12/5 Duncan AMPS 319, +7 284, +9.5 265 PMPS 295 YELLOW DAY!

Status
Not open for further replies.

SaraM2261

Member Since 2011
Still seeing high numbers from Duncan this morning. He is now in his 6th cycle. Hoping for some action from the insulin today. He had some dry food over night but I intend to feed him 90% wet from now on.
 
Re: 12/5 Duncan +12 327, AMPS 319

Hi Sara and Duncan,
We haven't visited your condo yet, so just wanted to stop in and say welcome. You are doing a fine job and I hope that you will see some action from the insulin soon. It takes a while to build up the Lantus shed. Until the shed is full, most of the insulin is going into the shed and not yet available to work on Dunan's blood glucose. Cutting out the dry food will help greatly. Have patience and please be sure to ask any questions you might have as you go along. Someone will always be here to help.

Have a good day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/5 Duncan +12 327, AMPS 319

Actually, you've given Duncan 7 shots so he's started his 7th cycle. It also looks like you've seen a drop in numbers at +1. I would be attentive this cycle -- it looks like the insulin is starting to do it's job and the shed is full!! Ordinarily, you would expect to see your +1 number be higher than your pre-shot and the +2 would be about the same. That's the "ideal" cycle. When you see numbers that are lower than your PS this early in the cycle, it's a signal that numbers may continue to drop. I would encourage you to get either a +2 or a +3 so you have an idea where the cycle is going and how quickly Duncan wants to get there!
 
Re: 12/5 Duncan +12 327, AMPS 319

Hi guys .. we also haven't stopped into duncan's condo before, so welcome from us! Nice seeing ducan is coming down already this morning .. hoping you see yellows at next spot check! Have a great day!
 
Re: 12/5 Duncan +12 327, AMPS 319, +1.5 288, +3 247

Houston, we have insulin!!
The shed is full and we have true action in the numbers!!!! I am so excited!!!
My intention is to fill my chart today and possibly tomorrow to see where his nadir is and then check on that the rest of the week.
 
Re: 12/5 Duncan +12 327, AMPS 319, +1.5 288, +3 247, +5 ???

Got a weird number so I tested 4 strips (2 sticks) and then did an average???
I am thinking the low number was an outlier?
326, 314, 265, 319 (right in a row, only 1 minute in between if that.)
So, I am saying his number is 306?? If I toss out the 265 (it was the smallest amount of blood, and the blood was very light red compared to the other samples?) it would be 319.6 which would make the last reading actually an accurate one. (And the one that had the most blood.)

Let me know if that all sounds right to you guys.

I got so mad when I saw that 3 that I had to check the meter and see if it was really that high/climbing again...
Will keep filling the chart today in case it was a bounce.

Thanks for your help!
 
Re: 12/5 Duncan AMPS 319, +1.5 288, +3 247, +5 319, +7 284

Hi Sara,

Doing what we do, we end up very focused on the numbers. In actuality there is a 20% variance between meter readings. The same meter, testing the same drop of blood can give a reading of 100 or 80 or 120 and it’s all in the range of acceptance. All of those numbers you got are in that range. I know I find it frustrating, I want exact. But there you go, it’s not.
 
Re: 12/5 Duncan AMPS 319, +1.5 288, +3 247, +5 319, +7 284

Hey Linda and Weezer,
Thanks for confirming with me about the meter readings. The only thing I think I can at least control is getting a good size drop of blood to sample. :)

I see weezer got some big change with switching the type of meter!
Can you tell me what you were using and why you switched? I am guessing you feel you are getting a more accurate reading with the relion micro??
 
Re: 12/5 Duncan AMPS 319, +1.5 288, +3 247, +5 319, +7 284

I was using the FreeStlye Lite and Weezer's SS looked like a sea of yellow. Then there was this discussion on Morgaine's condo. So I got a ReLion Micro and suddenly Weezer's SS turned into a flood of pink. That was quite an emotional adjustment to make. The definite word for me on all of this is the results we got at the vet's office today. The same sample of blood was tested using the professional VetTest (415), the ReLion (319), and the FreeStyle Lite (240). The ReLion does give a more accurate result, but the glucose meters available to consumers just aren't that accurate at the higher levels. It's crazy making! Good luck with Duncan.
 
Re: 12/5 Duncan AMPS 319, +7 284, +9.5 265 YELLOW DAY!

Duncan is off to a great start! I would definitely hold this dose for at least a couple more days to see what it can do. Good job so far!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top