12/5 Michelangelo AMPS 335, PMPS 254 - Getting another cat?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

I've been moving his shot time from 7 to 8 the last couple of days because 7 am is too early for me! I end up going back to bed again and then oversleep and end up late for work. :lol: Not sure how that's affected his numbers because I did it in 15-minute increases, which I've already done on numerous other days when he was being particularly difficult with his pre-shot testing, specifically his AMPS. In fact, we still have a constant struggle every morning with his AMPS, but at least now it's more a battle of wills than an all-out war like it used to be.

Michelangelo has so much energy that I can't even keep up with him. My brother helps out and plays with him for at least a half hour a day as well, but even still, it's not enough. He's a little spaz ball that wants to constantly play and I feel so bad when I'm trying to work and I can't entertain him. I have a feeling that his numbers would look better if he were getting the full amount exercise he so obviously needs. I've actually been thinking of getting another kitten and perhaps fostering an additional special needs cat (I don't think I have the time or money to be able to own two special needs cats). Does anyone have thoughts, suggestions, or advice about whether or not I should get another cat in the first place while already dealing with a diabetic kitten? Is there anything I need to be aware of or should think about?

Wendy&Tiggy said:
My pet sitter charges $25 for a 30min visit which includes testing, shooting, feeding, cleaning litter trays, and playtime etc. Maybe put a ? pet sitter in socal? in your title tomorrow and see if someone can recommend a sitter near you? Its a lot easier knowing a professional can do it! Mine did a great job when I was away getting married for two weeks.. every time she visited she sent an email with an update.. but in Canada she might be too far for you ;) Ask your vet too for a recommendation.

Dose - maybe one more cycle and then try upping the dose to 1.25. He isnt getting a lot of greens and you are doing enough testing to catch him if he looks like he might drop too far. The logic is below - you look at his nadirs to adjust dose. Kinda use an average of them, taking into account bouncing and looking for trends. For the last few cycles on this dose he has had more nadirs under 200 than anything and I guess we were kinda waiting to see if any more greens would appear after the latest bounce before changing dose.

Problem is of course that Mikey is an unknown entity being a kitten. Its fantastic you are doing such a good job with measuring him!

I should have asked here first about the cost for a pet sitter. :lol: I have another week before my trip, but even then, I don't think I'd feel comfortable with making a choice on a pet sitter in such a short amount of time. Since I'm only going to be gone for one full day, I'd rather go to that trouble another time.

I work from home tomorrow so I'll be able to monitor him when I bump him up to 1.25. I was really liking the blues and greens we were seeing and am disappointed they didn't stick around for long. Yesterday, he weighed in at 7.8 and he's been eating a TON these last two days. :YMSIGH: Another growth spurt is coming.... I think that's really the most difficult part in all this: the continual ups-and-downs. He seems like he might be stabilizing on a dose, but then...NOPE. Time to increase again. At least now I'm not worried I'm slowly killing him because I can't get him properly regulated. ;-)
 
Re: 12/5 Michelangelo AMPS 335 - Getting another cat?

I think getting another kitten would be a blast and Mickey would have a playmate. As far as a special needs cat, talk to Anne and Liz about a cat with cerebellar hyperplasia, like Zener. They may be a bit wobbly on their feet but beyond that, they wouldn't be any more costly than any other kitty. One of the members here does rescue for CH kitties.
 
Re: 12/5 Michelangelo AMPS 335 - Getting another cat?

I think getting another cat for him to play with is a great idea- sounds like he has a lot of energy (which is great - shows the insulin is working!) and to keep him company and he is still young enough to adapt well to another addition in the house.

I have two diabetic cats (tiggy and Bailey) and one civvie (Cookie). Obviously an extra special needs cat costs more and takes more time. My guys take it in turns keeping me up with low measurements at night. We adopted Tiggy as a kitten when Cookie was 5 because she was so playful and we thought she wanted a friend. Didnt work well - she tolerates him and thats it. They dont play, cuddle or anything. She still hisses when he gets within a few feet. But she has always been a nervous cat.And a female and I am told they tend to be less friendly. (My vet said "if you want a suck, get a boy")
Then when Tiggy went 7 we got Bailey (he was very sick 11 year old with diabetes and DH sister couldnt cope) and those two get on fairly well - they play together a lot and sleep fairly close together on the bed. They don't cuddle or groom either but they seem to be friends.
Cookie hates Bailey even more than Tiggy. He loves to chase her. She gets mad.
 
Re: 12/5 Michelangelo AMPS 335 - Getting another cat?

I'm not sure a CH kitty would be a good playmate for Michelangelo since the difference in physical abilities could be rather large. Our civie Tillie and Zener have never really played together because he isn't very coordinated and she can do a lot more than him. She tends to be a bit of a toy hog and likes to show off how skilled she is. :lol: He does chase her sometimes, with her encouragement, but the game doesn't last long. On the other hand, Zener is a real sweetheart and very affectionate. I think that's part of CH too. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 12/5 Michelangelo AMPS 335, PMPS 254 - Getting another c

I increased his dose tonight to 1.25u.

Thanks for all the suggestions and ideas. This is all very good to know and worth thinking about.

Anne & Zener said:
I'm not sure a CH kitty would be a good playmate for Michelangelo since the difference in physical abilities could be rather large. Our civie Tillie and Zener have never really played together because he isn't very coordinated and she can do a lot more than him. She tends to be a bit of a toy hog and likes to show off how skilled she is. :lol: He does chase her sometimes, with her encouragement, but the game doesn't last long. On the other hand, Zener is a real sweetheart and very affectionate. I think that's part of CH too. :-D
Liz

Michelangelo is pretty clumsy and uncoordinated himself. I actually half-jokingly mentioned to my brother once that we need to get those baby bumpers for our stairs because he'll come flying up/down them so fast that he tumbles all over himself. :lol: I think it's actually because he has the kitten equivalent of ADHD and just can't keep up with himself.

Wendy&Tiggy said:
I have two diabetic cats (tiggy and Bailey) and one civvie (Cookie). Obviously an extra special needs cat costs more and takes more time. My guys take it in turns keeping me up with low measurements at night. We adopted Tiggy as a kitten when Cookie was 5 because she was so playful and we thought she wanted a friend. Didnt work well - she tolerates him and thats it. They dont play, cuddle or anything. She still hisses when he gets within a few feet. But she has always been a nervous cat.And a female and I am told they tend to be less friendly. (My vet said "if you want a suck, get a boy")
Then when Tiggy went 7 we got Bailey (he was very sick 11 year old with diabetes and DH sister couldnt cope) and those two get on fairly well - they play together a lot and sleep fairly close together on the bed. They don't cuddle or groom either but they seem to be friends.
Cookie hates Bailey even more than Tiggy. He loves to chase her. She gets mad.

That is hilarious! I figure once we get through this difficult growing stage with Mikey, then I might re-evaluate ownership of a Special Needs cat, but by that time, he won't be a kitten any more and it'll be a lot harder to get him agreeable to having a playmate (just like Cookie). I also want him to continue getting the same level of attention from me, even with another cat, so I'll probably go for a regular kitten to start with just because Michelangelo already demands so much time and energy from me with his diabetes that instead of me being able to just add on New Kitten Time, another cat that has needs would also require me to take away from some of that Mikey Time.

Knowing my past pet ownership experience, I'll probably end up with the second diabetic kitten in existence. haha_smiley


Completely OT, but I just bought the ReliOn Prime today at Walmart and tested it out on myself in comparison with my already-bough ReliOn Micro and Accu-Check Nano. It's definitely off by about 10-15 points too low. For how often I test, the price of the test strips, however, makes the extra math and slight inaccuracy worth it.
Here's my results (I ran 4 tests to make sure):
  • Accu-Chek: 121, 121 (didn't bother wasting another 2 strips because they're so expensive)
  • Micro: 121, 121, 120, 121
  • Prime: 106, 118, 114, 113

[Note: I know my sugar is high but I literally just gave blood about an hour ago so I have OJ and cookies flowing through my remaining 8 pints of blood right now :lol: ]
 
Re: 12/5 Michelangelo AMPS 335, PMPS 254 - Getting another c

Hi Kay

Good luck with the increase. I think just getting a non-special needs kitten would be a great idea while Mikey is young. I got Tobey as a kitten when Gracie was 4 before she was FD. She was peeved at first but within a couple months, they became fast friends. Now at 2 and 6 , they play together almost nonstop. NAND when they aren't playing, they are just chilling together.
 
Re: 12/5 Michelangelo AMPS 335, PMPS 254 - Getting another c

Yay, save a death row kitty! I was always sorry I didn't adopt a playmate for Vyktor when he was young. He might not have grown up hating every critter that he meets, he even tried to attack a 5 day old kitten once :oops:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top