12/31 Champ AMPS 532, +3 336, +9 214, PMPS 314, #3 371

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

So Champ had a good night. He ate a bit on his own and drank water all on his own. He actually pooped a small amount this morning!! Yay!! I haven't been able to catch him peeing in order to check ketones, but I'll be as vigilant as possible. He started R last night, but it didn't do much. Honestly, though, 0.1 is such a small amount that, really, who knows exactly how much was in that syringe. I gave him the same amount this morning and I upped his insulin dose by .25. Even though he had only been on 1.5 for one day, his numbers are so high, and I'll be testing him regularly, I went ahead and increased. Since I've been at this for almost seven years with Champers, I'm very familiar with his "tells" when he's heading downward. At least I know he'll eat if he does go low, but since he's starting at 532, I doubt I'll have to worry. He's surprised me before, though, so I'll stay on my toes. I gave him one syringe of food and then let him eat a bit on his own. I had a bit of leftover prime rib and he gobbled that right up.

There's a note on his SS about a diffuser I received for Christmas and had been using. I've since found out that essential oils are toxic to cats so I'm concerned that's the cause for all this because his numbers skyrocketed right after I started using the diffuse. Anyone know if this is the case and, if so, how long it will take before the effects wear off, if they will wear off? I hope I haven't done him any permanent damage.
 
Last edited:
I can't remember how to link my last condo and call it "yesterday;" instructions please!!!

So Champ had a good night. He ate a bit on his own and drank water all on his own. He actually pooped a small amount this morning!! Yay!! I haven't been able to catch him peeing in order to check ketones, but I'll be as vigilant as possible. He started R last night, but it didn't do much. Honestly, though, 0.1 is such a small amount that, really, who knows exactly how much was in that syringe. I gave him the same amount this morning and I upped his insulin dose by .25. Even though he had only been on 1.5 for one day, his numbers are so high, and I'll be testing him regularly, I went ahead and increased. Since I've been at this for almost seven years with Champers, I'm very familiar with his "tells" when he's heading downward. At least I know he'll eat if he does go low, but since he's starting at 532, I doubt I'll have to worry. He's surprised me before, though, so I'll stay on my toes. I gave him one syringe of food and then let him eat a bit on his own. I had a bit of leftover prime rib and he gobbled that right up.

There's a note on his SS about a diffuser I received for Christmas and had been using. I've since found out that essential oils are toxic to cats so I'm concerned that's the cause for all this because his numbers skyrocketed right after I started using the diffuse. Anyone know if this is the case and, if so, how long it will take before the effects wear off, if they will wear off? I hope I haven't done him any permanent damage.
Patty.. to link yesterday’s condo, copy the browser address from it, come back to your post above and hit “edit at the bottom”. Put the cursor at the top of the text box and then type “Yesterday” or whatever title you want and highlight it. Then click on the hyperlink icon(looks like a paperclip) above the text box. Paste the copied browser address in the box and click “insert”.

I know you’ve been at this a long time and you know Champ but increasing the dose so soon based on the PS isn’t a good idea. Lantus will not yank down those high numbers and that’s why you are using R. You might have found that he needs more Lantus and we might also find that he needs more R. But....I’d highly urge you to stick to the protocol.

Remember that you can increase every six cycles by 0.5u if his nadirs remain over 300. If nadirs are red and black, you are experienced enough to increase by 0.25u every four cycles. Let’s give the R a chance to work, though. :)

I’m thrilled he is eating.
 
I know you’ve been at this a long time and you know Champ but increasing the dose so soon based on the PS isn’t a good idea. Lantus will not yank down those high numbers and that’s why you are using R. You might have found that he needs more Lantus and we might also find that he needs more R. But....I’d highly urge you to stick to the protocol.

Remember that you can increase every six cycles by 0.5u if his nadirs remain over 300. If nadirs are red and black, you are experienced enough to increase by 0.25u every four cycles. Let’s give the R a chance to work, though. :)

Ugh.... okay. I've always been very impatient about this dance. Got your patience pants available? His last number is killing me, just killing me. Will I be able to give him more R during this cycle?
 
I've since found out that essential oils are toxic to cats
Not all, but some. And probably not to the extent that diffusing some in one's living space will immediately do huge damage (or my neighbour's cats would all be long dead). Which essential oil (or mix) was it? Try googling it with "cat" and see if anything interesting comes up.
 
Patty.. to link yesterday’s condo, copy the browser address from it, come back to your post above and hit “edit at the bottom”. Put the cursor at the top of the text box and then type “Yesterday” or whatever title you want and highlight it. Then click on the hyperlink icon(looks like a paperclip) above the text box. Paste the copied browser address in the box and click “insert”.

Thank you!!!
 
Not all, but some. And probably not to the extent that diffusing some in one's living space will immediately do huge damage (or my neighbour's cats would all be long dead). Which essential oil (or mix) was it? Try googling it with "cat" and see if anything interesting comes up.
It's called "clear the air" and is a mix of peppermint, eucalyptus, Hyssop, and rosemary. I did google it and did read it was toxic to cats, though my daughter's cat isn't affected by it (she runs it in the evenings when she gets home from work, in her living/dining/kitchen area). However, I ran mine in a 12x12 room that I use as my office in my home (I've work from home for the past 26 years) and I ran it constantly while I was in there, usually 12 hours, but once overnight by accident. I'm going to do some more research to get more info.
 
Ugh.... okay. I've always been very impatient about this dance. Got your patience pants available? His last number is killing me, just killing me. Will I be able to give him more R during this cycle?
Deep breath...food spike. Let’s see what he’s doing this cycle. If he stays high, you could give it around +9 or +10 so maybe he will have a lower Lantus PMPS.

Not all, but some. And probably not to the extent that diffusing some in one's living space will immediately do huge damage (or my neighbour's cats would all be long dead). Which essential oil (or mix) was it? Try googling it with "cat" and see if anything interesting comes up.
In the US, I am only familiar with a couple lines of essential oils that are specifically made to not affect cats. IMHO, it isn’t worth the risk. My vet, who is amazing, told me they’ve had cats come in with very elevated liver values after essential oils were used in a room. It isn’t worth it to me.

Patty....I doubt the oils are causing the BG increase but I’d just discontinue them if it were me and continue to observe him.
 
Okie doke, I'll let the insulin do its job and I'm not using a diffuser ever again!!

I'm so glad today is Sunday...FOOTBALL!!! I know the Cowboys are out of the running, but I'd still like to see them stomp the Eagles. And, really, any football is good football!!
 
Okie doke, I'll let the insulin do its job and I'm not using a diffuser ever again!!

I'm so glad today is Sunday...FOOTBALL!!! I know the Cowboys are out of the running, but I'd still like to see them stomp the Eagles. And, really, any football is good football!!
And sorry....I tossed all my patience pants!!!! :p
 
In the US, I am only familiar with a couple lines of essential oils that are specifically made to not affect cats. IMHO, it isn’t worth the risk. My vet, who is amazing, told me they’ve had cats come in with very elevated liver values after essential oils were used in a room. It isn’t worth it to me.
I stand corrected!
 
Oh, darn. I loved those yellow skin tight ones that floated around so much.
Well, for you, I will root around and see if I kept those. They were very sexy.

Much better but a little bit bigger drop than we want to see but he also should be onsetting from Lantus. Let’s see how low it takes him and whether the Lantus can grab on.
 
Just for you Patty:

img-thing
 
I'm glad to see Champ had a good night...prayers that the trend continues!

I agree with Marje about discontinuing the oils. I started to get into it, bought a diffuser, and before actually using it decided to do some research (duh...you'd think after all this time I'd know to research before buying!). Some oils are supposedly OK (I do know specifically peppermint is NOT), but like Marje said, it's not worth the risk (even ones that are market for pets), because - as we know - ECID. So my diffuser sits unused in the basement....tossed the packaging before I woke up and researched. Oh well!

Prayers for continued recovery!!
 
Just checking in. Also, I noticed you didn’t add that you shot R in the U cell this morning.
I thought I had...hmmm. I’ll give it a look. So, I shot Champ about 50 minutes ago, 1.5 units cuz I have my sexy yellow patience pants on. I gave him 24 ml of liquified food and some leftover prime rib. I’ll let him do some nibbling on his own, on some actual cat food, later on. The prime rib is the only food he eats with enthusiasm. I’m not sure if I should shoot the R or not. Advice wanted!
 
I thought I had...hmmm. I’ll give it a look. So, I shot Champ about 50 minutes ago, 1.5 units cuz I have my sexy yellow patience pants on. I gave him 24 ml of liquified food and some leftover prime rib. I’ll let him do some nibbling on his own, on some actual cat food, later on. The prime rib is the only food he eats with enthusiasm. I’m not sure if I should shoot the R or not. Advice wanted!
Uhh....maybe you did and I just didn’t see it. Sorry if you had it in there. Some days how my mind works is God’s own mystery!

Also sorry to just see this......I recorded a ton of sappy Hallmark movies last weekend and am trying to finish them off before Mike gets home.

With a 314 at PMPS, yes, I would have given more R. You are likely coming up on +3 now so I wouldn’t give it or you risk the nadirs getting too close. If he’s high in the morning, you can give it again or if you are a really early riser and you are up by his +10 and he’s still in high yellow or pink, you could give it then.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top