Skye & Jackson
Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-30-jackson-amps-389-6-267-pmps-344-1-5-380-7-379.272402/
I know on SLGS you’re supposed to wait a week before increasing. But 8 cycles on his current dose (4 since he spiked up) has shown it cannot handle his current sugar levels - which seem to be getting worse. Also, he’s showing symptoms of being high again. I made the decision to up it to 1.5 units this morning. If we end up having to go back down in a few days, ce la vie, but his BG has got to come down. Glucose toxicity is going to be making this situation worse soon, if it hasn’t already set in.
If I were doing TR or more complicated, this would probably have been a good situation for a little R or N to bring him back to normal range, instead of messing with the Lantus dose… wouldn’t it. But I don’t know how to work with or dose those, and I want to be safe, so Lantus it stays. Ironically I have an unopened vial of N in the fridge from awhile ago when we thought the Lantus wasn’t working, had gone bad or something (before I joined here). Of course, he then dove out of the 400s the very night we’d bought it, so it never got used, which in retrospect was a good thing. Still, it makes me wonder, after a bunch of carbs like he had, if that would have been the time, if ever.
I know on SLGS you’re supposed to wait a week before increasing. But 8 cycles on his current dose (4 since he spiked up) has shown it cannot handle his current sugar levels - which seem to be getting worse. Also, he’s showing symptoms of being high again. I made the decision to up it to 1.5 units this morning. If we end up having to go back down in a few days, ce la vie, but his BG has got to come down. Glucose toxicity is going to be making this situation worse soon, if it hasn’t already set in.
If I were doing TR or more complicated, this would probably have been a good situation for a little R or N to bring him back to normal range, instead of messing with the Lantus dose… wouldn’t it. But I don’t know how to work with or dose those, and I want to be safe, so Lantus it stays. Ironically I have an unopened vial of N in the fridge from awhile ago when we thought the Lantus wasn’t working, had gone bad or something (before I joined here). Of course, he then dove out of the 400s the very night we’d bought it, so it never got used, which in retrospect was a good thing. Still, it makes me wonder, after a bunch of carbs like he had, if that would have been the time, if ever.
Last edited:
