12/5 Ella pmps 410 +3.5=344 Advice needed:)

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=84453&p=906055#p906055

Thanks to Wendy, Ella, Amy and Ann for the visits yesterday;) I gave lot's of scritches to Ella from all of you!

I'm a bit baffled over here. It seems to me that Ella is breaking her bounces during her am shot time which makes it challenging to know whether it is safe to shoot the full amount as I don't have the flexibility to stay with her. I knew I was shooting a dropping number this morning so I gave her a BCS of 2u as opposed to 3u she has been getting. Things were looking a bit hairy as the new dose was kicking in so I panicked and left her out some dry which she promptly gobbled up (reminder: she doesn't eat hc wet on her own). Does anyone have any tips on how to deal with bounces that break before a shot? I could stall but then that would throw off the timing of the shots and I like to get a +2 before I leave in the morning. Any advice would be greatly appreciated:)

Thanks!
 
Re: 12/5 Ella pmps 410 Advice needed:)

Hi Tamara,
I don't have an answer, but I'll bump you up so that someone else might be able to help you.

EllaKitty: why do you have to confound your mamabean so??

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/5 Ella pmps 410 Advice needed:)

Maybe now that you bcs, her bounces will break in the evening instead and allow you to watch what she is doing without having to worry (except about lack if sleep).
It was nice to see some greens today, shame you had to give HC.

If it was me I would shoot the normal dose and measure two hours later and if she was looking low and I couldn't be around then leave her with some higher carb. Try and find an amount of higher carb that will take her up a bit, but not so much that it will damage your hardworking as chances are she is likely going to bounce again anyway!
 
Thanks for the visits Ella and Wendy:)

Wendy, it is a shame that I needed to leave her out the hc dry but unfortunately, the only wet she eats is her lc. I've tried so many varieties but she is a one formula cat, unless kibble is involved ohmygod_smile
I hope my BCS disrupts the pattern a bit. I'd feel a lot more confident if I knew how low got without the help of the dry.
I'm hoping I can get her to the weekend on 3 u so I can see what it does when I'm home to monitor.
 
The only thing I can suggest is to try to get a +11 or +11.5 to see if numbers are dropping at shot time. You an then either give a BCS dose or see where the numbers are at if you shoot and test at +1. You can then bump up the numbers with HC while you're home.

As far as the HC canned food, are you using a gravy-type food? You could always try the Wellness Sardine, Shrimp & Crab food which is 16% carb and not a gravy food unless you don't give Ella fish products. Gravy upsets Gabby's stomach so I use her regular LC food and add a few drops of honey or Karo. Since it would be Ella's usual food, there's a better chance she'll eat what you leave for her.
 
Good luck on switching Ella's cycles to when you can test. I've tried everything from doing increases in the AM vs. PM to pleading, no success so far. :lol: Nice :mrgreen: :mrgreen: this morning, just too bad on the timing.

Do you get two weeks off at Christmas? That would be great time to get Ella back on track.
 
You could try grinding up some kibble into powder and literally sprinkling a small pinch of it onto wet higher carb. I do this for my boys but I use ground up freeze dried chicken powdered which they love. Or fortiflora sprinkle on top, some cats love that.
 
Thanks for stopping by Rhiannon,Wendy and Sienne:)

The last few evenings I've woken up to get +9,10 and 11's and I think it's probably the best strategy to use right now. At this point I don't want to do too many big chicken shots as I want her shed to be full for the weekend so I can see where this dose takes her. If I have to give her dry then I will as she's better off high than low.

Af far as the gravies go, she won't have any of them. She doesn't like any other wet food than her lc. I've tried the wellness and it's a no go. I worry about the syrup not lasting long enough if she's dropping fast so I give her the dry.
 
Hi Tamara, havent talked to you for long time. Just a thought; are you using the auto feeder? If Ella is coming down faster than expected at +2, is it possible to feed her the desired lc+ karo to boost her up a bit. Then set the auto feeder with the lc+ karo in mini portion. Since it's only the lc she'll eat on her own & dry knibble is our last resort, then you have to use lc+karo.
 
Tamara

When Gracie was on lantus, she was also one that would slide all cycle and give me a low PS and would continue down after and then head up. I started checking her right before +10 and I'd she was sliding and was low, I'd feed her before +10. That would stop her from dropping but I wasn't shooting a food high because Id be sure she was done eating by +10. It helped us. But what ultimately helped was switching to lev.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top