12/4 - Maverick PMPS 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31229

Recap:
AMPS: 101
+3: 95
+5: 92
PMPS: 90
+3: 63
+4: 61
+5: 59
+6: 63
+7.5: 74

Not as much sleep as I'd like last night. Not due to meowing but alarms. Husband is still sleeping but the alarm got me up for Maverick's insulin. And Dog needs heart meds in a half hour so I'm staying up. My mom and I are supposed to be doing some Christmas shopping today. We'll see what Maverick thinks about that ;)

I think this is his 8th cycle on the reduced dose. So if he doesn't go low for a week on this dose and stays in normal range, we do another .25 reduction?
 
Re: 12/4 - Maverick AMPS 79 - 8th cycle?

Can't give ya a recommendation...still new to this myself.

Darn...Maverick is looking so good. I luv it. Enjoy Christmas shopping today. I have the Christmas music playing right now myself..... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/4 - Maverick AMPS 79 - 8th cycle?

I thought it was all green for a week, but you're close, and I may be wrong.
Maverick is doing wonderful. I am happy for you. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/4 - Maverick AMPS 79 - 8th cycle?

Yep - green for a week. If the 106 and 101 are the only blues then they might be counted as blue/green .... maybe? :mrgreen: ? We'll see what the rest of the week brings.

Maverick suprised my husband and I this morning. He comes into the family room and sees a stuffed goldfish cat toy and he starts batting it around and flinging it into the air. The play session lasted no more than a few minutes but wow. Maverick isn't a playful cat. He's 13 and I can't remember the last time he just played on his own!

I'm tempted now to go out and get him a pile of cat toys. They used to be a waste of money (lots of wasted money lol).
 
Re: 12/4 - Maverick AMPS 79 - 8th cycle?

Karrie...Raja & Shadow are 13 too! Shadow just played again this morning like Maverick! I bought a little black rabbit fur mouse yesterday and he was batting it around the hallway. He plays every once in awhile....and loves his little catnip toys. I put fresh catnip in them every once in awhile. They also like the nanners with catnip. But I got the little catnip mouse at
Walmart. He usually uses the nanner as a pillow though! :lol:
 
Re: 12/4 - Maverick AMPS 79 - 8th cycle?

Please fill me in on what the heck a nanner is ohmygod_smile I see it in a ton of posts and can't for the life of me figure out what it is. Sometimes it seems like a toy and some days it seems like some sort of family member :lol:

I will get him some toys today. I usually get organic catnip at the big craft fair. That's coming up in a week and a half. He doesn't seem to like the store bought type of catnip at all.
 
Re: 12/4 - Maverick AMPS 79 - 8th cycle?

Karrie and Maverick said:
Please fill me in on what the heck a nanner is ohmygod_smile I see it in a ton of posts and can't for the life of me figure out what it is. Sometimes it seems like a toy and some days it seems like some sort of family member :lol:

I will get him some toys today. I usually get organic catnip at the big craft fair. That's coming up in a week and a half. He doesn't seem to like the store bought type of catnip at all.
glad you asked...i often thought of asking that too...what the heck are nanners?
Rocket is 17 and he plays the odd time....but i get those fishing rods with the feathers or toys at the end...i play with him as i don't see him play on his own anymore....but sometimes if he is on the couch and Comet walks by and if Rocket feels playful he swats at Comet...it's soooo funny to see that!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/4 - Maverick AMPS 79 - 8th cycle?

Glad I'm not the only one :lol: Let me know if you figure it out first.

He likes the fishing rod feathers too but loses interest after a few minutes of that also. It was really cool seeing him fling this goldfish. I wonder what he'll do with it when it gets covered in catnip. We've run out of the potent stuff.
 
Re: 12/4 - Maverick AMPS 79 - 8th cycle?

nanners are the true kitty crack for most of the furbabies...tho some of our sages turned up their pretty kitty noses at them.

you buy them from amazon.com...they are called Yeeoww cat toys... or something like that.

better help than i will probably post the link.

binks and the girls are due to receive their 3rd nanner shipment today! cuz nanners get a lot of abuse here!
 
Re: 12/4 - Maverick PMPS 85 - lower after eating?

ohmygod_smile :lol: :lol: :lol: Thank you for the explanation and the picture. After Maverick's play session today I think I'll try them out. I'll look them up tonight :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/4 - Maverick PMPS 85 - lower after eating?

I got home at +10.5 and he hadn't eaten anything all day. Tested him (BG 95) and then gave him some food. Expected the numbers at PMPS to rise but they dropped a tiny bit. Is this a normal thing? Just a variation in the meter reading.
 
Re: 12/4 - Maverick AMPS 79 - 8th cycle?

Karrie, here's a link to the nanners, you can order them from Amazon...I was lucky enough to find them in a local pet supply store. They do get regular use and abuse in our house! http://www.amazon.com/Yeowww-Organic-Ca ... B000AUJFHE

About the playing....Mr Tinkles is about 14, and he not only never played until recently, he didn't know HOW to play! Now he plays almost every day. It's one of the silver linings of the FD dx...he's healthier now than he has ever been, and it shows! I hope you will see a LOT more playing from Maverick!

After a week of greens, Maverick will earn another dose reduction...or if he drops below 50. He may go low, he has come close. Either way, his numbers are beautiful!

His PMPS may be lower because of meter variance, or Mr P may be helping out.... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/4 - Maverick PMPS 85 - lower after eating?

95 - 83, not much difference. often times you'll see a slight dip at the end of the cycle.
about dose reductions...

"When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose."
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

maverick's doing well. you must be very pleased! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top