smile ...I'm a bad bean in that department. She was 7lbs at diagnosis in January, and 9lbs when she had her dental in April. Her teeth look good; Dr Mc couldn't see any obvious problems there. Phew! All the basics checked out well, too. Her blood- and urine-work will be back in a day or so, but overall it looks like her steady need for increases is just the craziness of FD.

Mario was a bit more concerning. As you guys may recall, he's 16.5, and has high BP, HyperT, renal insufficiency, and arthritis. He also gets very VERY worked up when he's at the vet, to the point where just taking him in for a basic appointment makes me nervous. Today, she noticed more of a "gallop" to his heart rate than she has in the past, but he was just so upset that I'm sure that was a contributing factor. He really needs a dental (no surprise), but with all that's going on, and now the heart thing, it's up in the air. She suggests that after we see what his BW shows, we should do an echo to see if his heart can withstand the anesthesia. I have to admit, because he gets so stressed and upset, having the echo done makes me nervous, and having the dental done terrifies me. She said it's not an emergency, so I'm going to just take it one day at a time. The thing that is keeping me calm about this is knowing what he's like at home...since he started on the Adequan for his arthritis, he's been so damned happy, social, spunky, and loving life again. I'm just not sure I want to risk messing with that. She did give us some clindamyacin to give him in the meantime. Yay - another med to work into his schedule! Fortunately, he goes for pill pockets.

They had THE cutest little fluffy black kitten available for adoption there. I didn't see it when I first walked in. I sat on the bench, was looking at/talking to Mario and Trix, and I hear this teeny little squeak from the other side of the room. The kitten was peeking around the corner of the cage at me. I went over to pet him or her, and OMG...what a motor that little thing had! S/he would stop purring for split second to squeak, then would start purring again. So sweet...it took every ounce of will power for me to not stuff the thing in my purse and bring it home :lol: !

Time for me to settle in with a glass of wine...I always need some serious decompression after a vetty visit!
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 - Back from vet

So glad to hear this vetty report for Trix and Mario. Trixie's numbers are looking so great due to your perseverence. I hope she will start to come back down the dosing scale soon for you.

I understand your trepidation about Mario. You know we had to deal with the same thing with Teddi and Gus...both about Mario's age, both with renal insufficiency, Teddi with hyper-T and murmur, Gus with high bp. We
are blessed to have the most incredible board certified veterinary anesthesiologist/pain mgmt doctor in Tucson and she did their anesthesia. They came through like troopers. I think it is a good suggestion to check his
heart as long as he will tolerate it. Rescue remedy maybe?

Enjoy your decompression!
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 - Back from vet

Hi Amy,
Good to see that you're back from the vet and that things went well. I think you are being very sensible not to want to rock the boat where Mario is concerned. You have a gut feeling and it is always wise to pay attention to those.

The kitten sounds so cute. How could you resist??!

Good luck with Trixie's dosecrease when you decide to give it.

Enjoy a relaxing evening with your kitties. Do they need KTSS spa treatment?

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 - Back from vet

Good to hear the vetty visit went well. What a crew you have Amy. Enjoy your glass of wine and have a great evening!
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 - Back from vet

Well i truly hope that this is just the cat and FD and nothing more. Trix's numbers look good tonight tho! I see some green in her near future!!!

Poor Mario, i really feel for the old fella, hopefully his teeth aren't bothering him too badly.
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 - Back from vet

Amy, I'm glad you survived the vet visit with Trixie and Mario. That must be pretty heavy picking up those two! Glad to hear the vet thinks Trixie is doing pretty well. I certainly understand your nervousness about Mario, especially since he is doing so well at home. I'm not sure what I would do in your situation.

Enjoy your glass of wine...in fact I am going to join you right now with a glass of my own!
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 - Back from vet

Amy --

Had you thought about asking your vet about doing a house call? Maybe having the vet do a basic physical exam at your home will give a better baseline for Mario's vital signs, especially his heart. My vet occasionally does house calls. They have a portable doppler for BP and they draw labs. It's much easier on Gabby who does not like to travel.
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 - Back from vet

Hi Amy, glad the Vetty visit is over and Trixie has good teeth. Paws crossed for good bw and urinalysis. I don't blame you where Mario is concerned with everything going on with him. Give them both some scritches for me. Enjoy your glass of wine. That does sound good right now.
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 - Back from vet

Thanks, guys...LL "tight regulation" is the best!

I know our regular vet doesn't do house calls, but there is a local vet who does. Maybe I should start looking into that option for Mario - I hadn't really thought about it before. Our vet is really good and very thorough, but he does get so upset when he has to go...as a result, I tend to procrastinate taking him. He doesn't bite or scratch, but you can tell his stress level is through the roof. When he was younger, his ears would turn bright red, and he'd blow fur like you wouldn't believe. He actually does have to go back on Saturday for a BP check. He was so wound up tonight, there was no point in checking, plus it had been less than 2 hours since he had his pill. They like to check it at 5-6 hours post-pill. I am relieved that I have time to think about his dental situation. If it were any of the other kitties, I wouldn't hesitate; I'm just afraid of sending him into an early decline by putting him through something like that...afraid he'll stop eating, or develop some sort of infection, etc. It's a QOL balancing act for a cat in his situation, and right now my gut says "find an alternate route". We'll see, though...at least I don't have to make a decision tonight.

Ah...the kitten. I was literally chanting to myself "You've got 6 special needs cats at home. You've got 6 special needs cats at home." But it was soooo cute, and really touched my heart. I'm sure there is someone out there who will not be able to resist such a sweetie....

Mario and Trix would LOVE a visit from the KTSS! I tried to appease them with treats when we got home, but somehow I don't think that's quite the same..
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 - Back from vet

Here's my thought...

Get the local vet to do the housecall. You can compare BP readings when Mario isn't as stressed. Should everything be OK for a dental, ask the vet you think is really good, if there's a sedative you can give Mario at home prior to bringing him in for the dental. That may help to reduce his stress. It's a thought....
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 - Back from vet

this may not be helpful to you, but you know I'm gonna tell it anyway :-D
The one time I had to call a mobile vet was in Montana when i came home at 1am and ny boxer was deathly ill...
She got there within 20 minutes...stayed 4 hrs with us...came back the next 2 days...and charged us $290.00
total. (squids, and all supplies and meds included)
Absolutely amazing.

glad your vet visit went well!
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 - Back from vet

You guys are giving me some really good stuff to think about with regards to Mario's future healthcare. I do like our vet a lot, but I love Mario and do worry about the negative impact of travelling to the vet causes him in his advanced years. And, with all the health issues that have popped up for him this year, the poor guy has had to go waaaaay too many times.
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 - Back from vet

Hopes & Prayers for Mario's BW to come back clean!! Sounds like the traveling vet might be the good thing for him! Hugs from us!
 
Like Sienne, I was going to suggest a sedative given at home ahead of time. Not sure if that's feasible with all his health issues, but it's something I've been considering doing for my civvie Shnookie. He gets soooo stressed going to the vet, he growls, hisses and scratches - they have to knock him out to do anything other than a quick basic exam. They say if he was a normal-sized 10 lb cat, it wouldn't be such a big deal, but at one point he was 22lbs (down to 18lbs10oz now) and that's a lot of strength behind those claws! :lol: I've also considered trying a mobile vet, but I love my vet and am wary of using someone else.

Glad Trixie got a clean bill of health so far tho!
 
Re: 12/5 Trixie PMPS 147 +2 123 - Back from vet

mybuddybinks said:
this may not be helpful to you, but you know I'm gonna tell it anyway :-D
The one time I had to call a mobile vet was in Montana when i came home at 1am and ny boxer was deathly ill...
She got there within 20 minutes...stayed 4 hrs with us...came back the next 2 days...and charged us $290.00
total. (squids, and all supplies and meds included)
Absolutely amazing.

glad your vet visit went well!

I may move to Montana!

Love seeing a smiley face on a condo with the word "vet" in it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top