? 12/5 Minnie AMPS 300, +2 327 - Vacation dosing

Liz & Minnie

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...mps-218-2-226-5-107-9-88.266374/#post-2981560

Hello friends and strangers!

Minnie has been keeping well and we've been managing her diabetes pretty well. She worked her way up to 8u and since Thanksgiving started working back down to 6.5u.

I will be out of town starting Tues for 10 days, with a petsitter. I just found out that she is no longer working from home so will not be here during the day testing regularly as I'd expected. I therefore dropped Minnie to a lower vacation dose of 6u last night and she is up in the 300s now so I'm worried about her staying up that high for 10 days with her history of DKAs.

What's the advice here?

I am thinking of changing the dose to 6.25u though the downside of that is there's no 1/4 unit marking - not an issue for any of us but perhaps for the sitter. I'm not pleased about the situation but it is what it is. I've written up lots of notes about food and what to give her based on her BG and to check her blood ketones if BG over 300.

Thanks very much!
Liz
 
Hi Liz - great to hear you are getting a vacation! Hope it's some place fun.

Give Minnie a couple of scritches from me. Figures she's try to make life hard for you just before you go. :rolleyes:

When was the last time you tested her for ketones? And when was the last time she was positive for ketones? Just wondering how much that is a worry.

Also, I'll note she got down to 72 yesterday on 6.5 units, and usually nadirs before the time that test was done. This would make me think 6.0 is a good call, provided there has been no recent ketones hints. We also don't know how low she got the night of the 3rd, there could be some bounce action happening too.
 
I am going back to the old country to catch up with some old friends for some pre-Christmas celebrations, with excellent timing to be there for the England v France quarter-final World Cup match :)

You are right, she is absolutely making life hard. She destroyed my plans to go out on Thanksgiving by dropping low AND refusing to eat. Such a diva.

Her ketones were nice and low at 0.3 on Nov 21. Just re-checked and she's at 0.4 which is still pretty normal for her. She got up to 1.2 May 12 (on the Novamax meter) when the petsitter was here and again up to 1.1 in June when she had dental work and I skipped a shot. So she hasn't had them recently but her BG has been mostly green/blue this year and I think her ketones rise pretty quickly at the higher BG.

OK, thank you for your insight. I'm a lot more confident with her diabetes care these days when I'm doing it myself but guiding others is another thing completely!! I'm relieved that my instincts are consistent with your advice :) I'll report in when I return.

Happy holidays!
 
Excellent timing on the match! That should be fun.

Are you leaving a sample syringe prefilled with coloured liquid or a syringe with a sharpie marking the dose? Six units is a nice even number. And hopefully she'll eat just fine for the petsitter. Another reason for a slight bit of caution.
 
Excellent timing on the match! That should be fun.

Are you leaving a sample syringe prefilled with coloured liquid or a syringe with a sharpie marking the dose? Six units is a nice even number. And hopefully she'll eat just fine for the petsitter. Another reason for a slight bit of caution.
I was planning on leaving a prefilled syringe but thanks for the reminder, otherwise it will be the last thing I do before running out the door :) Another good point on the eating, I find they don't eat as much when nobody's home...then when I get in, they start troughing away at the stuff that's been drying out all day!!
 
Done! Keeps my mind at rest. :)
 

Attachments

  • 20221205_151322.jpg
    20221205_151322.jpg
    18.4 KB · Views: 78
Hi Liz. I missed you yesterday and I suppose you are on your way today. I hope all goes well for Minnie and Sam while you are away. I'm very glad to hear you are going home for a while. Enjoy. I will look for your post when you return.
 
Back
Top