12/4 Simon PMPS 254 +3.5 129 +4.5 141

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Not a great start to the day, but since I believe I gave a fur shot last night, hopefully this number will start falling today.

Thanks everyone for giving me words of wisdom and support yesterday about Simon's numbers going higher and the dose going higher. I quote Ella from yesterday's condo:

Just to add to what Marje said about Rusty: I was in denial for a long time and couldn't figure out why he wasn't getting his old greens and blues on his old doses. We had the bloodwork, the urinalysis, a dental, etc.--all pretty much OK--and I finally began to "get it". Jill, Sienne, and Libby all told me not to hang on to a dose that wasn't working, and that sometimes you have to go up to come back down. And Jill said that sometimes there is no reason why a kitty loses regulation on a specific dose--it could be a change in metabolism, it could just be "the cat". And Lisa (Do Lou) gave me "words of wisdom" that I keep in mind all the time now: "the biggest variable in FD is FD itself".

I have definitely been in denial and am now realizing that I may be hurting Simon if I don't really look at his numbers and go up on the dose if things aren't getting better, regardless of what he has done in the past. I am pretty sure I will be increasing his dose a little tonight after I see what he does during the day.
Wishing everyone a peaceful, restful day.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57804
 
Re: 12/4 Simon AMPS 320

Hi Georgia, sorry about the fur shot. It happens to a lot of us, and Simon will come down. Lots of luck on a new dose. That is such good info with the highlighted info from Marje on Rusty. I know I've always needed a nudge in the past to go up on a dose. Wishing you and Simon a good Sunday.
 
Re: 12/4 Simon AMPS 320 +2.5 317

((((Georgia)))) it's frustrating when a dose stops working, but it does happen. I think Jill's Alex is a great example. Alex is now on 2u, and she has usually been on much lower doses. Now the dose she needs is 2u, so that's what Jill gives her. Lucy's spreadsheet was a roller coaster for a while too.

There's no harm in increasing the dose when it is needed. Ella is right, the best thing to do is keep going up until you get to a dose that flattens him back out again.
 
Re: 12/4 Simon AMPS 320 +2.5 317

Simon whatcha doing on the pinkus floor come on down asap

((((Georgia)))) good luck when you decide to increase his dose
 
Re: 12/4 Simon AMPS 320 +2.5 317 +7 224

Much better...he is heading in the right direction. Now if he can show me some blues, I will be very happy!

I'm glad y'all are here for us. Without your help, I would have just crawled into a hole and given up. It helps so much to hear that others are going through the same thing and have the same frustrations that I have at times. LL is Lifesaver Land!
 
Re: 12/4 Simon AMPS 320 +2.5 317 +7 224

We feel the same way about LL. This board has literally saved Zener's life, I'm certain of that. Go Simon! You are doing great and so is your bean.
Liz
 
Re: 12/4 Simon AMPS 320 +2.5 317 +7 224

Georgia, sometimes I think the most challenging part of this trip is the mental/emotional adjustments we have to make. I know I just had to turn another corner and it sounds like you just did too. Having turned that corner we are now free to put the skills we have learned to work. You're doing great for Simon! Hugs!
 
Re: 12/4 Simon AMPS 320 +2.5 317 +7 224

i remember stomping around the house like a little kid when Binks suddenly lost regulation in the first go round
and I had to go back up in dose...
I realize he's been fairly easy for me in the grand scheme of things...
but I totally understand your frustration...

c'mon, Simon...let's get this show on the road and bring that lovely smile back to georgia's face!
 
Re: 12/4 Simon PMPS 254

Good job, Georgia! We know exactly how you feel. Trixie is now up to 2.75u, just in the past month. Before that, the highest she ever required is F1.25, and when she was on that, she earned a reduction VERY quickly. It is unnerving, but as long as the kitty himself/herself is feeling good, the number on that syringe is irrelevant. We'll likely have to go up even higher, but I'm holding her an extra few cycles, just 'cause she FINALLY hit green yesterday. When Trix was regulated, I took for granted that we were under control, for good. Apparently, that's not the case with FD. We just have to roll with the punches!

:YMHUG: ...we're all in this together! I hope you guys are having a relaxing evening.

Amy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top