12/4 Kay AMPS 499 +3 148 +6 42 +8 151 - dosing advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mel&Kay

Member Since 2014
My first post here in RL, hello! My intro post is here.

I was hoping you seasoned sugarmoms and dads could check out Kay's SS and offer some insight/advice. Her vet said no shot if she goes under 100. I must admit green numbers make me nervous and I may have overreacted with the karo and HC food when she gave me a 42 today! nailbite_smile All the bouncing has me baffled too.

Thanks,
Mel&Kay
 
WELCOME Mel & Kay
we have some great folks here that will help you with dosing advice. just wanted to welcome you. if she were mine, i would probably go to .25 since she is bouncing alot and she went so low. my kitty is the trampoline king around here. i think your vet is right about not giving a shot under 100. ( alot of time for really new people to this sugar dance, they recommend not shooting under 200 until you have alot of data on how your cat reacts to insulin) do you understand the whole bouncing thing? if not, i will find the write up on it for you. With that low 42, if she were mine, i would try the .25 for 6 to 8 cycles but i would wait for others to weigh in too.
Nadine & Tibbs
 
Hi Mel. I am new to feline diabetes too so I can't give you any advice but I just wanted to welcome you and Kay too.
 
First off welcome Mel and Kay to Relaxed Lantus,

Actually the link that Nadine (Tibbs' mom) gave you is the correct version.

@Juliet Jill has already posted the revised version.

At the very least that 42 has earned Kay a dose reduction of .25u but give me a sec to go catch up on your intro post and take a peak at Kay's spreadsheet and I'll get right back to you.

Mel (yep another one) and the Fur Gang
 
Okay back again.

Looking at Kay's spreadsheet I would definitely roll her back to .25u and hold that for several cycles and see if that not only gives you better numbers but also smooths her out some.

Sorry for such as short response but I'm just about to turn in for the night and still have to feed my crew as well as go test both of my diabetics. But nice to see someone else with an ancient girl as well. My Autumn is roughly 18 years old as well, not real sure of her age as I adopted her after she was already diabetic.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Check the dates. The link I posted is Dec 2014. The other link is 2012.

I believe I posted the link to the current version.
 
I stand corrected Juliet is right, her's is the correct one, I had followed both and forgot who posted which as on my browser when I follow a link it opens in a separate tab.

So I missed that Nadine actually was the one that posted the link to the older version.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/4 Kay AMPS 499 +3 148 +6 42 +8 151 +12 416 - dose cha

Thanks for the welcome and advice all! Yes, I'm following the updated SLGS protocol. Kay just got her .25 dose and will be sticking to it. I can't wait to get the needles with half unit markings, they arrive Saturday. Stuck myself for the first time tonight, ouch! LOL I discard it, of course, and get a fresh needle which I promptly end up squirting in the air trying to wrangle kitty (she was nervous because we had company over). Third time's the charm! I feel really good about the reduced dose. I may actually get a much needed good night's rest.

Thanks,
Mel&Kay
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top