12/5/19 Stasiu PMPS 344

JoannaDV1

Member Since 2019
Thought we were making progress with 6U, so I have been holding the dose there. After today's numbers, thinking to go to 6.25U. Thoughts?
 
Hi Joanna, sorry I can't give you dosing advice but if you put a question mark in your thread title, you'll get some experienced eyes on you.
Also, my response will bump you up to the top. :)
 
Are you doing SLGS or TR? It “looks” like TR but I’d like to know for sure. You’ll need to please add it to your signature block and also the SS at the top.

Without knowing how low he’s going, I won’t guess on what the dose should be. He was headed down on 12/4 and there are no other tests....not even a PMPS. I know someone has probably already said this to you but you should not skip the PS tests. He could be at 40 and you could shoot a full dose; that puts him at great risk when you are shooting insulin without a PS.

Joanna....if you are using the ReliOn all the time now, I can reformat the existing SS for the human meter and also add the correct template tab. But I’ll need editing rights so if you can please PM me, I can help you with all of that.
 
What Marge said. Many kitties, including my own, went a lot lower at night, then bounce during the day. Daytime numbers said “needs more insulin”, night time numbers said “reduce”. If we had the data to say 6 units is not enough insulin, and we don’t at this point in time, the next increase would be by 0.5 units to 6.5. Can you get a couple more nights worth of data? Even a preshot and a +4 for example?

At this point in a kitties diabetes journey (6 units), we suggest getting tested for secondary endocrine conditions that can mean kitty needs a higher dose, usually over 6 units, one of acromegaly, IAA or insulin auto antibodies, or Cushings is present. One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly, which is caused by a benign pituitary tumour that sends out excess growth hormone, and in turn causes the diabetes. The other conditions are less common. My girl had both acromegaly and IAA.
 
Are you doing SLGS or TR? It “looks” like TR but I’d like to know for sure. You’ll need to please add it to your signature block and also the SS at the top.

Without knowing how low he’s going, I won’t guess on what the dose should be. He was headed down on 12/4 and there are no other tests....not even a PMPS. I know someone has probably already said this to you but you should not skip the PS tests. He could be at 40 and you could shoot a full dose; that puts him at great risk when you are shooting insulin without a PS.

Joanna....if you are using the ReliOn all the time now, I can reformat the existing SS for the human meter and also add the correct template tab. But I’ll need editing rights so if you can please PM me, I can help you with all of that.
I would say that I am doing TR.
Unfortunately, when I work 12 hour shifts at the hospital, my husband has to give the insulin and is never successful with getting a sugar prior to feeding- hence, when there is no value prior to the evening shot- that is the case. I’ve told him to try to get the sugar and know to not shoot without one- but he’s not good at it for some reason. And I’m not a night person and don’t stay up late to get many post evening shot sugars. Sometimes I get a +2, but am usually asleep when I would get a +4. This is practically a full time job and my nurse job isn’t conducive to getting sugars all the time, everyday. I am trying my best, and it still doesn’t seem to be enough.
 
What Marge said. Many kitties, including my own, went a lot lower at night, then bounce during the day. Daytime numbers said “needs more insulin”, night time numbers said “reduce”. If we had the data to say 6 units is not enough insulin, and we don’t at this point in time, the next increase would be by 0.5 units to 6.5. Can you get a couple more nights worth of data? Even a preshot and a +4 for example?

At this point in a kitties diabetes journey (6 units), we suggest getting tested for secondary endocrine conditions that can mean kitty needs a higher dose, usually over 6 units, one of acromegaly, IAA or insulin auto antibodies, or Cushings is present. One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly, which is caused by a benign pituitary tumour that sends out excess growth hormone, and in turn causes the diabetes. The other conditions are less common. My girl had both acromegaly and IAA.
My vet did mention those conditions. It seems if he has one of them, he would need the higher dose anyways. I guess my point with that is why test for those when the solution is a higher dose?
 
The reason to test, is that there may be treatments. But you have to know which condition you are dealing with first. The knowledge might also change dosing strategies and let you know to look for certain secondary symptoms. For example, since I knew Neko had acromegaly, her dental vet saved a canine tooth. She had some red on her gums, but it was due to soft tissue growth making a tooth rub, instead of a bad tooth. Acros often have heart conditions, something that is important to know should you ever have to give fluids. Just a couple examples.
 
I would say that I am doing TR.
Unfortunately, when I work 12 hour shifts at the hospital, my husband has to give the insulin and is never successful with getting a sugar prior to feeding- hence, when there is no value prior to the evening shot- that is the case. I’ve told him to try to get the sugar and know to not shoot without one- but he’s not good at it for some reason. And I’m not a night person and don’t stay up late to get many post evening shot sugars. Sometimes I get a +2, but am usually asleep when I would get a +4. This is practically a full time job and my nurse job isn’t conducive to getting sugars all the time, everyday. I am trying my best, and it still doesn’t seem to be enough.
Do you have a time you can work with him on this to show him? There are alot of good videos to help teach someone if it’s easier for him to learn from someone other than you. My husband and I both learned together from a youtube video. Once he did it a few times, he’d get the the hang of it. Perhaps if you could explain to him how shooting without testing is putting Stasiu at risk, he’d try and learn from you. That way, he can also help test when you need to get to bed.

Yes...you are correct that FD takes some time and it must be especially challenging with your schedule but we’d like to help however we can so Stasiu stays safe. We completely understand that you are doing your very best for your boy and we want to support you and your husband.
 
Back
Top