12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 +3 432 +6 434 +8.5 465 +11 438 PMPS 451

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Happy BLUE Year's Eve!!

Wait, did I say BLUE?? Let's check, shall we?

PMPS - 368
+2 - 393 (yuck!)
+5.5 - 219 (ooooooo)
+7.5 - 197 (whaaaatttt??? :shock: :shock: :shock: )
AMPS: 313

YEP! Looks like we won't be feeling blue today, although I hope Cobb keeps channeling those numbers.

In reference to the WCR...5 P's in place. Litter box report is still good...not as much pee as previously. He laid in front of the baby's pack and play last night doing a post-dinner bath, and then jumped up on the bed to get some love from DH. And then just now I heard him tear across the upstairs like a wild cat! Haven't heard him do that in awhile, unless he got scared.

So, all in all a good report this morning. I'm preparing myself for a bounce. DH mentioned earlier this week what a rollercoaster this is. He's low, he's high, I'm happy, I'm upset. I think we can all agree that's true.

Hope everyone has a happy and safe New Year's Eve!!
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 - WAIT, there's more!!

Oh Yay,Yay,Yay!!!!!! A Blue!!!!! And yes, the dreaded bounce... BUT...combine that blue with Cobb's obvious new zest for life and overall 'I Feel Good' mood that he's in, and I say success :-D
As for the rollercoaster, I am SURE there is not one of us here that doesn't know that feeling. We all sympathize and completely understand. Perhaps we should create a section of this forum for DH's dealing with mamabean stress?? :lol:
Suzanne, please don't let yourself forget what an amazing job you are doing. It is just TOO easy for us to get caught up in the numbers, but truly, when you do your WCR, look at the Whole Cat. Cobb is showing you he feels like a million bucks right now and he's not afraid to hide it :-D ;-)

Love what you are doing with him! Keep it up my friend!!!! And Happy New Year's Eve :-D :-D
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 - WAIT, there's more!!

Yea for blue! I am so glad the Cobb is doing well: jumping on the bed, less pee, and running around are great indicators of improvement! I know who you feel about our moods influenced by their numbers. In the beginning especially it was so hard. Keep up the good work!
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 - WAIT, there's more!!

Wonderful report on Cobb! Yes, this FD dance is so full of ups and downs. I'm glad you've had some of the happy moments, and during all of it remember you totally have your LantusLand family behind you, so you're never alone! Have a great day, and very Happy New Year!!
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 - WAIT, there's more!!

Wow, Suzanne!! Blu-ti-ful!!! And when this bounce clears, there will be many more!!! :-D :-D

Happy New Year's Eve!!
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 - WAIT, there's more!!

nice blue!

It will be interesting to see what happens today. Now that the insulin is actually moving Cobb's numbers a little, you might want to slow down just a little on the increases (instead of every 4 cycles, maybe 6-8, until you can see whether he can get back to blue on this dose or not).

If he has a resistance issue, he might not come back down on this dose. A common pattern is for them to hit a lower number so you get excited, but then never go back down again until you increase the dose again. Since this is his first blue in quite a while, I would slow down just a little to see what happens and try to learn his pattern. For example, Jazzy (acro cat) was a 5 cycle kitty. If I didn't see action on the 5th cycle of a dose or of a bounce, I wasn't going to see action so I went ahead and increased. It took me a while to figure that out and every cat is different.
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 - WAIT, there's more!!

Thanks all!

Libby, I'm totally prepared for this to be the only blue we see on this dose. But it's nice to see that he's finally responding to something!

Resistance question...remember how we were going up 2units at a time and leaving it there for a few weeks? Could jumping up that quickly have contributed to his resistance because we let him get complacent at those higher doses of insulin? Does that make sense?
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 - WAIT, there's more!!

Suzanne said:
Resistance question...remember how we were going up 2units at a time and leaving it there for a few weeks? Could jumping up that quickly have contributed to his resistance because we let him get complacent at those higher doses of insulin? Does that make sense?
The question makes sense but I don't think there's a way to know. It may have been that Cobb was started at too high of a dose and as a result, you were seeing lots of red and black. There's also a difference between insulin resistance and glucose toxicity. With glucose toxicity, your kitty's body starts treating the higher numbers as the new "normal" making it harder to get the numbers down. With insulin resistance (insulin auto-antibodies) there's a physiological mechanism that's preventing the insulin from doing what you want. (Think of it sort of like an "allergy" to insulin.) Leaving Cobb at a dose that's not working would suggest glucose toxicity is in play but without getting labs done to rule out a high dose condition, there's no way to be sure. Either way, you need a dose that breaks through whatever is preventing the insulin from doing it's job.

I also agree with Libby. Now that you've seen blue, slow down on the frequency of increases to 6 cycles. We can then evaluate how much to increase based on where the majority of the nadirs are falling.
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 - WAIT, there's more!!

Thinking blue thoughts for sweet Cobb. Great way to bring in the New Year!!
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 +3 432 BOING!!!!

very happy to see that BLUE spot on Cobb's ss! awesome.

what Kim said is so important - keep your focus on how Cobb is feeling and behaving, and treat the numbers as secondary in importance. The size of the dose or the BG number is important, but only in how they make Cobb feel. If he feels good - that's what's vital!
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 +3 432 BOING!!!!

You're all absolutely right. My husband, Matt, reminds me of that daily! Especially when we have a bad cycle.
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 +3 432 BOING!!!!

Yeah for Blue!!
BOO for bounce!!

So did you get back to sleep after that test or did you spend the rest of the PM cycle bouncing through the neighborhood screaming, "Cobb got a blue, Cobb got a blue!!!!" :lol:

Great news that at least you're starting to see some movement in the numbers, but you've already been noticing he's been feeling better now than he was. (of course it's nice to see the numbers confirming that "something good" is going on as well)

Have a great New Years Eve! You really do have a lot to celebrate! A new baby as well as a better feeling Cobb!
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 +3 432 BOING!!!!

Chris & China said:
So did you get back to sleep after that test or did you spend the rest of the PM cycle bouncing through the neighborhood screaming, "Cobb got a blue, Cobb got a blue!!!!" :lol:

Hahaha. My neighbors would have thought I was crazy!!

Boo on the bounce. But I know he feels better so I'm not as perturbed. :smile:
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 +3 432 +6 434 BOING!!!!

I'm preparing myself for a bounce. DH mentioned earlier this week what a rollercoaster this is. He's low, he's high, I'm happy, I'm upset. I think we can all agree that's true.

Oh goodness that made me laugh and how true it is! Yipeeee for blue but icky on the bounce. We don't like bounces so much. You are in such good hands and I'm glad to see some improvement for your baby. Clear that bounce and come on down to a more respectable floor Cobb, Tommy says nothing to see up here.
Happy New Years Eve!
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 +3 432 +6 434 BOING!!!!

Nice blue last night for Cobb. :cool:
You must be thrilled.
It was like 5 months before I could enter one stinkin' little blue cell on BKs ss. We were thrilled.

What's the ketone situation these past few days???
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 +3 432 +6 434 BOING!!!!

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Nice blue last night for Cobb. :cool:
You must be thrilled.
It was like 5 months before I could enter one stinkin' little blue cell on BKs ss. We were thrilled.

What's the ketone situation these past few days???

He is negative for ketones. I don't always note it on the SS with everything else that I have to do around his shot time. 8pm is a very busy time in our house! But he has a food LB pattern. I feed, he eats, pauses at the bathroom door for a few minutes and then goes to his LB. The urine catch is much easier than previously thought.

Any other suggestions for Cobb, other than do what we're doing. He certainly has some ugly bounces.
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 +3 432 +6 434 +8.5 465 BOING!!!!

Happy to hear testing for ketones is part of the routine and even happier that the results are negative :cool:
It's my nature to check when a kitty has high numbers. Ketones can be sneaky little devils -

You are doing great! You have great folks with lots of experience visiting Cobbs condo.

Bounces stink, but don't last forever, and they do get less frequent and less severe over time.
I recommend the testing for high dose conditions. I know you are getting your ducks in a row for that .
The sooner you know why he is a 'big gulper', the sooner you'll know what adjustments need to be made to see more of the blues and greens on his ss :cool:
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 +3 432 +6 434 +8.5 465 BOING!!!!

Sorry about the boing bouncy bounce! Hopefully it will clear fast :-D I know this whole thing is a rollercoaster, I agree! I just wanted to stop by and wish you a great evening, and a Happy New Year! :razz:
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 +3 432 +6 434 +8.5 465 +11 438 PMPS

Well, he cleared the last bounce within a cycle. Maybe he'll do the same this time.

Since we're slowing down to 6 cycles instead of 4, how to bounces factor into nadirs?
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 +3 432 BOING!!!!

Chris & China said:
So did you get back to sleep after that test or did you spend the rest of the PM cycle bouncing through the neighborhood screaming, "Cobb got a blue, Cobb got a blue!!!!" :lol:

hahahahaha that totally made me laugh! good one, Chris!

bounces usually eliminate nadirs. it's like they are tanks that go over everything until they're done doing their thing.

as far as anything else to do - you're doing it all already. just keep on!!
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 +3 432 +6 434 +8.5 465 +11 438 PMPS

If you haven't already done so, try him on a low carb food. It may help to bring his #s down, too. It's all trial and error. Eventually you'll be able to figure out what works for him, and what doesn't. :smile:
 
Re: 12/31 Cobb AMPS 313 +3 432 +6 434 +8.5 465 +11 438 PMPS

Angela & Blackie & 4 Others said:
If you haven't already done so, try him on a low carb food. It may help to bring his #s down, too. It's all trial and error. Eventually you'll be able to figure out what works for him, and what doesn't. :smile:
He is on low carb food. 4-7% Friskies Special Diet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top