You're welcomeYup, thanks for the catch, updated it just now.

Yes. Food helps them surf good numbers. You don't want him dropping too low to shoot.Just confirming, feed him more even though he just ate his normal meal an hour ago?
Is the plan to transition him fully to the new food and to stop the high carb renal food? That might significantly reduce his insulin requirements.No we haven't started the new food, hasn't arrived yet.
Testing once an hour at these numbers now that he has flattened out is good. Was this +10?Just checked, 20 minutes after he ate 1 tbsp of additional the Weruva and its 112.
Just seeing this. Since you can stay up till +4 and he has been flat for the last 4+ hours, will you be fine with shooting the full dose?His PMPS is 112, need advice on what to shoot.
If you can monitor, you can shoot the full dose. Break up his dinner into multiple small meals between PMPS and +4. You don't want him to be too full to eat.I am asking if I should shoot, I can stay up to check till +4 or longer if I have to, but am worried he will drop further I guess?
He has later nadirs in bounce breaking cycles which is what you saw today. There is also more downward momentum in bounce breaking cycles. When you shoot lower numbers you get typical Lantus cycles which are nice and flat. It's possible you might have to set an alarm for later in the cycle tonight but it's also likely that he will bounce from the lower numbers of today.I can monitor the early time just worried about the rest of the times since he dropped low pretty late into the cycle?
Also, these guidelines are for CGs whose cats are new to insulin and they do not have enough data on how their cats respond to insulin. ("Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:")Also remembering now that Wendy said depending on his PMPS we should follow whats written in the SLSG documentation which says:
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
- Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
- Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
- a.) give nothing
- b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
- c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
- Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
- In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
- Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
So if he is below 150 shouldn't we not shoot or is it 90 like you said?
No need to apologize. Shooting low is always scary. Even though, there are greater chances of numbers dropping harder with higher preshots and bounce breaking cycles like you saw today than when you shoot low. But that's something that takes a while to get used to!Sorry we are just anxious seeing such a drop and not having data to back up shooting this low.
You can shoot a token dose of 1U but the higher depot will continue to affect the first part of the cycle.I guess how much risk is there that he will go hypo if we shoot normally? Especially since its when we will be sleeping, unless we wake up each hour to check which we will do if we have to. Would doing a reduced dose be safer like 1 unit?
The size of the dose does not matter in a decision about whether to shoot or not if it is a good dose for a cat. A preshot is not always a good indicator of how the cycle will play out. Some cats nadir at the end of the cycle and those CGs get used to shooting low.Since the lowest we have ever shot is 221 and was 1 unit, you still think its safe to shoot 1.5 at this value?
Just checked his +1, up to 160.
Also @chuckstables we have been checking his ketones regularly, we have the Nova Max Plus blood meter, he has never even had trace levels even at his highest points. He also still has yet to show actual symptoms of diabetes (drinking, peeing more and weight is good).
So 160 with food, should we shoot normal?
The 160 is food influenced. My sense is that he will slowly head up in a bounce. But you are an hour later than your usual shot time. Is that something you can adjust in future? The soonest you can shoot tomorrow morning would be 11.5 hours from the time you shoot tonight.So 160 with food, should we shoot normal?
Thanks for the compliment @chuckstables, but we don't have experts here.I’d wait for @Bandit's Mom to reply. I’d say you’re safe to shoot, but I am not an expert like @Bandit's Mom is.
The 160 is food influenced. My sense is that he will slowly head up in a bounce. But you are an hour later than your usual shot time. Is that something you can adjust in future? The soonest you can shoot tomorrow morning would be 11.5 hours from the time you shoot tonight.
Thanks for the compliment @chuckstables, but we don't have experts here.Just volunteers with various degrees of experience with FD who are paying it forward
At this point I think it’s safe to give the 1.5 and retest at +2. That’d be my advice. You can always leave out some LC wet on an icepack in case Chronos gets hungry. Keep in mind that 160 is actually on the upper end of the normal range for a non diabetic cat, we regularly shoot in the 70’s-80’s when on TR. Even on SLGS though 160 is perfectly fine to shoot at.Yea we can adjust him if we shoot now. Do you think we should wait and check again at his regular +2 which is in 30ish minutes or just shoot now?
The problem with delaying the shot is that you can monitor for less time before going to bed and it disrupts future shooting schedule. It's possible he might be higher at +2, giving you more comfort with shooting but he might also be flat.Yea we can adjust him if we shoot now. Do you think we should wait and check again at his regular +2 which is in 30ish minutes or just shoot now?