12/31 BuddyM: AMPS 185, +2 58, +7 56, +9 70: Dosing?

Yes. People do find certain foods lead to lower numbers. I was just reading how varied the ingredients are in the foods when tested on a Truth About Food. That’s quite a drop !!
 
Good to know. Maybe I'll split the rabbit portion with something else going forward.

Yes, it's a scary quick drop. Yikes!
 
Took me forever to get blood from him for a test. We're pretty much at +3 now... 61.
Going to give a bit more MC and LC. Hopefully food will still kick some more in and help keep it afloat.
 
Thanks Lyla. Yes, super early. I don't quite know his trends for green yet so it's a bit scary
 
He dipped back down to 56 at +7 and still only 70 at +9.

Thoughts on giving him a reduction? I know it's below 50 on the TR protocol, but we worked pretty hard to keep him above that today.

Otherwise give him the normal shot tonight? I'm a bit nervous to shoot normal if he doesn't clear the green. :nailbiting:
 
We have to see an under 50 for a reduction on TR. If he really wants that reduction, he'll show it to you. Might not be too long.
 
If he's close to 50 like he was today should I rather not intervene and see if he wants to go below 50 in future?

I feel like he would have dipped further for sure if I didn't start giving gravy at +2
 
The longer he spends in normal numbers the more healing. I know it’s scary but he had a really good cycle today. The saying here is shoot low to stay low. That’s the beauty of Lantus and when it works the best.
 
Thank you Elise and Wendy! :bighug:

I will try and put my brave pants on.

Do people let the blood sugar drop to see if it will go below 50 before intervening?
 
Usually we try to keep them from dropping as spending lots of time in normal numbers helps the pancreas to heal. If they really need a reduction they will earn it no matter how hard you try to prevent it. You are just starting to see those greens so I would try to prevent a reduction.
 
Usually we try to keep them from dropping as spending lots of time in normal numbers helps the pancreas to heal. If they really need a reduction they will earn it no matter how hard you try to prevent it. You are just starting to see those greens so I would try to prevent a reduction.

Okay gotcha!

He was out of the greens for PMPS so I felt a bit better about that 4.5 dose :)
 
What a lovely cycle today! God job shooting another low PS today. Buddy is really beginning to work the juice! :)

Thank you Bhooma! I'm sure it will get easier as I get used to seeing the lower numbers. The greens and even blues are still new to him!
 
Thank you Bhooma! I'm sure it will get easier as I get used to seeing the lower numbers. The greens and even blues are still new to him!

Yes. It is indeed scary initially. Ironically, the kitty's liver and our nerves get used to the abnormally high numbers that the kitty has been suffering for weeks/months and we both have to be trained to get used to NORMAL numbers! :D
Keep shooting those low pre-shots as long as you can monitor. It will make a big difference to Buddy's numbers. :-)
 
Back
Top