12/31/13 - Sassy AMBG 86, +4 108, +9 72, PMBG 122

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/31/13 - Sassy AMBG 86, +4 108, +9 72

To all that have been helping me and keeping watch on Sassy for the passed week.

I hope all of you have a safe and Happy New Year.

I was out running errands today and delayed on my posts but her numbers are still looking good.

Her +4 was 108 and her +9 was 72, I will test again at her PMBG in 3 hours.

If I don't hear from most of you tonight be safe, have fun and Have a good new year !!!

Melissa
 
Re: 12/31/13 - Sassy AMBG 86, +4 108, +9 72

Hmmm - well looks like you got the hang of posting AND testing! Congratulations.

I love these normal numbers she is giving you and the fact that you haven't given insulin in what at least 2 days......this is great!

Keep it up or rather down! and Let's see Sassy ring in the new year in lovely green!
 
Re: 12/31/13 - Sassy AMBG 86, +4 108, +9 72

still looking great, melissa! nothing like getting the evil dry food out of the system to keep Sassy's BGs down.

what a great start to the new year for her!
 
Her PMBG number 122, I know it is a little higher than it has been but she just ate some dinner a little while ago and I don't think she will need a shot to bring her number back down.

I plan on testing again in about two hours like I have been for the last few nights, we will see what happens then.

Thanks again for the extra eyes and moral support.

Melissa
 
Melissa:

Given that you're skipping more shots than not, perhaps it's time to try for an OTJ trial. The instructions are as follows:
  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
  • If your cat is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If she is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then her pancreas is working!
  • After 2 weeks, if everything is looking good, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck and let us know if you have questions.
 
Sienne,

That is pretty much my routine right now and has been for about two days now since the possible dog food incident.

Today when her numbers were higher it was after she ate, but as you can see the number came back down.

I will keep up this routine as suggested and we will go from there.

Thanks
Happy new Year
Melissa
 
Well, her PMBG +2 number is 91, seems to be coming down on it's own.

Goodnight all and Happy New Year !!!

May the New Year bring good things for all

Melissa
 
When you post today, you can change your subject line slightly. You'll want to indicate what the day of the OTJ trial is. Since 12/30 is the last shot, for today, you subject line would read:
1/1 Sassy AMBG ## Day 3​

That way, everyone knows Sassy is on a trial and we all know how she's progressing.
 
Additionally, keep in mind that normal BG range WITHOUT insulin is 40-130 - a 122 is within normal range (slightly on the high normal) but normal nonetheless!

And if, during the trial, you get a test that is above 130! Don't panic or think it's a failure. Rather, wait a couple hours, test again. A number like that could be caused by almost anything, wrong food, excitement, exercise, etc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top