12.31, Sophie, AMPS 380

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoshandSophie

Member Since 2010
Hi all,

First, thank you! This board, and all the work y'all have put into it (like the spreadsheet template I'm using) is simply awesome. What a great group.

This is Sophie's first week of treatment, and as you'll see from the sheet, she's up and down. I plan on doing a full curve (that's once every hour from the first shot, right?) tomorrow, if possible. Any suggestions gratefully accepted.

Cheers!
 
JoshS said:
Hi all,

First, thank you! This board, and all the work y'all have put into it (like the spreadsheet template I'm using) is simply awesome. What a great group.

Congratulations for getting your ss up and running !! great job :-D
I would like to offer a suggestion for your ss. you have written on one day " no data but both shots given" can you put in the dose in the box for that day( and any others where shot was given but dose not written in?) Am assuming it was 1u? a look at your ss and it would appear to be missed shots.
And some days you did skip. I would suggest on cycles when shot is not given, write "skip" or "n/s " or just a dash in the space to indicate that it was skipped. When members are scanning your ss to help you , it will make things easier to look at ! Thanks.


Has anyone suggested to you that you also put together a profile for Sophie?
There is a template for that as well. :
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=17766

some of the information it asks to include: when sophie was dx'd, what insulin you are using,
is she has other medical conditions and when they were dx'd, if she is is on any medications other than insulin, what food you feed, etc.....
Lots of good stuff, that again really help other members to be better able to help you( and so you don't have to keep answering the same questions again and again. )


This is Sophie's first week of treatment, and as you'll see from the sheet, she's up and down. I plan on doing a full curve (that's once every hour from the first shot, right?) tomorrow, if possible. Any suggestions gratefully accepted.

since you did miss the pm shot on 12/30, that is going to goof up your "shed" a bit ( have you gotten the chance to read the stickies yet at the top of the page that explains the shed or depot? ) AND b/c of that( and a possible miss shot on 12/27 am ?), you have not had the minimum full 10 cycles to build up the lantus in Sophies' system. You might wish to hold off doing a full curve. I know w/ the holiday weekend it seems like a great opportunity. If you work during the week, what about waiting at least until sunday? ( of course still do some checks on sat. ) The extra day will give more time for things to settle in.


You can also spread out a curve --- do the even numbers on one cycle and the odds the next.
You'll get the same information and less pokes for kitty all at once.
It's up to you ( and Sophie of course ;-) ) But that is how I would do it.

Welcome to the board and to Lantus Land !
 
Great job getting your SS up and running. Cheryl is right -- a profile will help so we don't keep asking you the same questions over and over again.

Actually, we encourage getting frequent tests and/or a curve during the first week of Lantus use. The quote below is from the Tight Regulation sticky at the top of the Board. I didn't include the clickable links that are in the sticky note (but they are very important for Sophie's safety so please take a look at them).
Tight Regulation sticky said:
WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR...

* Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.

* It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.

* Learn the signs of and how to treat HYPOGLYCEMIA and prepare a HYPO TOOLBOX.

* Test regularly for ketones and know about DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS (DKA).

* Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.

* Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.

* Feed small meals throughout the day. Some kitties adapt well to free feeding.

A curve comes in 2 varieties. A "full curve" involves tests every 2 hours. A "mini-curve" involves a test every 3 hours.

Did you skip the shot on 12/30 because you were concerned about the lower number? If that was the case, I'd definitely encourage you to get a test at your usual shot time (PMPS). A great deal can change in the space of 2 hours.

Please let us know if you have questions or how we can help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top