12/31 Blackie amps 423 +2 355 +4 311 +6 229 +7 203 +8.5 203

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Happy New Year's Eve, LL
I hope everyone has a wonderful day today! It is cold, snowy and windy here today and I hope I don't have to go out.

After a night of reds, I decided to increase Blackie's dose. I wish we had a separate protocol for sick kitties, because I feel like I'm flying blind. I increased him to 2.5 units when his normal dose (when well) is 4 units. I hope this gets us out of the reds, but doesn't take him too low. I forgot to mention that the vet gave him a vitamin B-12 shot yesterday.

WCR: Blackie is still eating better, but still not quite at 100%. Yesterday he ate 2 1/2 cans of FF Turkey & Giblets with FF Fish & Shrimp added. I think that's the equivalent of 10 to 11 Tb, so it's close to the amount he used to eat. This morning he didn't want his T&G, so I tried the Wellness Turkey, his old food, and he ate some of that before he went back and ate the T&G. He is peeing and pooing normally and he is cleaning himself. He is also alert and doesn't act sick. So I guess that's a pretty good WCR! :-D

Thank you, LL, for all of the healing vines, snowflakes and prayers. And for you support of Blackie's bean. It really means a lot.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33232
 
Re: 12/31 Blackie amps 423 +2 355

Ele: We're so happy to hear Blackie is doing better and he's already on the pink floor!! Glad to also hear that he is eating a little more and I hope that soon he'll be back to 100% on the food. You know, I don't know if you've ever tried it but Before Grain Beef is about .78% phosphorus. I'm always looking for low phosphorus foods to give my two elderly civvies. They love this...in fact they scarfed down a small can each last night.

Hope you stay in and warm today. It is in the 20s in Tucson so that is our plan. Have a wonderful New Year's Eve and we continue to send healing vines to Blackie!
 
Re: 12/31 Blackie amps 423 +2 355

hooray for feeling better, blackie!

that IS a great WCR, Ele...so glad to hear it!

staying warm is at the top of our agenda, too..

celi & binks
 
Re: 12/31 Blackie amps 423 +2 355

Ele, I'm so glad to hear that Blackie is eating better. Also glad to see he is coming down from nasty red floor.
Keep warm. It's already 40 here in west ny. Woohoo, heat wave. :-D
 
Re: 12/31 Blackie amps 423 +2 355

Happy New Year!

I too am so glad that Blackie is feeling better. YAY! and eating better! Good news - good news too that he is happy and content. Good luck with everything - I know how hard it is to care for them when they are sick.

We are cold too - but no snow. 23 out there today - that is really brrrrr for us.

Have a great day today - stay warm!
 
Re: 12/31 Blackie amps 423 +2 355

Blackie is feeling better, what wonderful news!

Hope you have a great New Year's Eve, stay warm and may 2011 bring you and Blackie health and happiness
 
Re: 12/31 Blackie amps 423 +2 355 +4 311 +6 229 +7 203 +8.5

Blackie is not eating quite as well as he did last night, but still okay. I hope he'll continue to eat tonight.
 
Re: 12/31 Blackie amps 423 +2 355 +4 311 +6 229 +7 203 +8.5

were you trying to give less mirtz more often? Ive never used it, but wondering if the lower dose is not lasting as long as the regular dose would? Maybe he is just a little bit full from last night? ;-) He ate really well...and to start off this a.m. as well. Maybe saving himself for this evenings festivities???? :lol:

He is coming down real nice....and slow. :thumbup

:YMHUG: and party_cat HAPPY NEW YEARS EVE! party_cat
 
Re: 12/31 Blackie amps 423 +2 355 +4 311 +6 229 +7 203 +8.5

Hi Carolyn. The mirt can be given 1/4 tab every 3rd day or 1/8 tab every other day. There's a CSU study that said the 1/8 every other day is better, so that's what we're doing. Since the pill is so small, I ended up crushing a 1/4 tab and dividing it into 2. We'll see how day 2 goes - that will start tonight.
 
Re: 12/31 Blackie amps 423 +2 355 +4 311 +6 229 +7 203 +8.5

Overall, with Blackie eating and numbers coming down, this sounds like good news. I hope Blackie continues to improve.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top