Liz & Minnie
Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...mps-218-2-226-5-107-9-88.266374/#post-2981560
Hello friends and strangers!
Minnie has been keeping well and we've been managing her diabetes pretty well. She worked her way up to 8u and since Thanksgiving started working back down to 6.5u.
I will be out of town starting Tues for 10 days, with a petsitter. I just found out that she is no longer working from home so will not be here during the day testing regularly as I'd expected. I therefore dropped Minnie to a lower vacation dose of 6u last night and she is up in the 300s now so I'm worried about her staying up that high for 10 days with her history of DKAs.
What's the advice here?
I am thinking of changing the dose to 6.25u though the downside of that is there's no 1/4 unit marking - not an issue for any of us but perhaps for the sitter. I'm not pleased about the situation but it is what it is. I've written up lots of notes about food and what to give her based on her BG and to check her blood ketones if BG over 300.
Thanks very much!
Liz
Hello friends and strangers!
Minnie has been keeping well and we've been managing her diabetes pretty well. She worked her way up to 8u and since Thanksgiving started working back down to 6.5u.
I will be out of town starting Tues for 10 days, with a petsitter. I just found out that she is no longer working from home so will not be here during the day testing regularly as I'd expected. I therefore dropped Minnie to a lower vacation dose of 6u last night and she is up in the 300s now so I'm worried about her staying up that high for 10 days with her history of DKAs.
What's the advice here?
I am thinking of changing the dose to 6.25u though the downside of that is there's no 1/4 unit marking - not an issue for any of us but perhaps for the sitter. I'm not pleased about the situation but it is what it is. I've written up lots of notes about food and what to give her based on her BG and to check her blood ketones if BG over 300.
Thanks very much!
Liz
