12/5 Cobb AMPS 405 +4 447 +7 504 PMPS 507 +2 417

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

So we upped to 3u last night. We surfed in the pink until +6. Sorry there are no numbers after that...as you can see I was up every 2 hours until 2am dealing with him and a cranky baby.

Cobb seems to be feeling well today. All the P's seem to be in place. He was hungry this morning, but I gave him a few pieces of chicken to tide him over until shot time. He seems to like the watered down wet food. He was more cooperative this morning with his ear prick. I switched to a 30gauge needle since his ears are bleeding pretty well and I need a great deal less blood than with the iPet meter. I've been successful at getting drops with one stick on BOTH ears since Tuesday!

OT - To those who suggested the teething tablets, I think they worked better than the night before. I didn't wake up to wailing, but he was still crying a lot. I guess that's what teething plus a growth spurt does to a baby's sleep. Of course , somehow, he wakes up this morning all bright eyed and smiley, and I am dragging!
 
Re: 12/5 Cobb AMPS 405

Great job on the ear tests...and both ears now!! Fingers and paws crossed the dosecrease helps bring him down from the pink floor. It is no fun up there Cobb :-D
Hopefully baby bean lets you get a little more sleep tonight ;-)
Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 12/5 Cobb AMPS 405 +4 447 +7 504

Ok. These numbers really don't make any sense! Could I have missed him dip too far overnight and he be bouncing today? Or is it not enough of a jump to say it's a bounce? Am I doing something wrong?
 
Re: 12/5 Cobb AMPS 405 +4 447 +7 504

There may be some "New Dose Wonkiness" operating. When you raise the dose and the numbers go up vs. down, it's referred to as NDW. Let's see how Cobb's numbers look after tonight.
 
Re: 12/5 Cobb AMPS 405 +4 447 +7 504 PMPS 507

Boo Cobb! What's with the streak of high numbers after this early morning's lower 300s?? Obviously my discussion with him didn't have any impact, so we had another talk tonight. He didn't seem much more interested than he was last time. He really just wanted his dinner. :roll:

Oh well...I'll get a few readings tonight. Hopefully we'll see some lower numbers. If not, looks like another dosecrease will be warranted tomorrow night. :sad:
 
Re: 12/5 Cobb AMPS 405 +4 447 +7 504 PMPS 507 ???

Question: is it possible that since I've been rolling this vial of Lantus that it is ineffective?? Just curious...
 
Re: 12/5 Cobb AMPS 405 +4 447 +7 504 PMPS 507 ???

Hi Suzanne,
Lantus doesn't like to be "shook up", but I doubt that a few days of inadvertent rolling the vial will hurt it. If it is clear (not cloudy), it's probably fine. I assume it is a relatively new vial. I agree with the others that you should let this new dose settle in before raising it again. Follow the protocol. It takes a few cycles for the Lantus "shed" to re-build after a dose change. And some of the insulin is going into building the shed and therefore is not available to work on the blood glucose (at least that's my understanding).

Good job on getting both ears to bleed!

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/5 Cobb AMPS 405 +4 447 +7 504 PMPS 507 ???

No. Actually we're coming to the end of our first vial of Lantus. I've been rolling it since mid-Septembrr/early October. We're about due for another vial here shortly - within the next week or two. It is still clear though...at least I think so. I haven't notice anything floating around or cloudiness.

I'm definitely sticking with the dose through the 4 cycles. It's just disappointing to be putting in this much time and effort (on mine and Cobb's part) only to see little change in the numbers. I'm sure we'll find the right dose soon. I just wish it were sooner rather than later.
 
Re: 12/5 Cobb AMPS 405 +4 447 +7 504 PMPS 507 ???

As long as you don't see "floaties" (clear particles floating in the solution), your insulin should be fine. Like Ella said, Lantus shouldn't be rolled or shaken. Unlike some of the other types of insulin, Lantus is a solution whereas other insulins are suspensions that require that you "remix" them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top