12/4 Callie AMPS 92; PMPS 73, +6.25 75

Jessica A

Member Since 2021
previous: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-83-pmps-101-2-5-74-7-79.256147/#post-2884338

Looks like Callie earned another reduction this am from her AT reading (as she does :rolleyes: )

+2.5 68 Relion (67 AT) I fed her 1 tspn 35% HC with honey + her reg LC snack and will get a +3.

It has been a strange couple of days - no green during yesterday's day cycle but I'm guessing that was because of a partial fur shot in the morning.

Still, I am a little nervous about this reduction. Please take a look at her SS and let me know if you think we shouldn't take it. Thanks!

Hope everyone has a good Saturday! Surf safely kitties :cat:
 
Being just one point under 68 and the Relion reading and all those blues, I would be inclined to not take the reduction. You know Callie best so do what you think is best.
 
Being just one point under 68 and the Relion reading and all those blues, I would be inclined to not take the reduction. You know Callie best so do what you think is best.
I think I agree, thanks Elise. That's how I felt but wanted to check my gut with you all. As long as she comes back up fairly easily this am and stays above reduction points for the rest of today, I think we'll keep her at 3.5 tonight, monitor closely and see how she does.
 
I am going to argue that if she dropped below 68 despite a furshot yesterday, a reduction is earned. But you could hold the dose and wait for her to earn one again.
 
+3 86 and Callie just had another asthma attack. This is so hard.

I am going to argue that if she dropped below 68 despite a furshot yesterday, a reduction is earned. But you could hold the dose and wait for her to earn one again.

That's also a good point, thanks Bhooma. I'll think about it all a little later - not thinking straight at the moment.

I'm worried sick about Callie so much of the time. It feels sometimes like the things I am doing to try to help her are just making her worse :(
 
Hi Jessica, stopping by to say hello. You are doing such a great job managing both Callie’s Diabetes and Asthma. It has to be hard and the Asthma has to be very scary at times. Her numbers look great. Wishing you both a good nights sleep if possible and a happy Sunday.
Talk again soon. :bighug::bighug::):cat:
 
Hi Jessica, stopping by to say hello. You are doing such a great job managing both Callie’s Diabetes and Asthma. It has to be hard and the Asthma has to be very scary at times. Her numbers look great. Wishing you both a good nights sleep if possible and a happy Sunday.
Talk again soon. :bighug::bighug::):cat:
Thanks for stopping by Adrienne and for your kind words. They really mean a lot. Hope you are having a good weekend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:(


Go easy on yourself. You are managing multiple conditions and she is doing great! :bighug:
Thanks, Bhooma. I appreciate you saying that. :bighug: It is hard not to get really down when I see Callie struggling.

I ended up taking the reduction tonight. I still worry that it might be premature but given her asthma attack I wanted to cut back on some of the stress we are all feeling and let Callie rest as much as possible with fewer tests tonight. (I also gave her more carbs /honey than she prob needed for the same reason.)

+6.25 was 75 so flattish with meter variance and it has been more than 2 hours since I last gave her HC. I think I'm okay to get some sleep. Do you think I should set an alarm to test her again before AMPS?

Also, with all the HC she's getting, it is hard for me to tell when Callie's natural nadir is. What would you say?
 
+3 86 and Callie just had another asthma attack. This is so hard.



That's also a good point, thanks Bhooma. I'll think about it all a little later - not thinking straight at the moment.

I'm worried sick about Callie so much of the time. It feels sometimes like the things I am doing to try to help her are just making her worse :(
I know just how you feel. Her SS is a work of art, though, to those of us still working toward green.
 
Thanks, Bhooma. I appreciate you saying that. :bighug: It is hard not to get really down when I see Callie struggling.

I ended up taking the reduction tonight. I still worry that it might be premature but given her asthma attack I wanted to cut back on some of the stress we are all feeling and let Callie rest as much as possible with fewer tests tonight. (I also gave her more carbs /honey than she prob needed for the same reason.)

You know her best and are with her. So you need to do what you feel best. Following TR it’s easier to take an early reduction or one when not sure as if it fails you can go right back up to the last good dose. Don’t second guess yourself.

Also, with all the HC she's getting, it is hard for me to tell when Callie's natural nadir is. What would you say?
Nadirs move. If Max was ever giving me a lower green cycle I would see that he would stay up for two hours without food. Then if still green I’d feed a teaspoon of lc and go to bed.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top