12/30GraciePMPS 215 +2 157 +3 93 +4 77 +5 80 +6 52 +7 62

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33182

Recap:
AMPS: 279 4th cycle sk1.25u
+2: 299
+4: 295
+10: 280
PMPS: 309 5th cycle 1.25u
+2: 299
+4: 169
+5: 155
+6: 178


Good Fursday to all our LL friends. We are sending more healing vines to Blackie and Barb....please get better!!! Welcome home, Kim, and congrats to Shadow on her OTJ trial!!!

WCR: 5Ps in place and Gracie decided to break through the numbers she's had since the double whammy of no shot and a dose reduction. Looks like she is ready to start moving ahead again!!! It is blowing rain here today..cold and windy...and my little native Canadian girl was insistent about going out on the enclosed patio and sitting on the highest perch of her condo and letting the wind blow through her luxurious fur :lol: :lol: BTW, thanks to Ella for talking on Rusty's condo about how difficult it is to draw up a consistent dose when you are in between the lines....that gave me a sigh of relief to know that it happens even to the most experienced among us. Seems like I spend a lot of time just trying to be sure my dose is consistent but I've noticed that with the three types of syringes I've used, there always seems to be a hair of variation in the lines from syringe to syringe. I know there is a link to this occurring in one of our stickys OR in Janet's FAQs...don't remember which.

Hope you all have a wonderful day...stay warm in the NE and PNW or anywhere else it's cold. Time for a quick condo visit. OMG..it's snowing!!

eta: Is it normal for the kitty to develop some thicker spots on the ears where we poke? And also, we always hold a cloth to her ears after we poke to stop the blood and keep from bruising but I noticed in the light yesterday on the inside of her ears that it looks like both ears where we poke are pink along the inside edge. Is this normal or are we doing something wrong? None of the spots seem tender to Gracie as she lets us rub and scratch her ears and she is very, very good with her pokeys. If we are having to test alot,we always put neosporin on her ears when she starts to come back up.
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +2.5 48 Ears ??

Go Gracie - look at that +2! SWEET!

so agreed on the dose draw. I hate those F on a.25 dose. and it depends n what angle you hold the syringe too - sheshhhhh..... :roll: so so agreed on what Ella wrote. It is the same for me....

I can see Gracie with the wind blowing her whiskers. Mannie loves to do that too. :-D

Gracie - we are off to Tess's! Hanging out in the greenhouse were it is warm! Partyi planning to do for the NYEve party at Rusty's. See you there? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +2.5 48 Ears ??

Gracie is looking good this morning :smile:

Measuring those mini doses is difficult on the eyes too!! I find measuring the drops and fat drop the most difficult to do consistently because you hardly see the insulin above the 0U line.. But normally when you get there… it’s good news!! :smile:
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +2.5 48 Ears ??

I think what you describe with Gracie's ears is normal. Red and inflamed would not be normal, but slightly tougher, I think that happens. Are you trying to move the sticks from place to place? It helps to use different spots on the ear. That was tough with Kitty, who refused to let me touch his left ear for a poke -- right ear ONLY! I just tried different spots up and down the edge.

I totally hear you on the difficulty of getting doses consistent!! In our house, it took a magnifying glass and two humans -- one to measure, one to critique ("your hand isn't straight," "you took out TOO MUCH!" :lol: ). VERY difficult, when the dang syringes don't have straight lines, or vary in how far the zero line is from the bottom of the barrel!! But I can tell you that even bumbling efforts such as ours can lead to success. :mrgreen: We just did our best to be consistent -- find a spot on the syringe and match it, one shot to the next.
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +2.5 48 Ears ??

Thanks, Kathy. Her ears aren't red and infamed and she doesn't act like they are sore. They are just a tad pinker on the inside then the rest of her ear. Yes, we rotate ears and rotate location on the ear up and down on the edge so we don't poke the same spot twice. The only place where it's getting tougher is up near the top outer edge on the right ear so we're going to give that a rest. Hopefully, it will unthicken :lol:
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +2.5 48 +3 58

Oh my, look at Gracie go. :-D
Marjorie, I hear ya on the dosing. On the old board, someone (forget who) said to get out all the air, and then turn the syringe horizontal to check the lines. Holding it over something white, also makes it easier to see.
I use the big lighted magnifier and still have trouble with the .25, etc.
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +2.5 48 +3 58

Right back in form! Mice management of the drop.

I think it is the same as the thickening were we inject. Vet told me that was normal yesterday. I think you notice more on the inside because the light tends to show through the ears more too.

Gracie! The green house is warm and there will be lots of catmint tea (and peppermint nipitinis, too! shhhhhh!) come on over, lots to plan! -- Tess
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +3 58 +4 58 +5 51 +5.

Hey Barb: thanks...yes, we've always held over a white paper towel and that does help; also do as you suggested on dialing in the dose and I use a 3x magnifyer with 8 LED lights but still those tiny doses...man, they are hard to do. I'm thinking for her next reduction, I might just take her to 1u instead of a f1u :lol: :lol:

Ann: thanks for letting me know...I hope by leaving that one spot out for a while, it will get untough :smile:

Celi and Ele: yes, it's nice to have those numbers back!! She just doesn't want to surf above 60, little stinka!!
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +3 58 +4 58 +5 51 +6

ok baby girl...now get up there and surf; no food with this +6 and we'll see if she can surf this a while.
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +4 58 +5 51 +6 65 +8

Great day today, Marjorie & Gracie :thumbup
Happy to hear & see her doing well this AM cycle ;-)
I hope the goodness continues for all of you too.
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +4 58 +5 51 +6 65 +8

Beautiful cycle for Ms. Gracie today.

It was snowing in Tucson? Really? I just looked at the temp there. It's about the same as here. You must be freezing. On the other hand, I was walking around with my jacket open.
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +4 58 +5 51 +6 65 +8

Hi gracie! wow, wow, wow on ur day!!
I gots scarrin' all long ma right ear...but donts hurt none...

see u at da party tamorrow...deys sez I gonna get MC!!! i sez...only if da nummers low...or no matter??
i gon share MC wit all ma frens...dey bedder have lots!
binks
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +4 58 +5 51 +6 65 +8

Karrie, Nicole, and Sienne: Yay!!! She surfed on her own starting at +6 and was still surfing through +8 and probably after. So she's been in the healing range since at least +4 last night's cycle.

Sienne: YES!! It is cold here. So funny that our temps are the same and I'm freezing and youI have your jacket open!! I had to go out and cover all my plants this afternoon because it's supposed to be in the 20s tonight. Here is the evidence of snow in Tucson; the first picture is looking out our back windows and the second out into our front yard:
 

Attachments

  • kitties 2 114.jpg
    kitties 2 114.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 820
  • kitties 2 119.jpg
    kitties 2 119.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 809
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +4 58 +5 51 +6 65 +8

Wow on the snow in Tuscon!! And an even bigger WOW on Gracie's wonderful green surf. Maybe you should have snow more often??

I'm going back to measuring school. Today I thought I was measuring "fats", but I think they were really "regulars". And I have "second sight" (I can see very well up really close without my glasses because I am nearsighted).

Ella
Sous Chef Gracie: I'm ready to help you and Sous Chef Tess in the barn kitchen tomorrow night. I'll have all my pots and pans. See you then.
Journeyman Rusty
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +4 58 +5 51 +6 65 +8

I saw the one photo in MJ's condo -- I didn't realize it was your yard. The snow is impressive and your grounds are beautiful. I can imagine that seeing snow of tropical plants and cactus is a bit disconcerting.
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie AMPS 186 +1 141 +2 59 +4 58 +5 51 +6 65 +8

Hey Ella and Sienne....yes, snow. It's a rarity but it happens. They didn't think it would get down very low today but we are in the foothills of the mountains so we got quite a bit.

Sienne: thank you...yes, we love our property (a little over an acre)...it's all native desert except where our house and backyard are...very lush for the desert :lol: We have lots of mesquite and palo verde trees.

Ella: I know...this drives me crazy..is it the same dose as I drew up last time? Oh I wish we were on a "line" :lol: :lol:

I have a very general question for those wise ones in our group:
Obviously Gracie is not regulated and she, like others, has cycles where she goes low and we have to steer her with MC/HC food. But we see the regulated cats and they get their normal dose (1u or 1.25u, etc...not just drops) at a green PS and then they just seem to stay there....why doesn't their insulin drop them down into the 50s or why don't they have to be steered? What is working differently in the nonregulated cats that they drop so low and need steering and yet they aren't quite ready for a reduction yet? Does this change when their livers settle down and allow the kitty to stay in blue/green??
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie PMPS 215

wow - i seem to have missed all the action today - all in your condo. Snow in Tuscon? WOW!!! And that is the view from your yard?????? When can I move in? :lol: :lol: what gorgeous property you have.

Really great stuff from Gracie today - awesome greens, and a decent pmps!

I also seemed to have missed the comment on the thickening of the ears where you poke. Mannie has always does this - it will go down over time, if you move to a different spot. His healed up, and now we are working on starting up another one that is thickening too.... time to move to another spot....

and so agreed on the dose and the measuring... drives me crazy!
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie PMPS 215

What a beautiful Day For Gracie!!!! That is so wonderful!--Snow in Tuscon??? I cant believe it & what a beautiful yard you have!!
Gee the snow here is up to my thighs!! Hasnt melted much!

Gracie is starting the new year with a fabulous cycle!!!Whatta Gal!! Whatta Bean!!
I was in someone's condo discussing how hard the fat & skinny doses are today I think!
I saw at a fair, these reading glasses & they had a light on either side of the frames-- :lol: :lol: I thought how good they could do measuring the dose, but I thought, I would look insane wearing them!! @-) @-) :oops: :oops: @-) @-)
Now I wonder if I should have gotten them :lol: :lol: :lol:
Have a great rest of the night--What a spectacular job you are doing!!

Gracie We is gonna have so much funs at the party! You is cooking too? Kool--Cant wait to let loose a little! --See ya tomorrow-Big Hugs Moonie :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie PMPS 215

Tess gets some bumps as well, I mix a drop of vitamin E-Oil in w/ the Neosporin and the go away very quickly. I wear a magnifying visor w/ an extra jewelers loup. I look insane , yes, but i can see the dose. It's still hard to be consistent though.

I agree, what a view! I can't decide if I want to move in w/ you or Ella!
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie PMPS 215 Question pls

The cats that stay in the greens, or have flat curves, have successfully completed Liver Training School. Gabby, and several others, are taking remedial classes.
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie PMPS 215

Your view is to die for!!!! Spectacular. I don't think I've seen cactus (I think thats what they are) with a covering of snow before :o

I was thinking the same thing the other day too Marjorie. Now I know why :cool:
 
Re: 12/30 Gracie PMPS 215 +2 157 +3 93

Hey girls: thanks on the comments on the property and view; we looked a long time for this piece of property...we have panoramic views of the Santa Catalina Mountains; we sit on a ridge about 1/4 mile away from the mountains as the crow flies....it's really spectacular and I love the way the light changes on the mountains for the seasons and even time of day. I never get tired of looking at it.

Tena: absolutely we could have a FD retreat here!!! I've even got the cabanabean :lol: :lol: :lol:

Ann, Michelle: glad to know about the ears....she hasn't gotten it before because I do always move it around but I must have been poking that spot more than I realized. We've been putting neosporin on it...need to get some vit E...great suggestion, Ann.

Roni: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: on the glasses!!! That is just too funny...hey, I'd do it anyway...who's gonna see ya 'cept DH??

So looks like Miss Gracie wants to be green again tonight. I think as she gets reductions, we're just going to keep shaving by a tiny drop and see if that doesn't help her hold them....yes, that might take a long time to get her down but what we were doing before wasn't working.

I'm headed for bed and Mike is running the night shift again. This way we both can get some sleepus. Although I envy him a little more because no matter what time he gets to bed, he can sleep until he wakes up on his own...I have to be up at the alarm to give Gracie juice. Sleep tight LL friends.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top