12/5 - Gen, AMPS >400, +3 307, +4 278, +5 328 Libre

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

New Libre continues to work well, and Gen came and snuggled with me in bed, so I seem to be forgiven for the wrestling match. ❤️ His numbers continue to be sky high, ugh, and I hate not knowing what those two Libre-less cycles looked like. Also it is in the single digits outside here today, but it was 78F in my apartment when I left (a very unpleasant transition!), and I am a little worried that he won't be inclined to eat much during the day (numbers aside, he needs the nutrition). At least I can keep an eye on him as far as BG goes again.

He was so purry and snuggly this morning; it was really hard to leave. The idea of cameras is tempting, but I just dropped so much money on uninsured sensors; they're $89/each at CVS (I was able to get two this time, so I have a spare). I'm really broke. We can do without them for now - maybe in the new year.

"Hey, why are you taking a photo instead of petting me continuously?! AHEM."
PXL_20251205_131920648.jpg

(Please ignore the obvious mess piled up behind him. Everything has been so much lately ... I am behind on housework.)
 
He really doesn't seem to love having his picture taken! I can't resist doing it, but I get more than my fair share of grumpy face shots (which isn't really a great representation of his attitude overall). 😅
 
Yesterday

New Libre continues to work well, and Gen came and snuggled with me in bed, so I seem to be forgiven for the wrestling match. ❤️ His numbers continue to be sky high, ugh, and I hate not knowing what those two Libre-less cycles looked like. Also it is in the single digits outside here today, but it was 78F in my apartment when I left (a very unpleasant transition!), and I am a little worried that he won't be inclined to eat much during the day (numbers aside, he needs the nutrition). At least I can keep an eye on him as far as BG goes again.

He was so purry and snuggly this morning; it was really hard to leave. The idea of cameras is tempting, but I just dropped so much money on uninsured sensors; they're $89/each at CVS (I was able to get two this time, so I have a spare). I'm really broke. We can do without them for now - maybe in the new year.

"Hey, why are you taking a photo instead of petting me continuously?! AHEM."
View attachment 75555
(Please ignore the obvious mess piled up behind him. Everything has been so much lately ... I am behind on housework.)
Wrestling match.🤣
I'd ask who won, but he's wearing his cute little shirt.
As for the libre systems. I don't know if this still works, but this was shown to me when I mentioned they were too costly to consider.
 
Wrestling match.🤣
I'd ask who won, but he's wearing his cute little shirt.
As for the libre systems. I don't know if this still works, but this was shown to me when I mentioned they were too costly to consider.
Sadly I am having a very hard time with the coupon - there are posts there on that thread and on mine from yesterday about it, but yesterday an Abbott rep told me it can't be used in my state at all. (The coupon itself contradicts that, so the issue remains open, but I'm going to need a break before I do another hour+ on hold.)

I wish I were exaggerating about the wrestling match part!
 
Sadly I am having a very hard time with the coupon - there are posts there on that thread and on mine from yesterday about it, but yesterday an Abbott rep told me it can't be used in my state at all. (The coupon itself contradicts that, so the issue remains open, but I'm going to need a break before I do another hour+ on hold.)

I wish I were exaggerating about the wrestling match part!
You anywhere closer to a state line? I'm guessing not, at no one with any shirt if good luck is in this forum.😅 But if you were, could be worth trying.
I have 2 cats I have to pill daily. One is easier. The other (funnily enough named Angel-haha), I have to wrap my body around her. I get it
 
You anywhere closer to a state line? I'm guessing not, at no one with any shirt if good luck is in this forum.😅 But if you were, could be worth trying.
I have 2 cats I have to pill daily. One is easier. The other (funnily enough named Angel-haha), I have to wrap my body around her. I get it
I mean, it's not an easy trip, but it's not impossible. I suppose I could try heading to a pharmacy in Rhode Island sometime. I'm not sure it would work though, since my home address would be the same (the restriction is for Massachusetts residents, at least according to the rep I talked to). And it would sure look pretty weird (taking a substantial trip to go to a pharmacy even though I live in a major city with tons of them), so they might well be paying close attention to the details.

Yeah, I basically had to pin him between my knees, and getting to that point involved some very dramatic flailing. (This time I was smart and took
@Staci & Ivy 's advice to wear a heavy sweatshirt, so no more bleeding scratches at least.) I don't like it and I don't think it's good for him (or me). I'm hoping the gaba will help and then we can maybe build the habit so he's less upset about it.
 
Have you tried Costco? We get Indy's sensor's from Costco for $35 each. Don't know if that is an option for you.
That seems to be the best option from what I've seen around here, yeah! I don't have a membership (it doesn't make sense for me really, as a bike commuter I can't buy much in bulk and it's a not inconsiderable hike to the nearest one), but getting there occasionally is an option. If they'll let me use the pharmacy without a membership, that's likely what I'll do.

(If they won't let me use the pharmacy, I may see if I know anyone who has a membership who can help me out.)
 
Hi Allie, Have you given any more thought to TR, especially now with the CGM and your ability to monitor so much more frequently. If you switch to TR, you get to take dose increases more frequently and hold them longer, which can get those higher numbers down more quickly. You can always switch back to SLGS if you don't like TR. Just a thought. Also, have you read the TR-study information? It's located just below the TR heading on the dosing page: Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
 
Hi Allie, Have you given any more thought to TR, especially now with the CGM and your ability to monitor so much more frequently. If you switch to TR, you get to take dose increases more frequently and hold them longer, which can get those higher numbers down more quickly. You can always switch back to SLGS if you don't like TR. Just a thought. Also, have you read the TR-study information? It's located just below the TR heading on the dosing page: Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
I have indeed! The main problem is that Gen's still eating dry food, which disqualifies him from TR, and I'm not ready to make that move yet. (I just made a post about dry food over in the "main" forum which goes into why, in hopes of getting some thoughts and perspectives from others.)
 
You can use the Costco pharmacy without a membership, but I don't believe the prescription discounts are the same as a Costco membership provides. I would consider calling and asking for a price check before you make the trek. That said, we do use the pharmacy there (with our membership) and pay $35 per device.

Edit: The membership basically pays for itself purely in Libre savings, though, if you're in it for the long haul with the Libres. We were quoted $75 per device at a local independent pharmacy so that $40-every-two-weeks savings adds up FAST. They also offer prescription delivery with a ~$10 fee which is handy--our vet sends an rx for 5 devices directly to Costco, then we can get them delivered without ever stepping foot in the store. Definitely not trying to pressure you, just thought it was worth mentioning to give you more to think about.
 
You can use the Costco pharmacy without a membership, but I don't believe the prescription discounts are the same as a Costco membership provides. I would consider calling and asking for a price check before you make the trek. That said, we do use the pharmacy there (with our membership) and pay $35 per device.

Edit: The membership basically pays for itself purely in Libre savings, though, if you're in it for the long haul with the Libres. We were quoted $75 per device at a local independent pharmacy so that $40-every-two-weeks savings adds up FAST. They also offer prescription delivery with a ~$10 fee which is handy--our vet sends an rx for 5 devices directly to Costco, then we can get them delivered without ever stepping foot in the store. Definitely not trying to pressure you, just thought it was worth mentioning to give you more to think about.
That ... is a really good point about membership, and I will look into it.

(I was thinking I'd try making the trip with a friend with a membership, to see what the differences might be. But that might not even be important, given what you say. Like I said, CVS has been charging me $89. $35 would be a significant improvement!)
 
Back
Top