12/5 Maggie AMPS=127, +2=98, +6=93, PMPS=123, +2=90, +4=87

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alicia & Maggie (GA)

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...mps-104-2-85-4-98-7-87-pmps-111-2-107.187553/

Maggie got her snack last night at +8 instead of +9. DH needed to get to bed early and last time I used the auto feeder for the +9 snack she didn't eat any of it, so I told him to feed her at +8. So that's why we got a 127 BG... or it could be because she's a cat.

Do you think she can stress out enough waiting/pacing for food to raise her pre-shot BG 10-15 points? She can get pretty frantic in her pacing between the +9 snack and injection feeding, especially since she is bumping into things because of her vision loss. She does this whether she's in a confined space or allowed to roam freely.
 
It's possible the waiting for food could cause stress. If you leave food out for her instead of using the autofeeder, will she eat it right away? :bighug::bighug:
It's complicated because of her blindness. Since she's been blind, I don't have a specific place where I feed her, I bring food to her. So there's not a spot where she knows to look for food. If something was left out in the laundry room area where she stays at night she would either eat it right away or step in it, and then eat it! :rolleyes: In the afternoon, with free range of the house, between +9 and feeding time at injection she gets pretty antsy and is prone to pacing. I try to calm her down by petting her and putting her where she normally sleeps, but she's usually up and about several times within that period. She has always loved to eat (just like me! :smuggrin:) and has been very food motivated.
 
If this is the main thing keeping her from green AMPS I'm just wondering what I can do to fix it... :confused:

If you're willing to deal with the mess that would be the learning curve, perhaps you can bring food to her during the am cycle and leave the auto feeder in the same place, always, for the pm cycle. She should get used to figuring out where it is if it stays there consistently (but she'll probably step in it or not find it sometimes until she figures it out). If her hearing and sense of smell are still decent, that should help too. She could hear the feeder to know when food is coming and smell the food.

Since Asia lost her hearing, we've had to make small adjustment like putting a hand near her before disturbing her from sleep so she can smell us, or making sure she sees us coming in for a pet when she's awake. She doesn't startle this way. The consistency is what helps more than anything though. Toki didn't read the rule book on that, however, and comes at her out of nowhere. But at least she can anticipate goings on with the beans. :rolleyes:
 
If you're willing to deal with the mess that would be the learning curve, perhaps you can bring food to her during the am cycle and leave the auto feeder in the same place, always, for the pm cycle. She should get used to figuring out where it is if it stays there consistently (but she'll probably step in it or not find it sometimes until she figures it out). If her hearing and sense of smell are still decent, that should help too. She could hear the feeder to know when food is coming and smell the food.
Yes, using the auto feeder more consistently would teach her where to find it at night for those times we need to use it, thanks! I think what's keeping her from the green AMPS is the stress of thinking she needs to eat in those 2-3 hours before injection. I used to feed her up to +10, but she still got antsy for those last two hours. IDK

Toki didn't read the rule book on that, however, and comes at her out of nowhere.
Oh, I bet Toki loves that advantage! :smuggrin: Poor Asia... :eek:
 
The AMPS is the most difficult to "control"!
I have no idea whether I've mentioned it previously (forgive me if I have....I have a lot of "seniors" moments these days lol) but when Boomer was on an itsy bitsy amount of juice and I was trying to lower the AMPS I gave him a bit more food at +9 instead of just a snack. My logic was that, if the pancreas was working, more food would make it work harder and hopefully bring down the BG. It did work with Boomer.
 
I have a lot of "seniors" moments these days lol
I can relate! :D You did suggest this ;), so I've been giving larger +9s, but maybe they need to be a little larger.
She just might decide she wants to be at this dose a while. That’s ok.
Stubborn cat! Okay, I'll try to chill out... :D Glad you checked in with us, thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top