12/4 Chloe AMPS 318 stuck to .5

I just read the previous condo. Those test strips do expire way too fast. I hope you can pick up some today. I am glad you reduced this morning. I would get a +2 and post it. I’d feed her a little at +1 again too
 
Just saw the 83 on the SS. That's a nice number, a little bit of a rise, probably from the food.
She possibly has not onset yet (the dose you just gave will not have started working yet).
Onset is usually around +2.

As the food bump wasn't much, I would suggest you get a +2
 
Just saw the 83 on the SS. That's a nice number, a little bit of a rise, probably from the food.
She possibly has not onset yet (the dose you just gave will not have started working yet).
Onset is usually around +2.

As the food bump wasn't much, I would suggest you get a +2
Right now, I have to take Fuzma to the emergency vet. She's got a blockage. I'll test Chloe again as soon as I get home.
 
Please leave some food out for Chloe. Vet visits under Covid take forever. I'm thinking MC just in case. Better safe than sorry.
Good luck at the vet.
 
Right now, I have to take Fuzma to the emergency vet. She's got a blockage. I'll test Chloe again as soon as I get home.
I've called at least 5 vet clinics with no luck. I'm waiting for a call-back from the 6th. Meanwhile, Chloe has dropped to 60 and pooped on the bed again. Another very bad day.
 
Okay, this has been my day so far and it's only 10:00 am. Tested Chloe, fed all the cats, including Stray outside. Chico gorged himself and vomitted all over the carpet. Gave Fuzma water. She's still sitting in the litter box. Tested Chloe. Prepared some gravy food for her. Really stinky in the bedroom. Diarrhea on the bed and comforter I washed 2 days ago. Stripped the bed. Fuzma is under the bed but came out and ate the gravy from the chunk food. Chloe also just ate the gravy. Now there's just chunks. Calling vets in between all this. Researched urinary blockages and found out only male cats get them. Cleaned out the kitty litters. Fuzma is still under the bed, but if she goes to the litter box now, I will see if anything came out. Washing the bed sheets. Willl have to wash the comforter again. So that's been my morning so far.
 
Bad morning:bighug:

The 60 doesn't look too bad, but has she had high carb food? it's just you mentioned gravy?
If she is 60 and hand HC food, she could drop when the 'sugar' wears off. If it was LC you fed then the 60 looks good.

Though for safety give her some food, especially if you end up going out to vet.
I'm sorry to suggest this as you are having a bad day. But keep up that monitoring.

If it was just LC you fed make sure she eats some more LC now and you will probably be OK to test again at +5
If you gave HC I would give her some LC and test again at +4, she could drop when the sugar wears of.
 
Bad morning:bighug:

The 60 doesn't look too bad, but has she had high carb food? it's just you mentioned gravy?
If she is 60 and hand HC food, she could drop when the 'sugar' wears off. If it was LC you fed then the 60 looks good.

Though for safety give her some food, especially if you end up going out to vet.
I'm sorry to suggest this as you are having a bad day. But keep up that monitoring.

If it was just LC you fed make sure she eats some more LC now and you will probably be OK to test again at +5
If you gave HC I would give her some LC and test again at +4, she could drop when the sugar wears of.
I was told to give food with lots of gravy. Isn't that high carb?
 
I was told to give food with lots of gravy. Isn't that high carb?
Who told you? I don't see that on the thread here.
I was told to give food with lots of gravy. Isn't that high carb?
Usually the gravy foods are high carb.... what is it that you feed her.

It's really hard to help and give you good/sensible advice if we don't know the full story, it might be an idea, going forward to note food on the spread sheet.
 
Who told you? I don't see that on the thread here.

Usually the gravy foods are high carb.... what is it that you feed her.

It's really hard to help and give you good/sensible advice if we don't know the full story, it might be an idea, going forward to note food on the spread sheet.
It's on there, but I changed back to Tiny Tiger yesterday. I'll change my signature now. The food I just gave her and Fuzma is 9-Lives hearty cuts in gravy. They ate all the gravy and left the chunks.
 
Thanks for the explanation Roberta, I'm not familiar with food in the US because I live in Spain.

So I don't know the carbs for that, could you tell me what they are?

If you look at Georges as in 2016 you can see how I made a note on what I fed and when, I found it helpful, for me, and it also helped the folk who were helping me.

The insulin dose is only tells part of the story of her BG's the other part is what she eats:)

Good job on that last test, 89 @ +5,
When did you last feed the gravy? Is it more than two before that +5?
If it is, then it appears that she is holding her own without the sugars from the gravy.

If it is less than two hours, do not feed any more gravy and get a test 2 hours from when she last had the gravy, to be sure that she doesn't drop low on you, you need to make sure that she is staying up.

Given the numbers today, I think it would seem best to stick to the 0.5u.

Because you have given high carb (gravy) you might find that she is a little bit high at pmps, this is not necessairly a bounce, and when you shoot tonight her numbers should come back down, stick to the 0.5u dose. If she is high please don't try and shoot the numbers down by going for a higher dose, you cannot do that with Lantus, it is just not dosed in the same way as fast acting insulin.
You have to base the dose on the nadirs, that's the lows, so far today that was 60 (and you used gravy, so she might well have gone lower).
Maybe get a +11 and see where she is at before pmps, that way you can have a ball park idea of where she is going to be, and figure out whether you need to have a special strategy for tonight.

How's Fuzma?
 
@Roberta and Chloe I see that Chloe had a PMPS of 91 and that you shot 0.5 u.

Please get at least a +2 and +4 test, and maybe more tests tonight if you see the BG going down.

Just because Chloe bottomed out at 60 in the AM cycle doesn’t mean she’ll do the same in the PM cycle. She might go even lower. Remember, you intervened with high-carb food in the AM cycle, which might have artificially propped up the numbers (and you might not be awake to do the same tonight).

Also, some cats tend to run lower numbers at night. You don’t have a lot of mid-cycle tests in the PM cycle so you don’t really know what she does.

Since you’re using SLGS, I’ll let others weigh in on dosing.
 
How's Fuzma?
Well, she seems active and not sitting in the litter box as much, but when she goes in the litter box, I don't see anything come out. I'll take her to the hospital tonight if there's a doctor available. She's also eating a little bit, but mostly the gravy.
 
Last edited:
Time to put on a pot of coffee :coffee:, it looks like Chloe is going to be busy tonight. I'd feed some medium carb food to prop her up a little, and I'd suggest testing again in one hour.
 
Wow, look at all that green. Those are some very nice numbers.
Seems to be a dramatic change, like someone flicked a switch???


Has something changed dramatically in the house? like did you used to feed the other cats kibble? and now everyone is on a wet low carb diet? Or have you changed food brand? If you did remove kibble from the house when did you do that?

Jus wondering if there is a reason for the sudden change in BG values we are seeing.

Hope Fuzma is OK. Sending vines.
 
Chloe is at 318 this morning. I guess she flipped the switch. I think Fuzma peed. But now I'm going back to bed. I think I finally learned how to draw the insulin from the pen.
Have you done anything different the last few couple of days?
Changed food?
Do your other cats have kibble?
Have you got treats that perhaps you haven't fed for a few days? But started again?
Is it possible she is got into something?
 
Have you done anything different the last few couple of days?
Changed food?
Do your other cats have kibble? Is it possible she is got into something?
Have you got treats that perhaps you haven't fed for a few days? But started again? Yes, I changed from 9-Lives to Tiny Tiger. I just read the reviews and they said it has too much ash and magnessium which can lead to kidney disorders. I changed my order back to the 9-lives and it should arrive soon. I think I'll go to the store today and get some. Fuzma was a bit more active this morning and didn't spend so much time in the litter box. But she didn't have a big pee like my other cats, just small ones.
 
Back
Top