12/31 Chanel AMPS 204 PMPS 256

I hope Chanel slides down for you today.
Thank you very much Carla. What is going on with Furball, she seems to love the high BGs. Anything happening lately for her to increase the levels or she is just overly excited about the new year?:bighug: I hope she will do better today.:kiss: kisses and hugs to your little ones :bighug::kiss:
 
What is going on with Furball, she seems to love the high BGs. Anything happening lately for her to increase the levels or she is just overly excited about the new year?
She had a sneezing fit last night. I had to give her some Zyrtec. The up and down weather we've been having affects my cats. Three of them have been sneezing.
 
She had a sneezing fit last night. I had to give her some Zyrtec. The up and down weather we've been having affects my cats. Three of them have been sneezing.
Oh my, that is not good. So it is a weather thing that can happen any time? Did they always have that or it appeared suddenly?
 
So it is a weather thing that can happen any time? Did they always have that or it appeared suddenly?
It's just like with people. The up and down weather makes my head get stopped up. One of my civvies is very sensitive to it and her head gets stopped up a lot and she sneezes. My other cats aren't as sensitive and it doesn't happen as much.
 
It's just like with people. The up and down weather makes my head get stopped up. One of my civvies is very sensitive to it and her head gets stopped up a lot and she sneezes. My other cats aren't as sensitive and it doesn't happen as much.
Do they have a certain season when they do not have the sneezing as often? I thought that winter is usually not that allergic compared to summer, but I was thinking of human affliction. The weather affects me only in the summer, as a consequence I do not like being in places like Florida or Ohio (it is so humid during summer).
 
Oh Sandra, Buddy's SS looks beautiful, he is all BLUES and GREENS. How is he feeling on these values? Are you going lower with the dose or will jump to OTJ? Do you give him any dry food as treats?

It's so hard to tell with him, he is 14 and acts old (I mean he is kind of old haha ), never really "plays" but he is pretty purry but don't like much attention. LOL. He is still peeing and pooping outside the box but this has always been his normal. NO dry unless he steals it haha. I usually treat him with baked chicken at test times or when he is screaming for food (in between meal times) The last time he got a hold of some Kibble it took 24 hours to clear his system. UGH!

I actually feel like we have stalled a little on this last reduction and I almost want to take him up just a tiny bit but if/when he does try to go OTJ we will do it very slowly. :)
 
Do they have a certain season when they do not have the sneezing as often? I thought that winter is usually not that allergic compared to summer, but I was thinking of human affliction. The weather affects me only in the summer, as a consequence I do not like being in places like Florida or Ohio (it is so humid during summer).
We don't have normal weather any more. We used to have consistently cold winters. Now the weather goes up and down. Yesterday it was in the 60s and today it's in the 40s. It is the changes in barometric pressure that get to me and seem to bother the cats.
 
We don't have normal weather any more. We used to have consistently cold winters. Now the weather goes up and down. Yesterday it was in the 60s and today it's in the 40s. It is the changes in barometric pressure that get to me and seem to bother the cats.
oh wow, yes, I would definitely suffer from that kind of change. So sorry that your little babies have to suffer from it. There is no medication for headaches for felines, I assume. How do you know when they have a headache. If it is sensitivity to light, then Chanel must have headaches all the time because she stays all day long in the closet.
 
It's so hard to tell with him, he is 14 and acts old (I mean he is kind of old haha ), never really "plays" but he is pretty purry but don't like much attention. LOL. He is still peeing and pooping outside the box but this has always been his normal. NO dry unless he steals it haha. I usually treat him with baked chicken at test times or when he is screaming for food (in between meal times) The last time he got a hold of some Kibble it took 24 hours to clear his system. UGH!

I actually feel like we have stalled a little on this last reduction and I almost want to take him up just a tiny bit but if/when he does try to go OTJ we will do it very slowly. :)
I am just wondering: if the pancreas is actually healing while on BLUES and GREENS, then increasing the insulin would force the liver into making more glucose available. Would not make more sense to allow the body to secrete the necessary insulin as much as it can and just maintain the dose that keeps him into normal range long enough to help the body overcome any extra glucose but not actually overloading the body with more insulin than necessary? Buddy is definitely responding and healing with every passing day.
 
I am just wondering: if the pancreas is actually healing while on BLUES and GREENS, then increasing the insulin would force the liver into making more glucose available. Would not make more sense to allow the body to secrete the necessary insulin as much as it can and just maintain the dose that keeps him into normal range long enough to help the body overcome any extra glucose but not actually overloading the body with more insulin than necessary? Buddy is definitely responding and healing with every passing day.

Makes a lot of sense! I wish I knew more about how all of this worked. Still learning every day. :)
 
oh wow, yes, I would definitely suffer from that kind of change. So sorry that your little babies have to suffer from it. There is no medication for headaches for felines, I assume. How do you know when they have a headache. If it is sensitivity to light, then Chanel must have headaches all the time because she stays all day long in the closet.
I don't know if cats get headaches. I mean their heads get stopped up like mine does. Then they start sneezing.
 
I think Chanel may have been headed for the lagoon this morning, had it not been for that 18% kibble - I sure hope you can continue to wean her off that.

Happy New Year Laura!
 
I think Chanel may have been headed for the lagoon this morning, had it not been for that 18% kibble - I sure hope you can continue to wean her off that.

Happy New Year Laura!
Trying to get her to move, meaning the kibbles are put on the floor in different rooms so she can go around searching for them. Chanel is not Luci, my dear Sue. Luci is playful even with a cast. Chanel would be the happiest cat if you can carry her everywhere. Since I cannot convince her to exercise to improve health (yup, I should do that for myself first), at least I can use the temptation of the dry food to keep her moving. Still, I do not think that those little kibbles kept her from the GREENS, she was mostly pink yesterday. But I hear you and hopefully, the exercise will be more intense and with less kibbles. Today was challenging, I had to actually push her literally on the floor to get the kibbles and actually she does not even like the game if the kibbles are not fresh from the bag. It is a trial and error process and taking time and I need to adapt it to Chanel's behavior so I can get her to improve. It may be that she will never be completely off dry food, but if there are just a few kibbles a day to help her control her diarrhea and move around, then I am OK with that.
 
Back
Top