Marycatmom
Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-30-mikey-pmps-277-1-303-2-283-3-301-pm-food-change.130644/
Good Morning!
Ms Knee-Jerk Reaction is at it again. This morning when I saw Mikey's AMPS, I fed 3% instead of sticking with the 8%. I missed a post on here from Marje, and didn't fully understand that plan. I've kicked myself thoroughly. I guess I need to take a deep breath and realize that this isn't a dangerous mistake, and that Mikey is safe. I'll get him back on the 8% tonight, although I'm having some trouble wrapping my head around this. I know I'm not the newest newbie anymore, but I'm still a newbie, and when you mix that with Mikey's being a difficult cat, I still don't know what's what.
So let me make sure I understand the plan. We go back to 8% food and stay there. The goal is to get him to be flat. If he doesn't come down, we raise his dose. Do I have that right? How many cycles do we give him to come down?
Don did a great job with Mikey last night, and I did really well relaxing, and mostly letting him deal with it. There may have been a bit of online stalking of the spreadsheet going on, but I deny those charges.
My only complaint was that I came home to discover that Don didn't want to disturb Mikey's relaxation, so he fed him his +2 snack on our bed!
Gross.
We're not sure yet how we'll handle tonight's cycle. Mikey may be coming with us to my brother's. I don't think Don wants to be there the whole time, so Mikey may not need to go along. I guess we'll have to figure it out.
One other thing on this long condo, my nephew is a PhD student at the University of Utah in the Pharmaceutical Technology field. His specialty is developing new methods of delivering medications. I was talking to him about the problems we have dosing Lantus, since it can't be diluted. That sparked his interest. He's a fellow cat lover, so I'm hoping he'll have some ideas that may proved useful someday. The kid is brilliant!
Happy New Year's Eve to all!
Good Morning!
Ms Knee-Jerk Reaction is at it again. This morning when I saw Mikey's AMPS, I fed 3% instead of sticking with the 8%. I missed a post on here from Marje, and didn't fully understand that plan. I've kicked myself thoroughly. I guess I need to take a deep breath and realize that this isn't a dangerous mistake, and that Mikey is safe. I'll get him back on the 8% tonight, although I'm having some trouble wrapping my head around this. I know I'm not the newest newbie anymore, but I'm still a newbie, and when you mix that with Mikey's being a difficult cat, I still don't know what's what.
So let me make sure I understand the plan. We go back to 8% food and stay there. The goal is to get him to be flat. If he doesn't come down, we raise his dose. Do I have that right? How many cycles do we give him to come down?
Don did a great job with Mikey last night, and I did really well relaxing, and mostly letting him deal with it. There may have been a bit of online stalking of the spreadsheet going on, but I deny those charges.
We're not sure yet how we'll handle tonight's cycle. Mikey may be coming with us to my brother's. I don't think Don wants to be there the whole time, so Mikey may not need to go along. I guess we'll have to figure it out.
One other thing on this long condo, my nephew is a PhD student at the University of Utah in the Pharmaceutical Technology field. His specialty is developing new methods of delivering medications. I was talking to him about the problems we have dosing Lantus, since it can't be diluted. That sparked his interest. He's a fellow cat lover, so I'm hoping he'll have some ideas that may proved useful someday. The kid is brilliant!
Happy New Year's Eve to all!
