12/31Kiktat +7 86, +10 106, pmps 72, +2 124, +4 90, +5.5 81

20221231_133609.jpg

@Red & Rover (GA)
not sure if I've done this right,,lol
trying to copy and paste a pic I just took for you Red, of Kitkat sitting in his favorite snow free sunny spot doing some bird-watching and being a happy kitty since it has warmed back up;)
 
file:///C:/Users/melinda/Pictures/20221231_133609.jpg

Hrmm, will this work? lol
now he's back inside, had a big poop and now has the zoomies again :p
 
Still great @ +7 (a good 10 minutes or so past the time, but for simplicity i left it as +7)
I am just wondering with all the dosage changes if his SS gives any indication for onset nadir duration? Just to see when best to test him. I am guessing not yet till he held a dose long enough for a "proper G curve... ??
 
Drag and drop from your desktop to the post works, if on your computer. Otherwise cut and paste. By "warmed back up" do you mean almost freezing? LOL from Vancouver.

Kitkat has been on the drop dose long enough, that the numbers you are seeing are from that dose and not a larger depot. Meaning a curve would show this dose. Onset looks about +2, rather typical for Lantus. Nadirs are rather more mobile, though today was around +4. Not sure if he'd have kept dropping without food. Good that you did food though. Nice to see him in those nice long streteches of healing green.

As for what to do about the dose, how have you been measuring that drop dose? He did go to 68 today, which is below your reduction point. But he's still seeing a bit more blues than a cat typically ready to go off of insulin. One other thought, what carb % are you giving him? One possibility is to give him some LC that is a few percent carb points higher, allowing you to still give him this dose safely.
 
As for what to do about the dose, how have you been measuring that drop dose?
I loosen the plunger a little bit (meaning a small pull and then push empty)
Insert empty syringe into upside down lantus bottle.
Depress plunger firmly and release.
Draw syringe out of bottle and ready to shoot.
Correct procedure? (I did test it a few times to actually see the single drop it produces as Bron recommended) when I was first told how to do the 'drop only' measure.
One other thought, what carb % are you giving him? One possibility is to give him some LC that is a few percent carb points higher, allowing you to still give him this dose safely.
I've been alternating the flavour of the day (7 options: 3%,2,0,1,5,4 and 4) but have not been tracking in my SS as to which one I gave at any one time. These are the FF he likes, he won't eat turkey, beef, or stuff with shrimpies in it.
Is the zero and 1 varieties maybe coming into play now?
 
You are drawing the dose correctly so pretty hard to go any smaller!

Any chance you could try removing the lower carb options out of the rotation for a bit and see what happens? Even if you could find some 6-9% options that would work too.
 
Any chance you could try removing the lower carb options out of the rotation for a bit and see what happens? Even if you could find some 6-9% options that would work too.
Thankyou Wendy, I take out the zero%,1, and 2% for now as you recommend. I will do a search for some 6-9% options. There are a few other brands besides FF on Dr Lisa's that I am getting familiar with.
 
Are you still feeding any dry at all now? would it be possible to remove the remaining dry so you could swap to TR?
Hi Bron,
No more dry:smuggrin: since we started the +9 pm snack 2 nights ago! I will change that right now in my SS. and signature
I will need a day or two to really read up on the TR protocol again, it's been a few weeks or more since I read about it. The idea of TR scared me a bit, and I did not think it would apply to my kitty for a long time, so I focused on the SLGS and other stuff. (Guess I was wrong, lol):D:D
Hopefully that is acceptable to wait?
 
Hi Bron,
No more dry:smuggrin: since we started the +9 pm snack 2 nights ago! I will change that right now in my SS. and signature
I will need a day or two to really read up on the TR protocol again, it's been a few weeks or more since I read about it. The idea of TR scared me a bit, and I did not think it would apply to my kitty for a long time, so I focused on the SLGS and other stuff. (Guess I was wrong, lol):D:D
Hopefully that is acceptable to wait?
That’s great no more dry.
The main think that will affect you and KitKat will be that the reduction BG is now 50 with TR so it will give you a bit more leeway but still be vigilant and do what Wendy suggested with the carbs because the longer we can safely keep KitKat on insulin, the stronger the remission will be.

The AMPS is always the last to come down so don’t worry. Just keep doing what you are both doing!
 
That’s great no more dry.
The main think that will affect you and KitKat will be that the reduction BG is now 50 with TR so it will give you a bit more leeway but still be vigilant and do what Wendy suggested with the carbs because the longer we can safely keep KitKat on insulin, the stronger the remission will be.

The AMPS is always the last to come down so don’t worry. Just keep doing what you are both doing!
Thankyou Bron yet again,
I will make the restrictions Wendy recommended. Will keep on keeping on! And I completely understand the reasoning of having him linger at that dosage for a nice strong remission.
 
Sorry for another..... will I have a new number now where I give him the carb treat and retest in 20??
Surely if it's now 50 before I do so ..... then..... well crap!!!! lol. Those butterflies in my stomach and shaky hands just started going away from shooting green! :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
Ok, thanks for the clarification, and I trust your judgement completely!!! I hit 'like' so you know i read the above, but it honestly scares the crap outta me to wait till he is that low to take action. As I mentioned above, its been weeks since I read TR. I know that once I have read and reread all that I will get my brain wrapped around the idea. I understand why this is the logical next , I truly do. Lowest range of normal... check!...... gotta see how low he potentially can go, staying longer in green... check!
I will do my best to calm myself about this. I will get it :bookworm:
 
If it’s any comfort, I was also scared to let it drop under 50 in the beginning. Remember you have all the tools in your tool box for keeping KitKat safe.
You are home testing, you can feed the curve, you have high carb food and honey if needed and you have experience on how he comes back up when fed some higher carb food.
You don’t have to just watch him drop. You can feed the curve to help him get up on his surfboard and surf in green.
 
If it’s any comfort, I was also scared to let it drop under 50 in the beginning. Remember you have all the tools in your tool box for keeping KitKat safe.
You are home testing, you can feed the curve, you have high carb food and honey if needed and you have experience on how he comes back up when fed some higher carb food.
You don’t have to just watch him drop. You can feed the curve to help him get up on his surfboard and surf in green.
Yes it is comforting!!! ..... a few tears of relief on that one Bron !!!!
research tomorrow, I know I got this, tools, testing, a willingness to do whatever it takes, my BOS award as a reminder (lol) and the best part of all I got a SteadyFreddie to do the hard yakka. :D:D:D:bighug::bighug:. I cant thank you enough.
 
PMPS of 72 !!! Looks like Kitkat is pickin up what you're puttin down. :eek:
I didn't know he could read,,,, or that his paws could log in on my computer and read this thread! :cat:
 
PMPS of 72 !!! Looks like Kitkat is pickin up what you're puttin down. :eek:
I didn't know he could read,,,, or that his paws could log in on my computer and read this thread! :cat:
Some kitties read the rule book and comply…..most don’t bother to even read it! Kitkat has obviously read the rule book :cat:

Lowest preshot so far so I would get a +1 and a +2 so you can see what is happening. Remember you can steer the cycle by feeding. If he drops early in the cycle when in greens, it is ok to give a bit of higher low carb or lower medium carb food to make sure he is high enough for the onset of the insulin. The aim is to keep him safely surfing in greens
 
Lowest preshot so far so I would get a +1 and a +2 so you can see what is happening. Remember you can steer the cycle by feeding. If he drops early in the cycle when in greens, it is ok to give a bit of higher low carb or lower medium carb food to make sure he is high enough for the onset of the insulin
Hiya Bron, sorry just seen this, too late, had a powersnooze on couch. Just did +2 and he's 124. His dinner was the 5%carb and a duck treat.
 
Back
Top