? 12-31 Panzer AMPS 271/326243+7/217@+9/211+11/PMPS 246/+4 260/+5 290/+7 300Bouncing or increase?

Chrispooky12

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...14-3-360-4-351-5-381-6-increased-dose.272350/

Panzer was in the blues all besides one yellow @ AMPS yesterday & he also had a blue PMPS shot number after that his PMPS cycle was pretty flat in the yellows. So far today he is yellow & pink. I plan on getting @+ 9 & possibly a +10 or 11 before his PMPS shot. This will be cycle 7 tonight so my question is should I hold the dose for one more cycle? Is he bouncing from the blues?or should I go ahead & increase? @Suzanne & Darcy @tiffmaxee @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Chris & China (GA)
 
I think there may be the possibility that the bounce is breaking. Your later in the cycle tests will let you know if this is the case. If numbers are dropping, I'd hold the dose. Shooting a dropping number tends to be a bit, (ummmmm.....) "exciting." The bounce breaking plus a dose increase could keep you up for a while testing and feeding.

Looking at Panzer's SS, he goes through these great periods of blue and green numbers. When he's above 300, is he having a pancreatitis flare?
 
I think there may be the possibility that the bounce is breaking. Your later in the cycle tests will let you know if this is the case. If numbers are dropping, I'd hold the dose. Shooting a dropping number tends to be a bit, (ummmmm.....) "exciting." The bounce breaking plus a dose increase could keep you up for a while testing and feeding.

Looking at Panzer's SS, he goes through these great periods of blue and green numbers. When he's above 300, is he having a pancreatitis flare?
Okay thank you. No but he does have a UTI & is on doxycycline for it.
 
If it's a UTI, keep an eye on the numbers. Once the antibiotics kick in, numbers can drop.

(I'm assuming the vet did a cystocentesis and ran a culture and sensitivity?)
He's on day 9 of the antibiotic. My old vet that refuses to see or prescribe Panzer or Spook without an exam & a rabbies vaccine did a culture on him & the only thing he can take is clavamox which didn't kick the UTI & doxycycline. His last UTI he was on 75mg doxycycline hyclate once a day. My old vet that let's me make decisions on vaccines that I'm back with now prescribed him 100mg doxycycline twice a day. His little body couldn't handle that much & he was puking so I started giving him 50mg twice a day & was able to talk to the vet about what happened, his previous dose, & he agreed to keep Panzer at 50mg twice a day & to finish out the antibiotic. So after his PMPS dose tonight he will be on it for 9 more days.
 
211@+11 didn't drop much but going in the right direction. I will stay with 3units tonight & see how it goes. Happy New Years everyone :p:bighug:
 
With TR, we hold doses that show green nadirs for 10 cycles. Squint hard, and that 100 yesterday is pretty close. Therefore, I'd give him the benefit of the doubt and hold the dose a little longer.
 
With TR, we hold doses that show green nadirs for 10 cycles. Squint hard, and that 100 yesterday is pretty close. Therefore, I'd give him the benefit of the doubt and hold the dose a little longer.
:D okay thank you Wendy. He went up a little bit for PMPS but still yellow. Testing will begin @+4 :cat:
 
Your going the wrong way Panzer :arghh: maybe he will drop later than normal. I will see how it goes & set an alarm if I need to :)
 
Panzer is still in high #s 406 @PMPS cycle 9. Maybe he will pull out some good #s tonight o_O tomorrow will be cycle 10 so if something doesn't happen PMPS tonight or AMPS tomorrow, he will get an increase tomorrow @ PMPS. I'm beginning to wonder if there's a difference between the doxycycline that's so readily available from the vet is different from the doxycycline hyclate that he was on for the last UTI that he finally overcame. They have 50mg & 100mg readily at the vet but the 75mg hyclate is a human prescription that takes at least a week for the pharmacy that I use to get it in stock & it's very expensive without the good Rx discount. The pharmacist told me that it was hard to keep in stock because it supposedly works for covid. Anyway I'm beginning to worry if it's working at all. He is crying & going back & forth between litter boxes, his numbers are still high. Today is day 10 of the antibiotic & we have 8 more days on them! I don't know what to do or think...worried mommy :(
 
Panzer is still in high #s 406 @PMPS cycle 9. Maybe he will pull out some good #s tonight o_O tomorrow will be cycle 10 so if something doesn't happen PMPS tonight or AMPS tomorrow, he will get an increase tomorrow @ PMPS. I'm beginning to wonder if there's a difference between the doxycycline that's so readily available from the vet is different from the doxycycline hyclate that he was on for the last UTI that he finally overcame. They have 50mg & 100mg readily at the vet but the 75mg hyclate is a human prescription that takes at least a week for the pharmacy that I use to get it in stock & it's very expensive without the good Rx discount. The pharmacist told me that it was hard to keep in stock because it supposedly works for covid. Anyway I'm beginning to worry if it's working at all. He is crying & going back & forth between litter boxes, his numbers are still high. Today is day 10 of the antibiotic & we have 8 more days on them! I don't know what to do or think...worried mommy :(

Honestly I would talk to the vet. He might need the full 100mg's even if it upsets his stomach? If he's still yowling when he pees then clearly he still has a UTI, you should've seen some impact from the antibiotics after 10 days.

Also; there is no clinically significant difference between doxycycline monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate. You might have MINOR differences in absorption profiles. The hyclate is just a different type of doxycycline salt. There are no studies that compare their efficacy, they are both widely considered to be equally effective. In humans the hyclate is indicated over the monohydrate (just the normal doxycycline) in very VERY specific types of infections, otherwise they are interchangable.

He was on 75 mg's for his last UTI wasn't he? Worst case scenario you give it to the end of the script, and if he hasn't kicked it then you'd probably need to do another round of antibiotics at the higher dose (obviously the vet would have to figure it out though). From what I could see doxy is usually dosed at 2-5 mg per lb of weight once or twice daily. So at 15 lbs that would be at most 75 mg. So I totally get why you'd be hesitant.

I am sure he will be okay! Thinking about you guys. You'll both get through it.
 
Last edited:
Have you tried Zeniquin? It is very effective for most feline UTIs. Without a culture and sensitivity test it can be really hard to find the right antibiotic- but we had good luck with Zeniquin! Wishing you and Panzer the best :bighug:
 
Have you tried Zeniquin? It is very effective for most feline UTIs. Without a culture and sensitivity test it can be really hard to find the right antibiotic- but we had good luck with Zeniquin! Wishing you and Panzer the best :bighug:
He had culture done early last year. He had a 4 month long UTI right after móvil to our current home. Zeniquin was the first thing we tried & it didn't work.

Here is the link to his culture results
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-207-200-4-urine-culture-234-6-244-8.261132/
 
Honestly I would talk to the vet. He might need the full 100mg's even if it upsets his stomach? If he's still yowling when he pees then clearly he still has a UTI, you should've seen some impact from the antibiotics after 10 days.

Also; there is no clinically significant difference between doxycycline monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate. You might have MINOR differences in absorption profiles. The hyclate is just a different type of doxycycline salt. There are no studies that compare their efficacy, they are both widely considered to be equally effective. In humans the hyclate is indicated over the monohydrate (just the normal doxycycline) in very VERY specific types of infections, otherwise they are interchangable.

He was on 75 mg's for his last UTI wasn't he? Worst case scenario you give it to the end of the script, and if he hasn't kicked it then you'd probably need to do another round of antibiotics at the higher dose (obviously the vet would have to figure it out though). From what I could see doxy is usually dosed at 2-5 mg per lb of weight once or twice daily. So at 15 lbs that would be at most 75 mg. So I totally get why you'd be hesitant.

I am sure he will be okay! Thinking about you guys. You'll both get through it.
That's the plan finish out this doxycycline & go from there. Unfortunately we will have to wait 10 days after he finishes the antibiotic to get another test to see if he still has one or if he's negative.
 
Panzer drank water this morning before even testing 399 @ AMPS. I noticed after they ate there breakfast that Spook was struggling to poop, he's been on 1/4 pill Ondansetron for quite some time, every time I try to take him off of it, he starts acting nausea. I no it can cause constipation, so he will be on the same thing that I do for Panzer. Which is Mirilax @+7 AMPS & Mirilax @+6 PMPS day one, next day mirilax @+7 AMPS & slippery elm with bark @+4-5 PMPS repeat. Hopefully that will help him, ever since I started doing the slippery elm bark with Panzer he no longer struggles to poop.
 
Back
Top