12/31 Xander AMPS 145 +3 99 +4 96 PMPS 139

Albert & Xander

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post

Happy New Year's Eve everyone!

Xander still isn't eating that well this morning, but I did end up finding most of the cerenia tablet crumbled on the couch so I don't think he got the effects of it. I was pretty sure he swallowed it down but obviously not. He drooled a lot because of the taste, running through the house. Flare must have smelled it on him and was very mean to him.

I called the vet to ask if I should be giving anything else and if its typical for appetite to resume and then drop back down with a p-itis flare, but haven't heard back yet. Other than his eating he seems to be doing well though, no clear signs of pain.

I apologize if I end up not posting or updating as much, i'm having a really difficult time managing my anxiety lately 😟
 
I'm so sorry Xander isn't feeling all that great. Cerenia is available as a sub-q injection, and as easy as insulin to give. Can you get this from your vet?

With the pill form, it is indeed quite bitter, so it's best to give wrapped up in pate, which is what I do for my cats, or in a tiny #4 gelatin capsule, wrapped in pate or cheese as a sneaky treat. I've probably mentioned how great Slippery Elm is for pancreatitis; this is my go-to.

It's important that he's feeling well enough to eat, so even the most soupy food, whether that's baby food or low-sodium water from tuna or salmon or sardines, is going to help. Raw egg yolks are pure protein, and another thing I give to geriatric or sick kitties.

Wishing you both wellness! It's so understandable that you'd be anxious.
 
Thank you all so much! I actually ordered the gel capsules last night for expedited shipping. He takes capsules well in the past so this should fix it.

He's luckily still eating, not too bad this morning but definitely not what it was. Smaller amounts per serving and only refused once so far. He had 2 really great days of eating that made me think it was resolved. Do p-itis flares like this make appetite ebb and flow for a while?
 
The other thing I’ve done in the past is use a bit of melted shredded cheese or a small bit of the cheese slices. Just put in the microwave with the Cerenia on top, give it a couple seconds to melt a little then form a little cheese ball. I used to make a couple. One had the hidden med, the other without. I gave the first cheese ball without the med, then promptly dropped the second in front of him with the goodie in it. It worked most of the time.
 
Do p-itis flares like this make appetite ebb and flow for a while?
Karamelle has both diabetes and Pancreatitis. The Pancreatitis 100% affects appetite. Its important to keep him eating. Karamelle takes Ondansetron (Zofran) 2x and Buprenorphine 1x for her Pancreatitis. Only give Cerenia if she vomits. The Ondansetron works better for nausea.
 
I agree with Jo, I find ondansetron better for nausea. The down side is that it doesn't last as long as Cerenia, so you have to give it more often, up to 4 times per day in the worst case, though 2-3 usually worked for me.
 
He didn't eat his +9 snack. He smelled it for a while and then refused.

I gave the cerenia at +10 and at PMPS he ate a decent amount, I think it is helping. I'll follow the vet and see if the cerenia works and ask for ondansetron if he doesn't seem to improve.
 
Sending you and Xander lots of healing vines, Albert 🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃
If you don’t have the Ondansetron yet, it can’t hurt to get it and have it ready if it’s needed (you can get it in expensively at any regular pharmacy).

I hope the protocols will get Xander to feeling much better.

We understand the stress another condition adds to your mental health (I’m struggling every day with all of Ivy’s stuff) 🫂

You’re doing such a great job managing everything and are an incredible cat dad! He and Flare are so lucky to have you ❤️‍🩹😻🥰💓
 
Back
Top