12/31 Bear - PMPS 143, +2 65, +3.25 39, +3.5 57, +4 42, +4.5 118, +4.75 178, +5 223, +6.75 500+

Meredith Bear’s Mom

Member Since 2022
Was up for most of the night with Mr. Bear. He got pretty low throughout the night. Usually he'll be low for an hour and bounce back up after food but this seemed to be stickier. The LC food didn't seem to have as much of an effect as it usually does. Looking back, this probably would have been the correct situation for HC food, right? What is the official number that you should start to feed MC or HC food at? I had it in my head that it was 50 or below but now I'm not sure that that's correct.

I'm going to chug some coffee now :) Hope everyone has a great last day of 2022.

Previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-96-8-163-9-305-pmps-336.272422/#post-3030012
 
Actually you had a beautiful cycle last night. There was no need to feed anything but lc and you could have left some lc out and gone to bed after the 90 at +6.5. Had you fed mc you would need to stay up 2 hours without food to make sure the bg didn’t drop because it would have raised the bg and you would not know if it was naturally rising or food influenced. If into the low 50’s you could try mc but just a teaspoon. Hc is for under 50. Does this help?
 
Actually you had a beautiful cycle last night. There was no need to feed anything but lc and you could have left some lc out and gone to bed after the 90 at +6.5. Had you fed mc you would need to stay up 2 hours without food to make sure the bg didn’t drop because it would have raised the bg and you would not know if it was naturally rising or food influenced. If into the low 50’s you could try mc but just a teaspoon. Hc is for under 50. Does this help?
Oh really? Well, awesome! I’m certainly not used to these low numbers. This helps a lot, will put it into my toolbox :) thank you!
 
Another question - we are going to be back home tonight a little later than usual and will have to give his shot 60 or 90 minutes later tonight. Is that okay, and should I just delay the morning shot for the same amount of time?
 
Glad you asked. Shooting late MIGHT act like a small decrease but only briefly or you may notice no change at all. To get back on schedule you can shoot 30 minutes from tonight’s shot or 15 minutes each cycle. You dint want to shoot more than 30 minutes early in the morning.
 
@Meredith Small
Afternoon Meredith in your title you don't have to put lasts nights BG numbers it was a little confusing, You can add those to your title for last night, if you can't for them you can just get rid of some of the AMPS numbers. For today just put his AMPS 360 and +1 329 then any additional tests and then his PMPS for tonight :cat:
@Meredith Small
 
Last edited:
Did you feed anything at +2? That was a big drop and was a sign of an active cycle. Congrats on the reduction. Clearing a bounce fast is good but it was helped by the hc so test again in 30 as there could be another drop. You want him staying up 2 hours without hc or mc before you can stop testing and it’s early in the cycle so you might be testing for a few hours.
 
Did you feed anything at +2? That was a big drop and was a sign of an active cycle. Congrats on the reduction. Clearing a bounce fast is good but it was helped by the hc so test again in 30 as there could be another drop. You want him staying up 2 hours without hc or mc before you can stop testing and it’s early in the cycle so you might be testing for a few hours.
I’m trying to think. I think we gave him some freeze dried chicken pieces around then.
 
Are you sure that Earthbirne is 20% carbs
Take a look at this , dry matter basis for what it says for carbs
Where did you find that it was 20% carbs
118 @ what update your title and SS please
I would feed him about a full teaspoon of LC
upload_2022-12-31_23-44-55.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-12-31_23-44-55.jpeg
    upload_2022-12-31_23-44-55.jpeg
    45.8 KB · Views: 309
Even found this about it
To review, on a dry matter basis, this food is 53% protein, 12% fat, and 9% carbs. As a group, the brand has an average protein content of 62%, and average fat content of 11%, and an average carb content of 1%.

The list you showed was that from our food chart
@Meredith Small
 
Remember what Elise said in post #13 just read it again
@Meredith Small

This is irking me about the carbs for the Earthborn found this question answered on the Chewey site
What is the dry matter Carb, Calcium and Phosphorus content of this food as of April 2022? Thanks.
This recipe has a carbohydrate content of 4%, a calcium content of 0.25% and a phosphorus content of 0.2% as fed. The calcium content is 1.19% and the phosphorus content of 0.95% on a dry matter basis.

By on Apr 18, 2022 Reporth

It must me 20% carbs if it says it on the our food chart , it's just screwy that all the places I checked it's low carb
 
Last edited:
Remember what Elise said in post #13 just read it again
@Meredith Small

This is irking me about the carbs for the Earthborn found this question answered on the Chewey site
What is the dry matter Carb, Calcium and Phosphorus content of this food as of April 2022? Thanks.
This recipe has a carbohydrate content of 4%, a calcium content of 0.25% and a phosphorus content of 0.2% as fed. The calcium content is 1.19% and the phosphorus content of 0.95% on a dry matter basis.

By on Apr 18, 2022 Reporth

It must me 20% carbs if it says it on the our food chart , it's just screwy that all the places I checked it's low carb
That is really weird. They might have changed the formula since the one on our site was updated? I’m unsure. I’ll probably stick to something safer for my HC next time. He did like it a lot so he can have it for a LC treat I suppose :)
 
That is really weird. They might have changed the formula since the one on our site was updated? I’m unsure. I’ll probably stick to something safer for my HC next time. He did like it a lot so he can have it for a LC treat I suppose :)
I know our food chart is old but what if it's right, you wouldn't want to feed it for LC .
I would contact Earthborn and ask them to tell you how many carbs there are on a dry matter basis. I'm curious. Don't give it for LC until we are sure how many carbs there really are in it
I am always up late lol , I just had a cup of coffee with pumpkin spice creamer :p
 
I know our food chart is old but what if it's right, you wouldn't want to feed it for LC .
I would contact Earthborn and ask them to tell you how many carbs there are on a dry matter basis. I'm curious. Don't give it for LC until we are sure how many carbs there really are in it
I am always up late lol , I just had a cup of coffee with pumpkin spice creamer :p
Sounds good, I will do that!

ooh pumpkin spice is my favorite! I’m not a night person at all - usually an early bird. Now with Bear I’m up randomly all the time haha. He’s lucky he’s cute haha.
 
Sounds good, I will do that!

ooh pumpkin spice is my favorite! I’m not a night person at all - usually an early bird. Now with Bear I’m up randomly all the time haha. He’s lucky he’s cute haha.

My other favorite is the International Delight Butter Pecan but I haven't seen it in stores for years, now I'm going to contact them and ask them about it lol
He sure is a cutie pie

Here is where you can contact Earthborn
https://www.earthbornholisticpetfood.com/contact-us/ this is a form

Here is the #
Earthborn Plant Care / Phone

(914) 747-3330



Just a tip mark all your food cans with the carbs in magic marker

Is it at least 2 hours without food ?
 
Last edited:
My other favorite is the International Delight Butter Pecan but I haven't seen it in stores for years, now I'm going to contact them and ask them about it lol
He sure is a cutie pie

Here is where you can contact Earthborn
https://www.earthbornholisticpetfood.com/contact-us/ this is a form

Here is the #
Earthborn Plant Care / Phone

(914) 747-3330



Just a tip mark all your food cans with the carbs in magic marker

Is it at least 2 hours without food ?
Do you know the carb count on Fancy feast gourmet naturals natural turkey & natural white meat chicken? It says 0 % carbs on the food chart but someone said it is 6 % carbs based on dry matter. @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Do you know the carb count on Fancy feast gourmet naturals natural turkey & natural white meat chicken? It says 0 % carbs on the food chart but someone said it is 6 % carbs based on dry matter. @Diane Tyler's Mom
The White Meat Chicken on the Chewey site says
What is the carb content of the FF gourmet naturals?
Answer by • Jul 06, 2022
The carbohydrates content of this product is 0.6% in as fed, and 2.5% in dry matter values.
 
The White Meat Chicken on the Chewey site says
What is the carb content of the FF gourmet naturals?
Answer by • Jul 06, 2022
The carbohydrates content of this product is 0.6% in as fed, and 2.5% in dry matter values.
Wow that was quick LOL so it 6% carbs? Darn it Panzer loves the chicken hates the turkey though.
 
Back
Top