12/4 Jessica AMPS 292 (Peeing on Couch)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ftsang & Jessica

Member Since 2013
Jessica previous condo

Good Morning All,
Today is the last day for the UTI medication. See if there will be any change in the BG level, otherwise I need to increase the dosage to 6U.
I still give her 6 cans of FF classic (3.2ozs) per day. She still pee on the couch occasionally but much less than before.
Can someone tell me how to prevent her from peeing on the couch again?

Thanks
 
Paws crossed the last of the ABs helps with the numbers.

There was a discussion a couple of years ago on peeing outside the box, including input from Dr. Lisa Pierson of www.catinfo.org. Maybe there's some ideas in there that might help? Neko used to do that when she was first diagnosed, but is much better now that she is seeing nicer numbers and feeling better. I ended up putting boxes where she wanted to pee and that worked. I also couldn't put any clothing or fabric on the floor as she would use that to try to "bury" the results. Could you put plastic on the couch when you aren't using it, and an LB close by?
 
When my civvie Ginger was peeing on the couch, I re-arranged the pillows on the couch to try to keep her off of it.
I also tried to play with her more and to give her more attention. I'm not saying that Jessica doesn't get enough attention. I'm just saying that my civvie Ginger was maybe a little jealous of J.D. and acting out. Eventually, she stopped. Knock On Wood. I hope Jessica does the same.
 
the 2 ideas i suggested before were to put litter boxes where she's going - on the sofa and on the floor near the sofa, and to use a litter attractant to try to get her into the box.

i'm sure it's a difficult problem - nobody wants their cat peeing outside the box.

as long as her weight is stable, i wouldn't worry so much about the food. she's eating as much as she needs to keep her body stable and you just have to give enough insulin to deal with that volume of food. the one thing i'm thinking is that her phosphorus level on the labs is just barely under the upper limit of normal. the lab #s are hard to see, but i think that's what i'm seeing. the Fancy Feast is very high in phosphorus - the classic Chicken Feast has 546mg and for a cat with compromised kidneys, you want under 200. I switched punkin away from the FF to the Friskies Special Diet, Turkey and Giblets (has to be that exact thing, not Senior Diet, only Special Diet) because it has so much less phosphorus. the phosphorus can be hard for the kidneys to deal with once they've got the beginnings of kidney disease. has anyone already suggested this to you?

from the http://www.catinfo.org site, there is a list here that shows phosphorus values along with the carbs in cat food. i found about 7 or 8 that i could buy locally that were both low carbs and low phosphorus, but basically i bought all the cans of Friskies SD Turkey & Gib at Kmart every week or so. the Fancy Feast chicken feast is on page 22. the Friskies Special Diet Turkey and Giblets has 189mg phosphorus and 5% carbs. it's on page 3. the phosphorus is listed in column 4, the carbs are in the 3rd column from the left of the name of the food.

i don't know that this has any relationship to the peeing on the sofa, but while looking at her labs, i noticed some of the tests look like she's in the beginnings of kidney problems and lowering the phosphorus can really make it easier on the kidneys.
 
Thanks all.

Hi Wendy, yes, I covered the couch with plastic bag and I put one extra litter box close by the couch.

Hi Dyana, I don't know if Jessica get enough attention. Since we only have one cat, she should not jealous for another cat. My wife was very upset when Jessica keep on peeing and even pooing on the couch. Sometiem, my wife lost her temper occassionlly. I really understand her feeling since it create much extra work.

Hi Julie, I put one extra litter box on where she's going. I suggest to put more and my wife seems not happy about that. Yes, I will take your advice and switched to Friskies SD.

Thanks for all your advices.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top