12/4 Tidus AMPS 291

Status
Not open for further replies.

miso00

Member Since 2011
yesterday's condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=84419#p905684

Due to losing car keys last night and not getting home until 2:30am, I missed Tidus' PM shot. I had increased him at AM shot to 2.75. What dose should I give him this morning, 2.75u?

Also he went to the internal med. vet yesterday and started on predisolone 5mg BID and we will be switching him to PZI insulin later this week.
 
Re: 12/4 Tidus DOSING ADVICE NEEDED, MISSED PM SHOT

What is the prednisolone for and why does the vet want you to switch to PZI? (And is this vet familiar with Lantus and Lev? Usually, they switch due to their comfort or familiarity with the insulin. When Gabby was first diagnosed, the IM vet put her on Humulin N -- a better insulin for dogs than cats.)
 
Re: 12/4 Tidus DOSING ADVICE NEEDED, MISSED PM SHOT

I'm also curious as to why the switch to PZI insulin than using the Lantus. When Blackie was first diagnosed, we tried 2 other treatments before the ProZinc, and it didn't work for her. We kept going up in doses, and the last amount on ProZinc that she was on was 8u BID... My vet now knows that Lantus works very well on those cases that are hard to regulate. I hope that your vet will reconsider keeping Tidus on Levemir or Lantus. I have a feeling that he won't respond as well on ProZinc as he will on the other 2 insulins. You may need keep following the protocol and go up in doses to see anything happen. Good luck, though, and I look forward to your updates, and if anything, follow your own gut feelings. That's what I did, and I'm sure that's what others on here did, too.
 
Re: 12/4 Tidus DOSING ADVICE NEEDED, MISSED PM SHOT

The prednisolone is for his GI issues. Vet is thinking he either has lymphoma or inflammatory bowel disease. The biopsy surgery to confirm is $4,000 and he might not survive due to his recent diagnoses heart condition. Decided to start him on prednisolone to see if it helps the GI issues.

PZI we are trying with the thought it is easier on his heart condition
 
Re: 12/4 Tidus DOSING ADVICE NEEDED, MISSED PM SHOT

Please my big question is - with titus having heart issues - the prednisolone is TOTALLy contradictory in his treatment. Does the IM DR know about his heart condition.
 
Some info mentions diabetic animals with heart issues can have problems with that med.
Tidus has heart issues, yes?

http://www.veterinarypartner.com/Content.plx?P=A&A=622
At high enough doses prednisone/prednisolone creates a state of higher than normal blood sugar levels. It is possible for a patient on the verge of developing diabetes mellitus to be tipped into a diabetic state. However, this is usually a problem for stronger steroid hormones and one reason to select prednisone/prednisolone for long-term use is to attempt to minimize the risk of developing diabetes mellitus. Still, avoid using prednisone/prednisolone in a patient with existing diabetes mellitus if it is at all possible to do so.
Concerns and Cautions

Prednisone and prednisolone are considered to be intermediate-acting steroids, meaning that a dose lasts about a day or a day and a half. After two weeks or more of use, it is important to taper the dose to an every other day schedule so as to keep the body's own cortisone sources able and healthy.

The same salt retention that accounts for the excessive thirst and urination may also be a problem for heart failure patients or other patients who require sodium restriction.

Diabetic patients should never take this medication unless there is a life-threatening reason why they must.

http://www.vetinfo.com/prednisone-for-c ... sthma.html
Diabetic cats should not be given prednisone except in extreme cases. Prednisone elevates blood sugar levels in the bloodstream. If you must use the medication, make sure you closely monitor your pet's glucose levels throughout the day.
Because the medication alters salt retention in the kidneys, it can cause elevated sodium levels in the blood. It's also not advised for cats with heart disease.

Prednisone is activated by the patient's liver into prednisolone.
Prednisolone may be administered in tablet form or produced by the body from prednisone. These medications are considered to be interchangeable though it seems that some cats are not efficient at the conversion and do better on prednisolone.
 
I have to question both options as well, Jenn. Giving him the pred does not seem like a wise decision in consideration of his heart issues and I really do NOT understand why they want to switch him to ProZinc.......

It is a medium duration insulin and there is no depot to it so I don't believe you would see him with any overlap of cycles. I think it would be a good idea to PM Carl and see if he can pop on and give you some thoughts about switching. He's very familiar with ProZinc and he's done an amazing job of learning about the Ls.
 
Hi Jenn,
I'll be happy to share my thoughts after work tonite!
Carl
 
Is it also known on this ISG that Tidus is more than likely an acrocat? altho it is not necessary for the test and I am not pushing this - just to state that as this has all been gone thru - it is known that this is MOST likely the answer for everything. And switching to Prozinc is not going to change much.
 
Hi Jenn,

What I can't speak to:
Use of the pred. I've no experience with steroids with any cat I've ever had.
Heart condition. Ditto. I am not sure why PZI would be easier on it, nor how any insulin would or wouldn't be.


My first question is what you mean specifically by "PZI". Are you talking about Prozinc (which is a human rDNA insulin designed specifically to use on cats), or are you talking about compounded PZI, which is bovine based? They aren't the same thing, and while they work in a similar fashion, they are not identical.

Prozinc has an advertised duration of 10-14 hours with a nadir between +5 to +7, typically.
Compounded PZI has a duration in the 8-10 hour range, with a nadir by +5, typically.

Bob was on compounded PZI purchased from "VPA", and I believe that VPA no longer produces it. My understanding is that PZI is available from multiple sources, and that BCP (in Houston TX) is supposed to be the best place to get it from.
An additional problem with compounded PZI is the reliability of the lab that makes it, and the question about whether or not one batch and the next batch are close to being the same quality. Dr. Peterson has a blog which addresses that specifically, and this is a good article to read if compounded PZI is what you'll be using:
http://endocrinevet.blogspot.com/2012/06/characteristics-of-commercially.html

You are familiar with Lantus TR from treating Mikey, and you are familiar with Lantus and Levemir with Tidus. I am familiar with neither, nor with Prozinc, so anything I "know", I've learned from FDMB.
Bob was not on any sort of a protocol with PZI. He was dosed for 10 weeks, on a sliding scale based solely on his preshot numbers. He started at 1u BID and went as high as 4u BID. That was all as directed by my vet. Once I came here and learned a lot, I started unilaterally reducing his dose, again using a sliding scale based on preshots, and in about a month, he was OTJ. Oh yeah, he also got all his shots IM, and not sub-Q. So Bob and I pretty much did nothing "by the books". That probably would have been different had I joined FDMB the day he was DX'd, but that's a moot point.

The biggest drawback that I see to PZI/Prozinc is the lack of a published easy-to-follow protocol. There is the TR protocol of Dr. Hodgkins, but nobody here uses it, and it's (IMO) more intense than the Lantus TR. So while there are members of this board that use Prozinc or PZI, and there's an ISG (which isn't as busy as it used to be), there isn't the wealth of knowledge and experience that exists with the L's. The people in PZI are all great, and all give good advice, but there's just not as many. And there's no rules to follow. Just a lot of personal experiences on what worked or didn't work for our kitties. But we can't definitively say that a spreadsheet indicates a specific increase or reduction is warranted.

PZI is what I call an "if/then" insulin. If you shoot X dose, then you get X results. If you shoot 2X, you'd expect more to happen. There isn't any depot, and very little carryover when it does happen. So when you adjust the dose, you don't see as much "NDW", and you can expect to see results that cycle (assuming the adjustment was big enough to really make a difference). It is much more flexible in terms of adjusting dose and in terms of "12 hours apart" than the L's are.
But..... there's still bouncing, there's still "where the heck did THAT number come from", there's still the ability to shape the curve using food and timing of meals (although not too many people take advantage of that in my opinion).

There are other forums, like DCC and DCH, where there are a higher percentage of cats on the "P" insulins, but I'm not familiar with them or the beans who belong to those boards.

I can only recall one PZI kitty who used to be on Lev and switched to PZI and went off the juice but there may be others. That would be Harley (of Rob and Harly). Many kitties have switched from a P to an L since I've been around. Some have gone OTJ, some have done really well, others not so much, but I don't think any of them are doing worse than they were.

I can't advise that you switch or don't switch to Prozinc or PZI. I'd like to understand more about why it might be easier on his heart, and also if the vet is aware of the issues raised by others concerning the pred and his heart condition.

And as far as the Acro thing goes. I know you are trying out other options before attempting the test for that. I don't know which insulin is "best" for dealing with that if you find out Tidus is an Acrocat. My sense is that Lev is the insulin of choice, but I really don't have an idea.

I don't know if that helps or not, but I hope so.

Carl
 
If Tidus were to be found to be acromegalic, being on a P insulin would likely need dosing TID or maybe even QID, depending on the P insulin, as outlined by Carl.

Low dose and even no dose is no indication that a cat is not acromegalic. My own cat Oliver tested positive for acromegaly and IAA, but he has been OTJ since January/2012 down from a dose of 37u BID Levemir.

Staying on Lantus would be preferable to switching to a P insulin
 
I appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns. Since Tidus is a foster, it is not solely my decision regarding what protocol will be followed.
I believe Tidus was seen by a very knowledgeable group of specialists. They don't necessarily agree or disagree with what treatment route we have chosen to take. The medicines prescribed for his heart were done so by a very respected cardiologist. Right now the #1 thing is to keep Tidus as comfortable and happy as I can.
 
Jenn --

I know you're not the sole decision maker for Tidus. Is it the same IM vet who's treating his heart condition and who prescribed the pred? If these are different vets, please don't assume that each vet knows what the other is doing or that they read each other's notes.

To be honest, I'm less concerned about the pred and Tidus' diabetes. There have been plenty of cats here that have needed to take a steroid. You just work the dose of insulin around the other med. I do think the greater concern is the potential for fluid retention and the effect of that on Tidus' heart. At the very least, I'd suggest asking the vet about this. They may end up telling you what to look for should Tidus retain fluid or suggest you weigh him regularly since weight will increase with fluid retention. They can always prescribe a diuretic (e.g., Lasix) to offset any issue with fluid retention. I think it's just a matter of you knowing what to discuss with the vet(s) and be knowledgeable about the potential for side effects and what you need to do to intervene.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top