12/4Billie PMPS 61 +1.75 51 +2.25 49 +3 61 +4 65 +5 118

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129410

Hello. I'm freaking out a bit. Today's AM cycle was a long slide down to green. I wasn't sure if I was going to shoot at PMPS or not. I stalled without feeding, and I got the same number a half hour later (60 and 61). So, I decided to shoot. It seemed like she was stable/done dropping.

Now I am breaking out the ice cream. I have been giving her small amounts of bacon and maple syrup and/or HC gravy with the tests in the 40s, but she is no longer interested in that, and I'm nervous enough to go for the ice cream. She ate a regular LC meal at PMPS and had some more LC at +1.75 although not too much.

So far, it seems like the HC snacks are keeping her sort of "surfing" - I am hoping I can keep her safe and don't have to run to the vet. She has not hit any unsafe numbers (yet...paws crossed) but I know that she would not be in good shape if I were not carbing her up.

I'll be testing like crazy and continuing with the HC. Of course I am second guessing myself and wishing I hadn't shot, especially considering the effects of the depot from the higher dose at play ohmygod_smile but hopefully it works out okay.

ETA: She is back up to 61 at +3. It looks like the ice cream is doing the trick but I'm not letting my guard down, of course.

Does this count as another reducie earned, or should I hold the most recent reducie dose of 2.0 since it has only been 3 cycles?
 
Re: 12/4Billie PMPS 61 +1.25 45 +1.75 51 +2.25 49 +2.75 47 +

as far as her low numbers go, just keep doing what you're doing. I think i'd decide on dose after seeing how tonight plays out - i wouldn't carb her when she's over 50 as long as you can keep this up, just to let her stay green as long as possible.

for dose, my thought is that there are a couple factors. One is the human component - are you around tomorrow after you shoot? if you are worn out from tonight and couldn't face another low number night, then I'd take another reduction.

the other factor is how hard you're having to work tonight. It's great that she's surfing along in greens, although a little higher would be nice.

She may very well bounce from today. If she bounces by morning, you might want to hold the dose at 2.0 and see what happens.

I would think it's likely the previous dose's depot has played a part in today's green numbers. It's a little bit soon to take another reduction, but on the other hand if you feel like you're working really hard to keep her up, or you can't monitor her tomorrow, then i'd take another reduction. You can always go back up.

She's had a few failed reductions, so one more option would be to shave the dose:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
 
Re: 12/4Billie PMPS 61 +1.75 51 +2.25 49 +2.75 47 +3 61 +3.5

Thank you Julie!! I will see how tonight goes and think about the options. I haven't carbed her since the 47 at +2.75 when I broke out the ice cream...I did accidentally carb Brooklyn, because I left out a plate of bacon and maple syrup that Billie rejected, and I walked in to find Brooklyn licking it clean ohmygod_smile Both cats got tasty treats tonight.

+4 65 without any food or carbs in over an hour. Phew. I was super freaked out when we had 40s early in the cycle and I was fighting to keep her up, but I am feeling better now. I may have overcarbed her, but it was tricky. The carbs were keeping her surfing/keeping her from dropping but they were not bringing her up at all until the generous serving of ice cream. I have never had to fight to keep her up like that, and I was scared that she was going to go lower when +3 and +4 came around, so this is a relief. I'll give her a little poke break. She has been so patient with all the pokes...I'm sure the ice cream and bacon helps.
 
Re: 12/4Billie PMPS 61 +1.75 51 +2.25 49 +3 61 +3.5 54 +4 65

+5 118...here comes the bounce. I think I will stick with the 2.0u and see how that goes.
 
i don't know how many carbs are in bacon, but it might or might not make a difference to blood sugar. Probably depends on the particular bacon.

Looking at your narrative, I'm not sure about the timing of the carbs. It sounds like you gave HC gravy/syupr at +2.25/49 and then after the +3/61 gave ice cream. Is that right?

I found with punkin that it really took 30 minute for the carbs to hit his bloodstream and show up in a test. Tests in 15 minutes didn't show any change and might still be going down. at 20 minutes i could see it stabilizing and at 30 minutes i could usually see a rise. So I'm thinking that the syrup/gravy may have been working but just not as quickly as you were expecting. Might be something to note for the future.

Hoping you get some sleep tonight!
 
Thanks Ella and Julie!

The bacon doesn't have carbs, but I put maple syrup on top of the bacon to basically use it as a carb vessel. :lol: It works for Billie!

I gave either bacon and gravy or bacon and maple syrup at +1.25, +1.75, +2.25, and then I pulled out the big guns and gave the ice cream at +2.75 when I got the 47. That was the last carb and last feeding for Billie. The 61 happened after the ice cream. I didn't give anything when I got the 61, and she hasn't eaten since. I left some LC out, but she must be full.

Sorry if my time table was confusing! I'll note it in my spreadsheet. Basically, between +1.25 and +2.75, she needed HC every 30 minutes to keep her numbers from dropping. And they didn't come up even with the HC - they just stayed stable.
 
Whew, Deanna. Billie's sure giving you a ride today. Hang on tight! Those 40's sure do bring up our blood pressure. And that 30 minute wait between tests lasts sooooooooooooooo long!

Hope you guys all have a quiet night. Although I'm sure Brooklyn wouldn't mind a few more carb loaded treats!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top