12/5 Klinger AMPS 510 4u; dropped 400 pts; PMPS 557

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Morning,
Hope everyone had a great night...
My house was freezing this morning when I woke up. I left the space heater on and the thermostat wasn't registering the correct temp. Brrr. It was a crisp 61 degrees.

AMPS 510 4u

Nancy, thank's for the dosing recommendation in my last post. I'll keep it to .2 u increments until we reach 5 u.

Have a nice Sunday! I have to get my Christmas cards done. This month is flying!
 
Re: 12/5 Klinger AMPS 510 4u

Good Morning,

Brrrrr! Don't do that again.

Glad you're home today, I would keep testing that +2 100 point drop, he hasn't had a steep early drop lately, it looks promising I'd like to see what he does today.

Have fun doing your Christmas cards.
 
Re: 12/5 Klinger AMPS 510 4u; excessive poop; vomit 194 @ 3.

I don't know if the miralax kicked in or if he ate something bad. The poo is formed - not liquid or runny. He went about 3 times, puked once, pooped twice more - all different sittings. We came back up from the basement (lb) about 10 minutes later - tested him at 193 - retested 194. He ate on his own accord and then cleaned his face. He tested negative for ketones.
Will obviously continue to test him.
 
Re: 12/5 Klinger AMPS 510 4u; excessive poop; vomit 194 @ 3.

Yikes, well this is going to throw off the rest of your week.

I would encourage him to eat a little bit more, you need to slow that drop.
 
Re: 12/5 Klinger AMPS 510 4u; excessive poop; vomit 194 @ 3.

+ 6.25 176

Will continue to test to make sure it's not just a food spike and he doesn't drop again.
 
Re: 12/5 Klinger AMPS 510 4u; excessive poop; vomit 194 @ 3.

Glad to see that he's coming back up. I agree to keep testing.

It looks like 4 units is more than he needs now, I would drop his dose back to 3.8u he was starting to show some progress with that dose. I'm guessing that you will see some really high numbers for a few cycles now but don't react to it and want to shoot more insulin, it is just his liver panicking from the steep drop and dumping sugar to protect himself from what his body is seeing as a hypo

This is why I advocate the unpopular belief of holding a dose longer than a few cycles or days.

Marcy you did a great job today.
 
Re: 12/5 Klinger AMPS 510 4u; excessive poop; vomit 194 @ 3.

The multiple poop is probably that he finally is passing the food with the miralax in it.

I can tell who's poop I find because Cody's miralax poop is lighter colored and kind of like playdoh, a little sticky.

Also sometimes I get vomit when they strain to poop- I guess the whole GI tract is spasming or something.

Hopefully if you are holding a measured miralax dose, you will soon see if it needs decreasing or increasing.
 
Re: 12/5 Klinger AMPS 510 4u; excessive poop; vomit 194 @ 3.

Wow, those are some nice numbers! Too bad it came with lots of poop and puke. I hope his system is all cleaned out now. Cuddling a kitty is one of the best ways to stay warm, but too bad they're not so good at helping with Christmas cards.
 
Re: 12/5 Klinger AMPS 510 4u; excessive poop; vomit 194 @ 3.

He's sooooo relieved that his numbers are lower! ?? That would be cool if that's what was going on. Very fixable.
 
Re: 12/5 Klinger AMPS 510 4u; excessive poop; vomit 194 @ 3.

+7.25 250
+8 328

Ok. That was fun. NOT!

Thanks for all the support. Robin, I think I will cut back to 3.8 u.

I put off doing my cards...maybe I could teach the kitty to put on the stamps. That would be helpful. :lol:
I think I need some chocolate!
 
Re: 12/5 Klinger AMPS 510 4u; excessive poop; vomit 194 @ 3.

You deserve some chocolate after today and I might wash it down with a glass of wine. :-D
 
PMPS 557
It's only 20 points higher than it was last night. Suprised he didn't register HI. - Not that 557 isn't high.

He's acting normal, ate fine....going with 3.8u.
Have a great night!
 
That's plenty high. Try to get a test in before bed tonight, ok?

I was thinking about the drop he had today and kitties are much more sensitive to insulin after a hypo event, not that you had a hypo event but his body probably thinks he did.

If he is lower tomorrow morning I'd drop his dose even lower to like 3.6u. Unless of course he's alot lower like that 235 I would decrease by 1/3 to 1/2 the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top