12/31 Tommy AMPS 454, +2 472, +6 383

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

I haven't much time right now as one of my Civies (Teddy) is having issues going pee. Last night I caught him in the LB and heard that unpleasant sound and saw that he left nothing behind. :sad: So we are off to the vet for a 9:40am (CST) appt to find out what's going on. Please if you would say a little prayer for my boy. I've not dealt with a kitty having nothing come out when they try to pee, it's always been at least a little, so I'm a bit scared. Hopefully I have caught this in time.
Tommy got an increase this A.M. We are now officially back up to the highest dose he had waaaay back when. Goodness when it rains it pours..
Good news though, Ryleigh gets her stitches out on Thursday.. Yeahhhh!!
BBL to visit condos and hopefully have good news about Teddy
Hugs to all those who need them today :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/31 Tommy AMPS 454, +2 472

Sending prayers and vines to Teddy!
Good catch on the LB. Fingers and paws crossed he's not blocked.
Come on Tommy work that juse! What a nice New Year's gift it would be to start coming down that ladder :-D
And Yay on Ryleigh :-D

We'll be watching for the update on Teddy :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/31 Tommy AMPS 454, +2 472

Sending prayers for Teddy~ Hoping you caught it early, and he will get better quick.
Ok, Tommy, work that new juice and come on down. :-D Nothing interesting up there.
Happy New Year's Eve Lauren ~
 
Re: 12/31 Tommy AMPS 454, +2 472

Hi Lauren, I was doing some lurking and visiting and thought I'd stop in and say hello to you and Tommy. We were both on waaaay back when Maggie had just returned from the Falls. It's nice to see you back here. I'm so sorry to hear about Teddy and send healing vines and will say some prayers for Teddy and you, too. Will be watching for an update. Hope Tommy climbs down today. Hugs from us.
 
Re: 12/31 Tommy AMPS 454, +2 472

Are you home from the vet's yet? praying for good news for Teddy. I just kitty sat over the holidays for my neighbor, whose he kitty got turned into a she kitty because of stones. Let us know how Teddy is.

Good call on increasing for Tommy. The important thing is to help him get out of the high numbers.

You've got so much going on, Lauren. Sending you extra :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Back from the vet a bit ago but had much to do when I got here, sorry about not updating earlier :roll:
When i arrived home I noticed that one of my outside strays/not so feral any more kitties was sitting in the middle of the garage floor when I opened the door up. I keep it opened just enough so when she's outside when I leave, she can get back in to her beddy by and her food and water. Any way I digress, at first site it was apparent that she had gotten into a fight just in the hour and a half that I was gone :YMSIGH: her coat was dirty, she had blood on both her ears and her coat was matted in spots. She is spayed and she is a TNR kitty that decided life here was tooooo good to leave after I captured her, she had 3 babies, one of which we kept (Yoda) the other 2 went into PALS program.
So, as soon as I let Teddy out of his carrier he vanished, so I couldn't give him his Clavamox just yet, Oh yeah, Teddy has Struvite Crystals, and a few white blood cells, PH was 8 protein 100 ++ .. He was an exceptional boy but very scared. Fortunately they were able to get a urine sample from him. Whewwww!!! So the AB's start and we hopefully can clear this up. I was able to get his meds in him just a bit ago :smile:
After taking care of Teddy, I looked out front to find that Lightning (our little girl we've had for about 6yrs was the one who scuffled with Momma Kitty. She did not get it as bad as Momma kitty but her coat is a bit messy and she has a little blood on her left rear foot. Neither one of them are limping and seem to be ok (for now) I'll keep an eye on them.
Tommy is at least on the pink floor for now and I can't thank you guys enough for stopping by and sending good thoughts and prayers for my Teddy Bear!
I'm gonna step out now and visit a few condos!
 
awww, what a day you're having. :sad: Hopefully you'll be able to catch a break soon.

Chiming in on Tommy's SS, if you don't mind... acro cats can change their insulin needs on a whim, it seems. Don't feel like you're doing anything wrong. At this point, I think I would be aggressive with dose increases. You know where you want his numbers to be, just keep increasing until he gets there. He's not like a normal diabetic, when you can kind of know you are in the right ballpark with dose and all you need to do is fine tune. Unfortunately you have no idea what dose he wants, so you just have to keep plugging away until you find the dose.

At a dose of 11u, you can even do 1 unit increases if you want, as long as you keep monitoring (or do 0.5u increases, but do them more often). I tried that for a little while with Jazzy - increase by 1u, then if it's too much back down by 0.5u. She was a lot flatter than Tommy is right now and I don't remember doing that very often, but if he is way off from a dose that he wants it might get you there faster.
 
Oh dear, poor spatting kitties! I hope everyone is calm now...I'm glad the vet visit went ok and you could get some ABs to fix things up for your Teddy. Good luck with the dosecrease for Tommy :-D And Happy New Year!
 
hahaha i just read the rest of your condo from yesterday about putting the links in. we missed you! so glad you're back.

I think your house - well, it's like the old hobo houses where they marked that a kind person lived there so the next hobo could ask for food or a place to stay. the critters have marked your house and they all know a kind person lives there. you're good to share your life with so many little ones.

hoping the ABs work for Teddy. That sounds grim. I don't know what kind of stones my neighbor's cat had, but he had repeated problems with them and so they turned him into a her. The way she described it to me "they took off his dilly and made him a girl." :shock: :lol: she showed me a test tube with the stone in it - the evil thing had little barbs coming off of it! she said there were stones all lined up in his urethra like balls in a pinball machine. :o I kitty sat the little kitter last week and emptied the box twice a day so i made sure he was peeing. Didn't want any stones to develop on my watch!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top