12/4 Beau: amps/448,pmps/137,+1/155,+2/137 - active cycle???

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicia.1771

Member Since 2011
Last post 12/2/11 -- http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57779

amps - 448
+2 - 411
+5 - 180 :shock:
+7 -180
+9 -179
+11 - 147
pmps - 137

Hmmmm...not sure what to make of Beau's cycle again today. He is keeping me on my toes!

Since we switched to Lantus, it appears Beau has been able to clear his bounce in about 1-2 cycles. I ended up increasing his dose back to 2.25u last night after 4 cycles on 2.0u because yesterday morning's numbers seem to indicate 2.0u was not enough. Today his am+2 is similar to amps so I waited until +5 to test him to give his ears a little break and was quite surprised to see 180. I thought it would be a temporary reading and he will bounce right back up like he always did on Prozinc. But he continued to hold the 180 through +9, which is a 4-hour span!

The only thing different I can think of besides the dose is I started giving him Fish Oil last night and this morning, 1/2 capsule of 1000mg each time. I did noticed his appetite has decreased a bit since about a little over 1 week ago, I attributed it to his improving BG's as he spends more time in the 200's.

I will be getting a +11 reading in about 1 hour but want to start thinking about his pm dose. I like to keep the 2.25u as this seems to be a breakthrough dose for him but also don't want to risk any hypo event because tomorrow is a new work week and I can only check-up on him once during lunch break. Also, just want to clarify both times when his BG was < 50 (7/30 and 12/1) he did not show any hypo signs. And if I remember correctly, Relion Micro reads about 30 points lower, at least that's what it compared to our vet's big machine's reading the last time we visited.
 
Re: 12/4 Beau: amps/448, +5to+9/180 - weird cycle, dose???

You sound very much on top of this, so no advice from me...how about a bump? Good luck with the dose decision! :-D
 
Re: 12/4 Beau: amps/448, +5to+9/180, +11/147 - PM DOSE???

Thanks Kathy for the bump!

+11 - 147 :shock: :shock:

It seems he is still dropping....is it safe to give a reduced dose tonight (if so, how much?) or should I skip pm shot?

Beau hon...you are giving me anxiety nailbite_smile
 
Re: 12/4 Beau: amps/448, +5to+9/180, +11/147 - PM DOSE???

Nice cycle! Well, except for that yucky AMPS.

Here's the scoop... I would not recommend that you shoot a dropping number. Do you have any flexibility with your schedule? I'm asking since stalling is one option. If you stall, your AM shot will be 12 hours from when you give insulin tonight. I don't know if your schedule for tomorrow has that flexibility.

Also, should you need them, do you have strips and HC?
 
Re: 12/4 Beau: amps/448, +5to+9/180, +11/147 - PM DOSE???

Hi Sienne -- I don't have much flexibility in terms of shot times, I can stall tonight for about 20min but will need to give his shot on time tomorrow or I will be late for work. I have strips and HC. PMPS is coming up so will be posting that in 5min.
 
Re: 12/4 Beau: amps/448, +5to+9/180, +11/147 - PM DOSE???

PMPS - 137

He is still dropping....I think the safest thing is to skip the shot? Or can I give a token dose of say 0.5u? I don't want his shed to deplete :sad:
 
Re: 12/4 Beau: amps/448, +5to+9/180, +11/147 - PM DOSE???

Is it possible if I delay his shot time tonight and give his AM shot tomorrow during my lunch break at a much reduced dose, and also a reduced dose tomorrow night, then get back on track with a regular dose the next morning? Would that help to keep the shed?
 
Re: 12/4 Beau: amps/448, +5to+9/180, +11/147 - PM DOSE???

If you're going to give a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose, how about 1.0u? It's less than half Will you be able to monitor for a bit -- getting a +1 and +2? If not, then 0.5u would be OK.

(FWIW, you may need to remind folks that you're on a tight schedule when you are looking at the possibility of stalling. I know I'll forget!)
 
Re: 12/4 Beau: amps/448, +5to+9/180, +11/147 - PM DOSE???

i wouldn't try to do 3 shots. you've got competing nadirs that could really mess you up. better to shoot a partial dose tonight and be on track tomorrow.

see what sienne says.

can you edit your first post in this thread, then update the subject line with the +12/137?

eta - nevermind about the editing of your subject line - that was to help sienne see what was up . . . and i see she already saw. :-D
 
Re: 12/4 Beau: amps/448, +5/180, +11/147, pmps/137

ok, I went ahead and shot a 1.0u nailbite_smile

Will be getting a +1 and +2 at least to see where his cycle is headed to and then a few more before I head off to bed.

Can I resume the 2.25u tomorrow morning if we're at a shootable number (which to be honest I'm not quite sure what that is yet for Beau on Lantus)... I'm thinking > 200? or if it's between 150 to 200 it should be a rising number then?
 
Re: 12/4 Beau: amps/448, +5/180, +11/147, pmps/137

Yes, you should go back to your usual dose if the numbers at test time warrant.

I know on some of the other forums, they will split the dose. We generally don't do that with Lantus for the reason Julie mentioned. It can work out that the nadir from the early shot and the onset from the later shot coincide and you spend the next several hours trying to keep your cat's numbers from tanking.
 
Re: 12/4 Beau: amps/448, +5/180, +11/147, pmps/137

pmps - 137 --> shot reduced dose of 1.0u
+1 -155
+2 - 138

Does this look like it will be an active cycle???
 
Re: 12/4 Beau: amps/448,pmps/137,+1/155,+2/137 - active cycl

The +2 should be close to the PS and it is. While I don't have a crystal ball, we definitely think about an "active cycle" being one in which the +2 is significantly lower than
PS.

Having said that, I never want to second guess any cat. You know Beau best....and he seems to be clearing a bounce. I think it always pays to be more vigilant on a bounce-clearing cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top