12/31 Basil AMPS 113 PMPS 121 +3:40 = 98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

Very Active Member
Well, Basil is nice and blue this morning. He was playful last night at bedtime and seemed happy and perky this morning.

This is our 12th cycle at 1.25. I have two questions:
Is this a good dose or does it need changing?
How can I adjust his food? He is getting too chubby and I want to decrease what he eats but I realize that food amount and insulin amount are related. I'd like to cut his food back by about 15%.

Thanks in advance.

And Happy New Year everyone, we just started getting snow here again.


Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 12/31 Basil AMPS 113 Dose Thoughts?

Did you not get spot checks last night? (How unlike you!!)

My guess is that the advising team will suggest you hold this dose. You had greens and blues yesterday and given where Basil is starting the day today, he will be in the greens. I'll be curious to see if he earns a decrease today.

Regarding food, take a look at Dr. Lisa's website in the section on obesity - she gives information on how to calculate calorie counts. I'd suggest cutting back the food gradually. It may also be easier if you decrease the amount at the major mealtimes and spread out the food as snacks/mini-meals. It may help Basil to feel less hungry as well as keep his metabolism stoked. It will also be easier on his pancreas, which may be a consideration given how well Basil is doing.
 
Re: 12/31 Basil AMPS 113 Dose Thoughts?

That is purty, isn't it Pat?

Thanks, Sienne. No, no spots checks last night. Basil is beginning to be a little impatient about tests and we are trying to give him a break. He seems to be pretty much predictable early in the cycle, so I thought I would get a +7 or +8 today, looking for a lowish point.

I know you will think I am OCD, but I have calculated the calories in his meals! Calories aren't everything, but they domatter when you are trying to regulate blood sugar. I don't know where that line is between weight contributing to diabetic problems and keeping it all smooth for him. He is not obese, but at the rate he is eating, he is gaining and that's not good. I now let him have available whatever food he does not finish at mealtime. Generally, he leaves some and returns to it later. Yesterday, though, he had a new flavor and wolfed it all!)

Thanks for all the good advice!
 
Re: 12/31 Basil AMPS 113 Dose Thoughts?

I think you should hold this dose a bit longer and you'll see even more evening out of blues and possibly more greens. Looking good so far!
 
Re: 12/31 Basil PMPS 121

And another nicely consistent looking number.

I gave him Merrick Ocean Breeze tonight and I think he likes the break from Cowboy COokout because he ate every bit of it. I'll have to ration that flavor in the future and keep some to give later on. Usually, he self-regulates.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top