12/31 Jackson AMPS 441 +4 350 +5 326 +8 334 PMPS 377 +3 369 +9 380

Skye & Jackson

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-30-jackson-amps-389-6-267-pmps-344-1-5-380-7-379.272402/

I know on SLGS you’re supposed to wait a week before increasing. But 8 cycles on his current dose (4 since he spiked up) has shown it cannot handle his current sugar levels - which seem to be getting worse. Also, he’s showing symptoms of being high again. I made the decision to up it to 1.5 units this morning. If we end up having to go back down in a few days, ce la vie, but his BG has got to come down. Glucose toxicity is going to be making this situation worse soon, if it hasn’t already set in.

If I were doing TR or more complicated, this would probably have been a good situation for a little R or N to bring him back to normal range, instead of messing with the Lantus dose… wouldn’t it. But I don’t know how to work with or dose those, and I want to be safe, so Lantus it stays. Ironically I have an unopened vial of N in the fridge from awhile ago when we thought the Lantus wasn’t working, had gone bad or something (before I joined here). Of course, he then dove out of the 400s the very night we’d bought it, so it never got used, which in retrospect was a good thing. Still, it makes me wonder, after a bunch of carbs like he had, if that would have been the time, if ever.
 
Last edited:
There's not a lot of experience here with using N and one of the L insulins, though some of us use or have used R. Though we suggest it primarily in cases of ketones present or higher dose kitties. And it's something we typically would do if someone was following TR. Also, we don't suggest people go it on their own but work with an experienced person who has used it before. It's a little different than using R in humans.

Good luck with the increase. You do test enough to know 1.25 units wasn't getting him where you want to be. The early increase is not something we'd suggest for other people following SLGS.
 
Thanks, Wendy. I think it’s not just the ability to constant-monitor (which gives me so much peace of mind, really) but also somewhat the “know your cat” thing… I think I’m starting to get a handle on what his patterns are when he is bouncing or could bounce, and how long is too long (aka when to be confident it’s not just a bounce)… I appreciate your support and advice though. Thanks! :)

Thankfully Jackson, despite his initial DKA, does not seem to be very ketone prone. I still check his urine every couple days at least, and am ready to blood test too if he doesn’t act normal, but so far so good. Even though he’s high, he keeps eating and drinking and being himself. And I know he has enough insulin on board to be providing his body with fuel, so it shouldn’t need to create ketones. It’s just that his sugar got so high that it’s having trouble bringing it down…

Honestly, understanding how ketones show up in relation to the food and insulin levels has given me more peace of mind with the highs too. I’m still concerned about getting them down, because of kidney health and glucose toxicity issues. Also I can tell he just don’t feel as good, have as much energy, when he’s in the pinks and reds as he does in yellows and especially blues. (So far, he shows the most energy in blues, more even than greens at this point. Then again, that could be because he hasn’t yet had a good run of greens that aren’t seen in passing on the way to or from a sugar crash.) But as long as he’s getting his shots and has a healthy appetite, I’m not panicking over them, afraid that any day he’ll end up back in the hospital, anymore.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top