12/30Ravan/amps162/+3 439/+6 458/+9 559/pmps 476/+5 344/+8 159/

JoyBee&Ravan

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...3-304-8-193-pmps190-3-271-5-191-9-137.208669/
6d52ca06cdb45ca4cca8a7260d3948fa.jpgcat on branch.jpg
 
@Bobbie And Bubba

Do I hold the dose or skip it? Last time he did this i skipped the dose. I'm so frustrated! He's been doing better then when I increase ,even slightly he goes into these bounces from hell?
 
I don't understand why you would want to skip the dose.

Today was the 6th cycle after the last greens. I would hold this dose for now. If he doesn't make it back into a green by the end of tonight's cycle, I would increase.
 
@Bobbie And Bubba
Last time he went into a huge bounce when I increased his dose . I skipped a dose ( 1st time ever) & his bg seemed to flatten out , he came off the high bg? I read on an old post the sometimes too much insulin can cause very high bounces. Everytime I increase to 1 unit he drops too low 30's & 40's

So it seems i unit is just too much?
 
Last edited:
@Rosie & Bailey
Look at Ravan's SS. Every time I increased to 1 unit he dropped into 30's & 40's I read on an old post that too much insulin can cause very high #'s in a huge bounce. The last time I increased the dose & he went into a huge bounce I skipped the dose & his bg came down
& was doing good fo 6 cycles till it climbed into blue . I'm thinking if I skip & he goes to blue again I should just try to keep him there for as long as possible.I'm just very afraid of these high #'s . What they are doing to his Kidneys!
 
Last edited:
I read on an old post the sometimes too much insulin can cause very high bounces.
Ugh, I hate it when that old story comes out. The reason cats bounce is because they are seeing numbers lower than they are used to, or drop very fast. Not all higher numbers are the result of a bounce. Today you are likely seeing some NDW, which tends to show up cycle 2/3 of an increase. You test frequently, Ravan has been increased in safe amounts and decreased when numbers have told you to. Therefore, it's not a case of "too much insulin".

Skipping a dose would make him even higher and get him less used to mid level greens. When you skipped on the 23rd, you were draining the depot and starting with a much lower number.
 
@Wendy&Neko
"The reason cats bounce is because they are seeing numbers lower than they are used to,or drop very fast"

12/25 His BG dropped to 45 AM & 37 PM. He did NOT bounce for the next 6 cycles He was still getting Green #'s

On 12/29 he had a small bounce & his bg was in high blue but then he went into a Very HIGH bounce. I just don't understand that.

Why didn't he bounce when his BG dropped to lime green?
 
I think I would hold this F.75 for tonight's cycle ( 12/31) making it a full 6 cycles and see where that takes him. If you need to go back to 1 unit then, you could try some higher carb food to help him not go too low. He is dancing around the two doses which can be frustrating for sure.
 
Hi Joy, I was looking for a thread today, but didn't see one. Looking on the SS and it's looking good! He came back to the lagoon today!
 
Back
Top