? 12/4 Fluffy PMPS 380 to 85 at +8.5

Kayleegoose

Member Since 2025
Kind of freaked out. Can’t sleep worrying it won’t stop going down. Haven’t seen a number this low since he was diagnosed. At what point should I feed him something to bring it up? Is it dropping too fast because his dose is too high now? I’m afraid of what will happen tomorrow after increasing today.

Also what do I do if it hasn’t gone up much by the time he gets he’s supposed to get his shot in 3 hours?

Yesterday
 
Last edited:
30 minutes after food we’re at 103 and looks like it’s staying there. Hopefully someone can help me with how much insulin to give in a couple of hours. Really scared to do his current dose again or anything close to it after such a huge drop.
 
I'm sorry no one was here to help. And believe me, I get that middle of the night fear when you're on your own.
The best we can do is look at the data we've collected so far and try to predict where they will be at onset and what could happen.
To me, I get why you did the reduction. I'm starting to learn it's better to worry about higher numbers than super low.😬
Sometimes it helps to trash some of the older mods. I'll do that here for you, as well as am actual newer person, that in my opinion, helped save my boy if extra hypo numbers. She seems to have a supernatural intuition with this.😅
@Monster's Mom @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko
 
I'm sorry no one was here to help. And believe me, I get that middle of the night fear when you're on your own.
The best we can do is look at the data we've collected so far and try to predict where they will be at onset and what could happen.
To me, I get why you did the reduction. I'm starting to learn it's better to worry about higher numbers than super low.😬
Sometimes it helps to trash some of the older mods. I'll do that here for you, as well as am actual newer person, that in my opinion, helped save my boy if extra hypo numbers. She seems to have a supernatural intuition with this.😅
@Monster's Mom @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko
Thank you 🙏 while I was awake all night with him I was reading through some posts and following your low number journey, too. I hope things even out for you soon because I know the feeling now 😫 I know my boy’s numbers aren’t super low compared to others but I just feel like that big of a dive and a continued drop wasn’t exactly right
 
Thank you 🙏 while I was awake all night with him I was reading through some posts and following your low number journey, too. I hope things even out for you soon because I know the feeling now 😫 I know my boy’s numbers aren’t super low compared to others but I just feel like that big of a dive and a continued drop wasn’t exactly right
Those dives are scary. Especially if there's no one around to help you through it. I'm still frantic every time and I'm reminded how frustrated I was just a few weeks ago with super hi numbers. Yeah I was, but that doesn't help hypo numbers.😓
Now I'm freaking out, thinking I shouldn't have even given mine the 0.5 this morning. I hate how this all is.
I sure hope your baby goes through a much smoother time.❤️
 
Sorry nobody answered last night. The take charge with hc on a human meter is 50. I remember the nights when nobody was around. It helped me to print out the sticky on how to handle low numbers. I would read it and sit by my computer in between feedings. Lantus usually starts to wear off later in the cycle. Sometimes all you need is a little regular lc or a teaspoon of mc if the bg doesn’t rise after 20-30 minutes.

If home you could have given the full dose this morning. As you can see he’s heading up. He’s bouncing. Usually a token dose will not effect the first half of the cycle. Since it was the lowest he’s been at preshot a token was fine. Go back to the regular dose tonight. One thing to keep in mind is cats often go lower at night. It really messes with our sleep. I never recovered, lol.

Well done and good support Kaylee.
 
Sorry nobody answered last night. The take charge with hc on a human meter is 50. I remember the nights when nobody was around. It helped me to print out the sticky on how to handle low numbers. I would read it and sit by my computer in between feedings. Lantus usually starts to wear off later in the cycle. Sometimes all you need is a little regular lc or a teaspoon of mc if the bg doesn’t rise after 20-30 minutes.

If home you could have given the full dose this morning. As you can see he’s heading up. He’s bouncing. Usually a token dose will not effect the first half of the cycle. Since it was the lowest he’s been at preshot a token was fine. Go back to the regular dose tonight. One thing to keep in mind is cats often go lower at night. It really messes with our sleep. I never recovered, lol.

Well done and good support Kaylee.
Thank you!!

50 seems so low and scary to me so I unfortunately panicked (even though the sticky I read 100 times said don’t panic, what can you do). And I was afraid that since he was starting at 380 and heading lower and lower from 68 that it was getting dangerous. It was also late in his cycle that this drop was happening, so was afraid it wasn’t going to come back up since it was approaching shot time.

He’s on his was back down right now. Libre is showing 168 and these numbers so far mirror the numbers from 12 hours ago so I’m on edge again. I guess my fear is that what if his pancreas is starting to kick in since I’m suddenly seeing results, and if so does that mean his high dose he’s on can become dangerous? The depot fact scares me in case there’s too much stored. I’m a little confused on how to know when to reduce the dose
 
It’s scary to suddenly see more normal bg. It took a 60 nadir at my vet for me to attempt to start testing Max. I was afraid he’d hide all the time but fortunately he turned out to be easy. It scared me but not my vet. He did think remission but that wasn’t the case. We should have reduced instead of stopping. I didn’t know and my vet was cautious since I wasn’t testing. Three weeks later Max was back on insulin for the rest of his life and my vet handed me the needle to test him. A testaholic was created.

You reduce if the bg falls under 50 or if in normal bg for a week.
 
Yeah, don't forget to only give
Thank you!!

50 seems so low and scary to me so I unfortunately panicked (even though the sticky I read 100 times said don’t panic, what can you do). And I was afraid that since he was starting at 380 and heading lower and lower from 68 that it was getting dangerous. It was also late in his cycle that this drop was happening, so was afraid it wasn’t going to come back up since it was approaching shot time.

He’s on his was back down right now. Libre is showing 168 and these numbers so far mirror the numbers from 12 hours ago so I’m on edge again. I guess my fear is that what if his pancreas is starting to kick in since I’m suddenly seeing results, and if so does that mean his high dose he’s on can become dangerous? The depot fact scares me in case there’s too much stored. I’m a little confused on how to know when to reduce the dose
I can't offer advice on that. But so want to let you know you're not alone out there with this. Mine has freaking catapulted downhill with numbers. So I really get it. And sometimes I have to go against the general/typical advice given. He is such a strange case. They mean it when they say... ECID.
I have to say if it wasn't for another newbie here, he'd be in much worse shape.
I understand toucan logic and data tell you to go one certain way. But my friend was telling me to go low, when I was told to only take a tiny bit off.
Learn to trust your gut due sure.
 
Back
Top