Georgette and Clare
Member Since 2014
Good afternoon, Lantus Land Neighbors!
We're sending out lots of healing wishes and hugs to Sammy and Linda, Calley and Chris, and all the beans and kitties in the neighborhood who need them today.
Last Post
Today's News:
(Raised dose back to 0.25)
AMPS: 311
+2 361
+5.5 409
I have yet to update Clare's spreadsheet from during our absence, but here's her story: while we were gone to England to see our children and grandchildren over the holiday, Jenna was caring for Clare and Coral. We were gone 10 days.
Before we left, we brought Clare in to the vet for a checkup. Her labs showed an unspecified infection, and their best guess was an infection in her kidneys. So she was placed on a longer course of Clavamox and for her beginning CKD, aluminum hydroxide to bind the phosphorous, which was again high. We'd hoped the lower-phosphorous food would've done it, but no luck. Before we left we also started giving Clare a biotic, acidophilus, and a laxative, Miralax, to offset the potential effects of the new meds.
While we were gone Clare did fine for a few days and then stopped eating and drinking for a day on Thursday. Jenna brought her to the vet on Friday. Clare was given fluids and electrolytes, and it was recommended that the Clavamox be discontinued for a day. During that day, Clare ate better so (as directed) Jenna started the Clavamox up again.
The result was that Clare stopped eating and also vomited. This was last Sunday, and the vet on call recommended another 24-hour hiatus for the Clavamox to get Clare eating again. That seemed to work, and there was no more vomiting. Jenna brought Clare in to the vet on Monday, and again she was given fluids. Since they felt Clare's infection was still present, and we had requested it, they also did a urinalysis. We're currently awaiting the results of that.
Thanks to suggestions from our LL neighbors, we had gotten some Cypro in case Clare had troubles eating while we were gone. The vet suggested that Jenna start giving Clare the Cypro, start up the Clavamox again but only giving it after Clare had eaten (something we'd neglected to say in our instructions), and continue all the rest of the meds. [At this point, Jenna has reached Hero status in our lives!] They also recommended that Jenna increase Clare's insulin; but since we'd been in touch pretty much right along, I suggested to Jenna that she hold on that until we got home the next day. Jenna knows how to test BGs now but hasn't handled a low test episode; and even though her spirits always seemed to be up when we talked, she was handling a lot and I was beginning to worry as much about Jenna now as about Clare.
Thankfully, Jenna, Clare and Coral had an uneventful day on Tuesday (yesterday). Jenna reported that Clare was eating pretty well and had gotten all of her meds. We got home late last night [DH driving the whole 5 hours from Chicago], and both Clare and Coral greeted us at the door. Though Clare is thinner than when we left (we'd managed to get her up over 6 lbs) she otherwise looks good. Stalwart Coral went into the zoomies upon our arrival.
Clare and Coral both slept on the bed with us last night -- Clare on my shoulder -- and haven't let us out of their sights much since we came home. We had a great time at Christmas with the family in England and now I'm so happy to be with our little family here to bring in the New Year!
Clare is sitting in her usual spot on the desk, helping me to write this to you. We all want to wish our Lantus Land neighbors, kitties and beans, a peaceful, healthy and happy New Year!
Georgette and Clare
We're sending out lots of healing wishes and hugs to Sammy and Linda, Calley and Chris, and all the beans and kitties in the neighborhood who need them today.
Last Post
Today's News:
(Raised dose back to 0.25)
AMPS: 311
+2 361
+5.5 409
I have yet to update Clare's spreadsheet from during our absence, but here's her story: while we were gone to England to see our children and grandchildren over the holiday, Jenna was caring for Clare and Coral. We were gone 10 days.
Before we left, we brought Clare in to the vet for a checkup. Her labs showed an unspecified infection, and their best guess was an infection in her kidneys. So she was placed on a longer course of Clavamox and for her beginning CKD, aluminum hydroxide to bind the phosphorous, which was again high. We'd hoped the lower-phosphorous food would've done it, but no luck. Before we left we also started giving Clare a biotic, acidophilus, and a laxative, Miralax, to offset the potential effects of the new meds.
While we were gone Clare did fine for a few days and then stopped eating and drinking for a day on Thursday. Jenna brought her to the vet on Friday. Clare was given fluids and electrolytes, and it was recommended that the Clavamox be discontinued for a day. During that day, Clare ate better so (as directed) Jenna started the Clavamox up again.
The result was that Clare stopped eating and also vomited. This was last Sunday, and the vet on call recommended another 24-hour hiatus for the Clavamox to get Clare eating again. That seemed to work, and there was no more vomiting. Jenna brought Clare in to the vet on Monday, and again she was given fluids. Since they felt Clare's infection was still present, and we had requested it, they also did a urinalysis. We're currently awaiting the results of that.
Thanks to suggestions from our LL neighbors, we had gotten some Cypro in case Clare had troubles eating while we were gone. The vet suggested that Jenna start giving Clare the Cypro, start up the Clavamox again but only giving it after Clare had eaten (something we'd neglected to say in our instructions), and continue all the rest of the meds. [At this point, Jenna has reached Hero status in our lives!] They also recommended that Jenna increase Clare's insulin; but since we'd been in touch pretty much right along, I suggested to Jenna that she hold on that until we got home the next day. Jenna knows how to test BGs now but hasn't handled a low test episode; and even though her spirits always seemed to be up when we talked, she was handling a lot and I was beginning to worry as much about Jenna now as about Clare.
Thankfully, Jenna, Clare and Coral had an uneventful day on Tuesday (yesterday). Jenna reported that Clare was eating pretty well and had gotten all of her meds. We got home late last night [DH driving the whole 5 hours from Chicago], and both Clare and Coral greeted us at the door. Though Clare is thinner than when we left (we'd managed to get her up over 6 lbs) she otherwise looks good. Stalwart Coral went into the zoomies upon our arrival.
Clare and Coral both slept on the bed with us last night -- Clare on my shoulder -- and haven't let us out of their sights much since we came home. We had a great time at Christmas with the family in England and now I'm so happy to be with our little family here to bring in the New Year!
Clare is sitting in her usual spot on the desk, helping me to write this to you. We all want to wish our Lantus Land neighbors, kitties and beans, a peaceful, healthy and happy New Year!
Georgette and Clare
So glad to read that Clare seems to have come through relatively unscathed. Hopefully, she's gets back into tip top shape soon. Happy New Years to your and your family!