12.31 Bella amps 109,+2 50,+2:30 43,+3 57,+5 53,pmps 93,+1 94,+2 121vet update

It was weird this am, he really didn’t want to eat his breakfast, I had to open 3 diff cans and then he finally just a little Stella and chewys, usually when I give the ff gravy he eats it like candy but I had to give it to him several times before he ate some of it, he is drinking water though
 
?? It pains me when they don't eat. Maybe has a cold and no nose for his food?

What about low sodium canned tuna, or the juice? If you dont have low sodium, open a can of regular tuna and dilute with filtered water.
 
?? It pains me when they don't eat. Maybe has a cold and no nose for his food?

What about low sodium canned tuna, or the juice? If you dont have low sodium, open a can of regular tuna and dilute with filtered water.
I have canned chicken, he acted fine last night, he doesn’t act like he doesn’t feel good, laying in his bed on his side sleeping
 
Hopefully Bella is just having an off day. Here are things we suggest when a cat doesn't want to eat.

Do you have any parmesan cheese? If you maybe sprinkle a little of that on her food, she will perhaps eat? usually ondansetron is better for nausea than cerenia but it doesn't hurt to give her the cerenia....it can help.

Can you finger feed her....either see if she will lick food off your finger or will she let you dab some on the front of her tongue or on the roof of her mouth? Just be careful that it's only a small amount and that you don't get it down her throat.

Here's some info Jill often posts when a kitty won't eat:Here are some things you can do do entice your cat to eat:

-sometimes in order to get a cat to eat you even have to resort to dry it is more important that they eat. there are a couple low carb / grain free brands -- EVO and wellness core.

-making a buffet to give him choices
- heating food

sprinkle food with :
- forta flora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
- parm. cheese
- smashed crumbles of dry food
- Purebites Duck Liver -- crushed and put on as a topper.
- bonito tuna flakes
- halo chicken treats -- crumble into dust over food
- poor a little water from tuna in water over food ( I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats-- check labels)
-powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.

other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stim appy:
- trader joe tuna for cats
-baby food -- beechnut turkey and broth or chicken and broth. they have no onions or other additives. some babyfoods have onions . please read labels if you can't find beechnut.
- kentucky fried chicken
- deli turkey /chicken
- plain cooked ( boiled or baked ) chicken breast
-canned chicken for people (watch the label that their are no onions)
- chicken broth -- low sodium
 
When Amethyst does this,which unfortunately is often, because she is a very picky eater I give her either Chicken and Gravy Baby Food thru a syringe or a few Temptations to eat beside her food. Hope he is better:bighug:
 
Hopefully Bella is just having an off day. Here are things we suggest when a cat doesn't want to eat.

Do you have any parmesan cheese? If you maybe sprinkle a little of that on her food, she will perhaps eat? usually ondansetron is better for nausea than cerenia but it doesn't hurt to give her the cerenia....it can help.

Can you finger feed her....either see if she will lick food off your finger or will she let you dab some on the front of her tongue or on the roof of her mouth? Just be careful that it's only a small amount and that you don't get it down her throat.

Here's some info Jill often posts when a kitty won't eat:Here are some things you can do do entice your cat to eat:

-sometimes in order to get a cat to eat you even have to resort to dry it is more important that they eat. there are a couple low carb / grain free brands -- EVO and wellness core.

-making a buffet to give him choices
- heating food

sprinkle food with :
- forta flora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
- parm. cheese
- smashed crumbles of dry food
- Purebites Duck Liver -- crushed and put on as a topper.
- bonito tuna flakes
- halo chicken treats -- crumble into dust over food
- poor a little water from tuna in water over food ( I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats-- check labels)
-powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.

other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stim appy:
- trader joe tuna for cats
-baby food -- beechnut turkey and broth or chicken and broth. they have no onions or other additives. some babyfoods have onions . please read labels if you can't find beechnut.
- kentucky fried chicken
- deli turkey /chicken
- plain cooked ( boiled or baked ) chicken breast
-canned chicken for people (watch the label that their are no onions)
- chicken broth -- low sodium
Thanks for all that info, we’ve never had this problem, maybe he is JUST having an off day, I have Parmesan cheese and I have canned chicken, he won’t eat deli meat or boiled/baked chicken
 
Bella, why won't you eat your fuds today?
Sometimes Boomer's appy is affected when his numbers are lower...I always thought it was because (when in good numbers) his body is processing the food efficiently so he's less hungry. Unfortunately, it just tends to worry us Beans and takes away the ability of raising numbers by giving food.
Not sure this is what Bella is experiencing though because you said at AMPS he didn't want to eat and his numbers weren't lower at that time.

Is he acting like he's nauseous? Drinking but not eating could be a sign of it. Has he given you a litter box deposit?
 
Bella, why won't you eat your fuds today?
Sometimes Boomer's appy is affected when his numbers are lower...I always thought it was because (when in good numbers) his body is processing the food efficiently so he's less hungry. Unfortunately, it just tends to worry us Beans and takes away the ability of raising numbers by giving food.
Not sure this is what Bella is experiencing though because you said at AMPS he didn't want to eat and his numbers weren't lower at that time.

Is he acting like he's nauseous? Drinking but not eating could be a sign of it. Has he given you a litter box deposit?
Hàrd to say with LB I have 3 cats, he did throw up some clear liquids yesterday morning but hasn’t since and ate his dinner
 
@Bellasmom ... and we were going to hang with Ted Peter today!?!
Interesting reading this... Nelli did not eat breakfast (a little) until about +2. This was a first! Although I have reason to believe she is shying away b/c of tummy issues; acid reflux flaring up.
Maybe Bella and Nelli wanted to hang out with us and Ted today?
 
Pancreatitis is always a possibility - lack of appetite, often signs of pain or not feeling well (meatloafing), sometimes vomiting, rarely diarrhea. There's a quick yes/no test the vet can do in office or a $$$ blood test that gives levels of particular pancreatic substances. Neither is foolproof. Mostly, it's treatment of symptoms: often Cerenia or another antinausea med, bupe for pain and maybe subQ fluids if dehydrated.
 
Sending vetty vines! ...and do you have any fireworks going off where you are at? One of my civvies is terrified of storms and fireworks and refuses to eat (or come out from under the bed) until everything calms back down.
 
Sending vetty vines! ...and do you have any fireworks going off where you are at? One of my civvies is terrified of storms and fireworks and refuses to eat (or come out from under the bed) until everything calms back down.
Oh probably, I’m in bed when that happens, 4:30am comes early so I will be out unless Bella says otherwise, they don’t like the fireworks either
 
Is Bella taking any meds or supplements? Did he get more FF with gravy because of the lower BG. When I first gave Ravan Weruva he gobbled it up but an hour later vomited some clear liquid. I thought it might be from the Carrageenan in the Weruva.
He won't eat it anymore since he threw up.

I hope Bella is OK & feels better. Maybe he's just off his food because of the lower BG?
 
Question ********Bella’s appt at 4:00 won’t be back by 5, do i shoot when I get home?? What if he doesn’t eat
 
Last edited:
Is Bella taking any meds or supplements? Did he get more FF with gravy because of the lower BG. When I first gave Ravan Weruva he gobbled it up but an hour later vomited some clear liquid. I thought it might be from the Carrageenan in the Weruva.
He won't eat it anymore since he threw up.

I hope Bella is OK & feels better. Maybe he's just off his food because of the lower BG?
He ate just a tad at lower numbers, he hasn’t went to cat box, won’t eat, just lays there and he’s puking
 
Have you ever syringe fed Bella? When Ravan went off his food in the beginning of the diabetes I syringe fed him the organic baby food several times a day till he started eating again. That's when he was diagnosed with Pancreatitis But the weird thing is he hasn't had that problem again Only once. I wonder if it's because i give him CBD oil a few times a week. It's supposed to be good for inflammation & it always gets all 3 of my cats to eat.

If he's still puking I don't think syringe feeding would be good.
 
Have you ever syringe fed Bella? When Ravan went off his food in the beginning of the diabetes I syringe fed him the organic baby food several times a day till he started eating again. That's when he was diagnosed with Pancreatitis But the weird thing is he hasn't had that problem again Only once. I wonder if it's because i give him CBD oil a few times a week. It's supposed to be good for inflammation & it always gets all 3 of my cats to eat.

If he's still puking I don't think syringe feeding would be good.
Hopefully they can figure it out, I bet it’s pancreatitis I read the symptoms and he has them
 
I'd wait to see how he is later. Try not to worry about tonight's dose right now. The vet might give him a shot if Cerenia and it works better/faster than the pills. I'd get pills to take home though. Do you have bupe?
 
Ok he doesn’t have pancreatitis, they gave him Cerenia and appetite stimulate (can’t get till tomorrow) he won’t eat, his pmps is 93, do I make him eat, give shot??
 
How have his last few tests been going today? Still low? He has some odd numbers lately - high, low and all over the place. You able to stay up late with him and monitor? Give karo or honey if he gets with the sharks?

I think the problem with skipping the shot altogether is those high numbers tomorrow...
 
Great he doesn't have Pancreatitis but what did they say the problem might be?
SEB is supposed to coat the stomach, did you try that? I think you need to wait a few hours after meds.

First time I skipped Ravan's shot & his bg went up only one cycle then right back down.

Is he still vomiting? I just thought of something didn't you put flea collars on them recently? I just read this
Are Flea Collars Safe for Cats?
No, flea collars are generally not safe for cats. They work by either emitting gas that is toxic to fleas into the area around the cat's head or by releasing chemicals into the pet's skin.Cats are extremely sensitive to chemicals, so they can be particularly sensitive to flea collars.

What doesn't bother one animal might make another one sick! (just trying to get some ideas of what could be making bella sick?)
 
Great he doesn't have Pancreatitis but what did they say the problem might be?
SEB is supposed to coat the stomach, did you try that? I think you need to wait a few hours after meds.

First time I skipped Ravan's shot & his bg went up only one cycle then right back down.

Is he still vomiting? I just thought of something didn't you put flea collars on them recently? I just read this
Are Flea Collars Safe for Cats?
No, flea collars are generally not safe for cats. They work by either emitting gas that is toxic to fleas into the area around the cat's head or by releasing chemicals into the pet's skin.Cats are extremely sensitive to chemicals, so they can be particularly sensitive to flea collars.

What doesn't bother one animal might make another one sick! (just trying to get some ideas of what could be making bella sick?)
No, never a flea collar, nothing different
 
I gave him a little ff gravy after I tried everything else and he took a cpl licks but puked it right back up, guys this is making me sick to my stomach, vet checked him all over and did test for pancreatitis and said he looks great, but I’m worried to death
 
Back
Top